Overview / News
Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) Guide for Fine Arts. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning. If you are taking a fine arts course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.
How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.
For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.
Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!
In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.
News and Views
Architecture News, ArchDaily
Architecture, Guardian (UK)
Art: Reviews, advice and recommendations, Telegraph (UK)
Art News, Huffington Post
In addition to the suggestions below, more reference resources for fine arts and related fields can be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.
Dictionary of Art Historians, Duke University, public access
CLARA: Database of Women Artists, National Museum of Women in the Arts, public access
Harvard biographical dictionary of music, licensed resource
[Violin] Maker Archive, Amati, public access
Musicians Necrology, Gaylord Music Library, Washington University in St. Louis, public access
Bibliographies, Finding Aids, Research Guides ...
Research Guides and Bibliographies, Getty Research Institute, public access
Bibliography on the History of Art and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art , Getty Research Institute, public access
Bibliography of the History of Art, Galileo, University System of Georgia, public access
New York Art Resources Consortium, public access
Bach Bibliography, Queen's University, Belfast, public access
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, public access
Dictionaries, Thesauri ...
Oxford dictionary of art, 5 simultaneous users, licensed resource
Concise Oxford dictionary of art and artists, 5 simultaneous users, licensed resource
Glossary of Art Terms, MOMA, public access
Art Terms, Tate, public access
Art & Architecture Thesaurus® Online, Getty Research Institute, public access
Dictionary of architecture, 5 simultaneous users, licensed resource
Dictionary of the Art of Printing, 1841, public access
Concise Oxford dictionary of music, 5 simultaneous users, licensed resource
Pronouncing Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Iowa Public Radio, public access
Union List of Artist Names® Online, Getty Research Institute, public access
Architects USA, public access
Directory of African American Architects, University of Cincinnati, public access
Encyclopedias, Compendia ...
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art, licensed resource
Companion to Asian art and architecture, licensed resource
CAMEO: Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, public access
American encyclopaedia of printing, 1871, public access
Performing Arts Encyclopedia, Library of Congress, public access
Cambridge History of American Music, licensed resource
Maps and Atlases
Atlas of Early Printing, University of Iowa, public access
Graphics Atlas, Image Permanence Institute, Rochester Institute of Technology, public access
Zoning Maps, New York City, public access
Books / Book-Length Works
UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. Many of these items may be retrieved for UNB users through the Libraries' Document Delivery Service. WorldCat also catalogues selected journal articles, often available through document delivery, and internet-based resources.
Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.
For members of the UNB/STU community of users, the Library provides access to individual electronic books, through UNB WorldCat. As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books.
Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books, and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Some full-text titles are free to view / access, others may not be. Examples of such sites of interest include:
Hathi Trust Digital Library, Hathi Trust
Met Publications, Metropolitan Museum of Art
Article / Research Databases
For those interested in the fine arts and related fields, several of the available licensed bibliographic databases are listed in Key and Additional Resources below. These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.
For all of the Libraries' licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.
- Art Index Art Index "references articles from international art publications, as well as paintings that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements, listing the works under the artists' names with full bibliographic citations."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- ARTstor Searchable database of over 1.2 million digital images. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Images are drawn from a variety of sources including: museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Users can search, view, and download images.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Classical Scores Library (Music Online) "Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars."
- JSTOR Archival Collection JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- JSTOR Current Collection In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Other textual databases, bibliographic databases and citation indexers for the fine arts and related fields include:
Performing Arts Databases, Library of Congress, public access
JSTOR, freely searchable and offers some free access to selected material. Search and then choose "Content I can access"
The Print Council Index to Oeuvre-Catalogues of Prints by European and American Artists, online edition, public access
VIA: Visual Information Access, union catalog of visual resources at Harvard, public access
Getty Provenance Index, Getty Research Institute, public access
Some periodicals may be publicly accessible via the internet, including:
Journal of Art Historiography, public access
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide, public access
Tate Papers, public access
Internet / Multimedia
Public access resources on the internet relating to the fine arts include:
VADS: Visual Arts Data Service, University for the Creative Arts, UK
Google Art Project, Google Cultural Institute
Europeana, European Union
Rossetti Archive, complete writings and pictures
Art and Architecture
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian
Art in the Christian Tradition, Vanderbilt
Images of Medieval Art and Architecture, University of Pittsburgh
Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame, University of Pittsburgh
Robert C. Williams Museum of Papermaking, Georgia Tech
Center for the Book, Library of Congress
Oklahoma Center for the Book, Oklahoma Department of Libraries
Pennsylvannia Center for the Book, PennState
Codices Electronici Sangallenses, Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen
Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, Morgan Library & Museum
82nd & Fifth, Metropolitan Museum of Art
A History of the World in 100 Objects, BBC and the British Museum
Citing Your Sources
Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.
To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.
Chicago Manual of Style, HWK-REF Z253 .U7 2010
MLA handbook, HWK-REF LB2369 .G52 2016
MLA Formatting and Style Guide, Purdue, public access
APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2012 edition, licensed resource
APA Style, American Psychological Association, public access
Citation Management Software
Zotero, public access
I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email using the convenient link, above.
Fine Art - NPR
- Exhibit Highlights The Work Of The Late Avant-Garde Artist Florine Stettheimer
- 'From The Mundane To The Magnificent': Photos From The Chicano Rights Movement
- Work Of 20th-Century Artist Martin Ramirez Kicks Off Opening Of ICA