Biology Guide

Home

ABOUT THIS GUIDE

This guide provides links to resources for biology students and is designed to make navigation quick and efficient.  Quality navigation is critical! It does save your time and efforts. If you need help finding information or would like to suggest resources that need to be included in this guide, please contact  t.zaraiskaya@unb.ca

 

biology

 

Off-campus Access: Proxy and VPN

Access to electronic resources when off-campus is provided by either:

for more information visit this page

Articles

Journal Abbreviations

Sometimes when working with journal articles and citations you will need to know either the full title for an abbreviation or having the full title, you will need to provide a recognized authoritative abbreviation.

 

When searching for journal articles, a database is usually the best place to begin. Databases collect articles from a large number of journals in one place. Below are some recommended databases for research in Biology. For more options, check the Library's complete list of databases.

Key Resources

  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • BIOSIS Citation Index (Including Biological Abstracts)
    BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
    The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources. The coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).

    Content Types: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
    AGRICOLA "provides U.S. and international coverage of information sources in agriculture, life sciences and related fields. Based on the U.S. National Agriculture Library collection."
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
    Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
    "The American Society for Microbiology is the world's largest scientific society of individuals interested in the microbiological sciences. The Society’s mission is to advance microbiological sciences through the pursuit of scientific knowledge and dissemination of the results of fundamental and applied research."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • BioMed Central (Open Access Journals)
    BioMed Central is "an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."
    While all original research articles in these journals are Open Access, some journals contain reviews and other premium content articles which are not accessible without a separate subscription.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
    Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Medline (1950 to Present)
    "MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
    50 simultaneous OLRN users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SpringerLink
    SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
    [NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Taylor and Francis Online - eJournals
    "Taylor & Francis Group collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. Our journals program encompasses over 1,600 titles and as one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
    Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CAB Direct
    Combines CAB abstracts and CAB abstracts archive into a single database indexing literature in the fields of plant science; animal science; pathogen, pest, parasite, and weed management; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products, and agroforestry; soil science; rural development, tourism, and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. The database is grouped into the following categories: animal sciences, plant sciences, ecology & environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, human sciences, and leisure, recreation, and tourism.
    4 simultaneous users.

 

Books and Reports

Searching for books at UNB Library ...

To search for books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat identifies books held by UNB Libraries and beyond. UNB WorldCat has also added millions of articles that are searched along with entries for books. 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat or select from our list of other library catalogues. Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Searching for government documents ... 

For those government documents which are available online, try using Google Custom Search (follow the link below).

googlecustsearch

Looking for more? Try the Government Resources by Jurisdiction link (once you are on the webpage, scroll down to see links to all resources), or contact the Government Documents staff for assistance. 

 

Searching for reports, departmental publications, etc. ...

Try the NEW Federal Science Library (FSL) information hub. The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets, and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.

 

Theses and Dissertations

What is a thesis?

Thesis or dissertation is an original document submitted in support of candidature for an academic degree or professional qualification presenting the author's research and findings. (International Standard ISO 7144: Documentation-Presentation of theses and similar documents

In Canada and US thesis is a project that marks the end of a Master's (MSc) program, while the dissertation is produced at the end of a doctoral (Ph.D.) program. In some universities, however, dissertation and thesis are seen as the same thing. 

 

Finding a thesis and dissertation 

Canada

UNB

ProQuest UNB theses and UNB Scholar Research Repository  or UNB Theses & Dissertations Database  

Other Universities

Library and Archives Canada (Canada Theses Portal) 

 

UK

EThOS e-theses online 

this database claims to include all UK theses starting from the 1600's

 

France

Sudoc catalogue (Système Universitaire de Documentation)

 

Russia

Digital dissertation library (Электронная библиотека диссертаций

 

International 

use the following sites to browse theses and dissertations from around the world: 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global 

PhDData (holds doctoral dissertations in progress around the world)

CRL (Center for Research Libraries)

Facts & Other Resources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. Listed below are selected print and electronic reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, etc.) for the field of Biology. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) and our Encyclopedias etc. database. 

 

Key Resources

  • Dictionary of ecology, A
    "From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, Oxford's thoroughly up-to-date dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a vast range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of plant sciences, A
    "This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of botany available. Drawing on the information contained in the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History, the text has been fully revised to give wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of zoology, A
    "This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals for students and amateur naturalists. There is wide coverage of all relevant topics including animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, Earth history, and zoogeography."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Ecology Basics
    see also [multiple locations SCI-REF QH540.4 .E39 2004 vols. 1-2]

    Another title in the Magill's Choice series. The 132 essays previously appeared in Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life (2002), Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life (2003), and Earth Science (2001). Ecology Basics will be especially useful for smaller libraries that don't own the three sets from which it is derived. RBB. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of the Biosphere [SCI-REF QH343.4 .B5613 2000 vols. 1-11]

    The Encyclopedia of the Biosphere features comprehensive coverage of the earth's greatest ecosystems, their characteristics and their operations. The Encyclopedia explains how these ecosystems have been transformed by human activity, while presenting the main species inhabiting each region. The text in each volume is clearly organized into four distinct sections covering the ecosystem's environmental factors, plants and animal ecology, human influences and biosphere reserves. Eleven fully-illustrated, 4-color volumes present in a contemporary, dynamic manner, the earth's principal ecosystems and the better known species of flora and fauna. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Encyclopedia of Genetics [SCI-REF QH427 .E54 2001]

    The Encyclopedia of Genetics includes 140 entries, beginning with the origins of genetics, and including historical background on the work of Gregor Mendel and Charles Darwin, the structure of DNA, and modern theories such as selfish genes. All branches of genetics are covered, including the genetics of bacteria, viruses, insects, animals and plants, as well as human. Important topical issues such as cloning of livestock, bioethics, the law and genetics, genetic disorders and the use of transgenic animals for food and pharmaceutical products are fully surveyed. A section on techniques and biotechnology includes modern methods of analysis, from DNA fingerprinting to the new science of bioinformatics. The articles, all written by specialists, are largely non-mathematical and progress from general concepts to deeper understanding. The text is supplemented by extensive illustrations, tables, and a color plate section. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia [multiple locations QL7 .G7813 2004 vols. 1-17]

    A celebrity. The first edition--13 volumes published 1972-75, and cited in Books for College Libraries 3rd ed., Guide to Reference Books, Public Library Catalog, Walford's--is surely the most widely available reference on the animal kingdom (humans are granted ten pages). Now in 17 volumes, the entire text has been rewritten by English-speaking scientists, avoiding the occasional infelicities found in the first edition. Gale, using the abundant Thomson resources, cooperated with the American Zoo and Aquarium Association in the revision and enlargement. Each of the following is available separately: v.1. Lower metazoans #38; lesser deuterosomes; v.2. Protostomes; 3. Insects; 4-5. Fishes; 6. Amphibians; 7. Reptiles; 8--11. Birds; 12--16. Mammals. T.McKimmie of New Mexico State U. reviewed the birds volume for CHOICE (7/03); see that review for more detail and its conclusion: "Essential. Academic and public libraries." The first edition did, in fact, find a receptive audience ranging from elementary school through research libraries. The new Grzimek (pronounced CHIM-eck) contains some: 3,000 color photos, 3,500 maps, and 5,500 color illustrations. Encompasses evolution #38; systematics; reproduction, development and life history; ecology; symbiosis; behavior; importance to humans; and conservation. Individual articles run from 1,250 to 7,500 words. A top reference for 2004, and probably for the decade. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Human Biology [SCI-REF QP11 .E53 1997 vols.1-9]

    The Encyclopedia of Human Biology, Second Edition provides complete coverage of the vast subject area of human biology--no other reference work available offers such a detailed and comprehensive treatment of the subject. Including more than 670 articles in 37 different biological fields, this fully revised edition features one of the most renowned editorial Advisory Boards ever assembled. The Second Edition offers more than 75% new, updated, and revised content including approximately 150 new articles. In keeping with the first editions high standards, all articles have been subjected to rigorous peer review to ensure consistent presentation of the highest quality. Unlike other encyclopedias which use numerous fragmented entries to treat a subject, the Encyclopedia examines each subject in individual, cohesive articles.

  • Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
    Covering genetics, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics, the focus is on the human and mouse genomes. Other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are treated. Topics include Genetic Variation and Evolution, Epigenetics, The Human Genome, Expression Profiling, Proteome Families, Structural Proteomics, Gene Finding/Gene Structure, and Protein function and annotation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Nature Encyclopedia of the Human Genome [SCI-REF QH447 .N37 2003 vols. 1-5]

    Written by 1400 experts, this unique encyclopedia has over 1000 peer-reviewed articles covering a wide range of topics, e.g., structural and functional genomics, evolution and comparative genomics, genome mapping and sequencing, disease, ethical and social issues, behavioral and psychiatric genetics, mathematical and population genetics, proteomics, and bioinformatics.

  • Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms [SCI-REF QK10 .H53 2000]

    This beautifully illustrated glossary constitutes an extraordinary collection of the specialist terms used in many botanical works. The book is arranged in two sections: the glossary, which provides clear definitions for over 2400 of the most commonly used botanical and horticultural terms, and illustrations, which can be cross-referenced to the glossary. The illustrations section comprises over 120 large format pages packed with accurate, well labelled line drawings that complement the definitions. The illustrations are grouped according to specific features, allowing quick comparisons of different forms. This outstanding reference will be welcomed by all readers grappling with botanical terms, whether student, professional, or hobbyist. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Birds of North America Online
    Birds of North America Online is fully searchable by topic and key word, and includes information on the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada, conservation and management issues, details of nature, timing, and routes of migration, and a comprehensive bibliography for each species. In addition, BNA Online provides access to images and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, as well as recordings of bird songs and calls.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Handbook of Plant and Crop Stress

    Detailing interrelated topics, this work addresses issues and concerns related to plant and crop stress. This edition includes information on pH stress, temperature stress, water-deficit conditions, carotenoids and stress, light stress, pollution stress and agrichemical stress.

  • Magill’s Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life

    Magill’s Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life is de- signed to meet the needs of college and high school students as well as nonspecialists seeking general information about botany and related sciences.

 

Citing Sources

Guides to Citing References

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist and vary in what information should be included and how it should be formatted. The standard citation style for Biology is CSE (Council of Science Editors), but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment. CSE style has three different systems an author or journal may select for use. The Writing Centre has prepared two guides with examples: citation-sequence & name-year. The citation-sequence system is the one used in BIOL1006.

Zotero and  Mendeley are popular citation management programs that can help you manage your references and can produce bibliographies in hundreds of styles. 

Working on Assignments and Preparing Presentations

Guides to Scientific Writing and Presentations

It is sometimes difficult to know how to approach writing a scientific paper or how to go about preparing a presentation. The list of print and electronic resources accessible from Internet Resources for Scientific Writing may help you to get started.

Another helpful source which covers scientific communication more generally and oral presentations more specifically is provided via Nature Education's site, Scitable.

Concept map (or mind map) is a diagram that depicts suggested relationships between concepts. Concept (or mind ) mapping is a technique for visualizing these relationships. A number of programs is designed and freely available to help you build a concept map. Here are some examples:  

Cmap - free concept mapping software

MindMup - free online mind mapping tool

 

Presenting Research Project 

If you want to learn how to create a stunning poster take a look at this course Creating a Stunning Scientific Poster -- Best Practices. The course provides an introduction to basic principles of graphics design, and help you understand how these principles can guide the effective design of a scientific conference poster.  

If you are preparing an oral presentation and want to see some tips take look at this tool speaking.io 

More Information



Subject Specialties:
Biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, health sciences, mathematics, nursing, physics, psychology


  • Barry Cull (Profile)
  • Information Services Librarian
  • UNB Fredericton
  • bcull@unb.ca
  • 506-458-7057

For immediate research help, contact the Research Help Desk - see Ask Us at the top of this page.

Subject Specialties:
Science & Forestry, Library & Information Studies, Journalism, Philosophy, Sociology, Social Work