Horror Across Media and Cultures (Winter 2016) Guide

Find Books

To search for books (and articles) with horror as a subject, try searching: "su:horror" in UNB WorldCat below.

To narrow your focus, try general keyword searching using relevan terms.  For example:
gothic horror
american gothic
gothic spiritualism
horror asia
horror korea
horror gaming

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Downloading e-books for offline reading with Adobe Editions (applies to EBSCO and ebrary content):
https://youtu.be/s-aE4x344aw

  

Find Articles

 

Key Resources

  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

    By accessing Google Scholar as a UNB Libraries user, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.

    To still view UNB Libraries' holding on-campus or off-campus through Google Scholar, use the following steps:

    - Follow link above or go to https://scholar.google.com/ to ensure bypassing the proxy login.
    - Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    - Click Settings.
    - Click Library Links.
    - Search for University of New Brunswick, check the box next to the result, and save your settings.

    You can now continue to search and should see the Check for Fulltext @ UNB links next to articles and books we have access to.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
    "CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest)
    "The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

    The database also has an identifiable subset of more than 100,000 records that constitute the JSTOR subfile. This consists of citation records for documents in JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection as well as relevant articles from their Asian Studies collection. The documents date back as far as 1881 and contain direct links to the full-text articles on the JSTOR website, available to subscribers of JSTOR.

    Your subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals database. Full text links to Project Muse journal and ProQuest Digital Dissertations are also included in this database.

    The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    "SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Since its inception in 1965, SAGE Publications has been a leader in publishing high-caliber titles for academic researchers in the social sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Project Muse
    "Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others." UNB subscribes to almost 400 eJournals, and provides access to select Open Access eBooks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
    Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Brief guide to Google Scholar:
Using Google Scholar as a UNB student off campus in order to link results to the fulltext of UNB-subscribed journal articles:
https://youtu.be/SsZ703UYCB0

Annotated bibliographies

Annotated Bibliographies

How-to in APA format:
http://www.unb.ca/fredericton/studentservices/_resources/pdfs/wss/annotatedbiblio.pdf
Purdue OWL how-to with samples:
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/03/

Citations

Find Films

Films in UNB WorldCat
  • Go to www.lib.unb.ca (or this guide's "Find Books" tab).
  • Search UNB WorldCat for films by title, author (i.e., director), or subject/keyword(s).
  • Limit "Format" in the left hand column of search results to available "Video" options (eVideo, DVD, VHS, etc.).

View a visual representation of how to search UNB WorldCat for films.

Streaming film databases

Films on Demand: Includes 5,500+ educational titles and over 60,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.

Kanopy: Provides access to over 7,000 films covering a broad range of subjects courtesy of distributors such as the Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, BBCActive, and many others.

Theatre in Video: Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.

NFB Campus: Provides streaming video access to considerable current and archival content from the National Film Board of Canada.

More Information