Ask Us Sport Management Guide

Additional Resources

• International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports [HIL-REF GV709 .I58 2000 vols. 1-3]

  This three-volume set acknowledges the importance of women in sports at the global level, both from a historical perspective and in light of rapid developments in the field at the close of the 20th century. About 400 topics are categorized into sports and athletic activities, women's sport in society and the culture of women's sport, health issues, organizations, events, national programs, and people. Approximately 150 articles discuss the history of particular sports, the history and current status of women's participation in each, and the basic rules of play. The 65 culture of sports articles cover issues such as aggression, media, commercialization, lesbianism and homophobia, values and ethics, and religion, as well as non- competitive aspects of sports including gender verification, drugs and drug testing, motivation, family involvement, marketing, sexual harassment, and sponsorship. Also included are biographies of 130-plus women who have been influential in the development of women's sport, as well as information on 12 active organizations and 18 international multi-sport competitions. The volumes contain many b w photographs. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America [HIL-REF GV53 .E53 2004 vols. 1-2]

  A wide variety of topics are described in this two-volume encyclopedia on the history, people, and the current practice of American pastimes. Drinking, circuses, dancing, darts, fast food, yard sales, amateur radio, photography, and Nordic skiing are some of the leisure activities featured in entries that contain cross-references and bibliographies. More theoretical topics are also included, such as privatization of leisure, racial diversity and leisure lifestyles, regulation and social control of leisure, and urbanization. The entries, which are written at a level appropriate for the advanced high school or undergraduate student, are not merely descriptive, but focus on broad issues such as the history of the activity and the social issues connected with it. Though the majority of the contributors are academics in the US, many teach elsewhere, including in Canada, the UK, New Zealand, and Japan. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Sports Analytics : A Guide for Coaches, Managers, and Other Decision Makers

  There isn't a better representative of this emerging field to show diverse organizations how to implement analytics in their decision-making strategies, especially as analytic tools grow increasingly complex. Alamar provides a clear, easily digestible survey of the practice and a detailed understanding of analyics' vast possibilities.
  

• Wiley encyclopedia of management
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Encyclopedia of leadership [HIL-REF HD57.7 .E53 2004 vols. 1-4]

  Goethals (Williams College), Georgia J. Sorenson (U. Maryland) and Jas. MacGregor Burns (also Williams) have edited a wide-ranging reference of some 400 articles (1,000 to 6,000 words each) by 330 contributors. Topics are diverse: Castro, Rockefeller (JD), Kroc, The Beatles, gangs, E. Timor, Lombardi, D-Day.... Biographies account for a third of the 1.2 million words. Topics include case studies, gender issues, and theories that relate to business, management, politics, history, psychology. The set contains 150 illustrations and 300 sidebars from public records, memoirs, newspapers. Four appendices (95 p.) provide: a general bibliography; a directory of educational programs; presidential speeches on foreign policy and war (including the younger Bush's 2002 State of the Union speech); and extracts from sacred texts. While no "see also" references appear in the entries the set contains 125 pages of index (in v.4 only). Sage has, again, been the first to hit the market with a major reference in a rapidly growing field of the social sciences. Virtually every academic and large public library will need the Encyclopedia of Leadership. No mention of plans for an electronic edition. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Wiley International Encyclopedia of Marketing
  WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Contents: v. 1. Marketing strategy / edited by Robert A. Peterson and Roger A. Kerin -- v. 2. Marketing research / edited by Wagner A. Kamakura -- v. 3. Consumer behavior / edited by Richard P. Bagozzi and Ayalla A. Ruvio -- v. 4. Advertising and integrated communication / edited by Michael A. Belch and George E. Belch -- v. 5. Product innovation and management / edited by Barry L. Bayus -- v. 6. International marketing / edited by Daniel C. Bello and David A. Griffith -- v. 7. Cumulative index.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Blackwell companion to organizations
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Blackwell handbook of principles of organizational behavior, The
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Oxford handbook of conflict management in organizations [HIL-REF HD42 .O936 2014]

  This handbook gives a comprehensive overview of conflict resolution. Leading scholars in the field examine a range of innovative alternative dispute resolution (ADR) practices, drawing on international research and scholarship and covering both case studies of major exemplars and developments in countries in different parts of the global economy.

• Blackwell handbook of global management a guide to managing complexity, The
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Blackwell handbook of cross-cultural management, The
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society [HIL-REF HF5387 .E53 2008]
  General editor Kolb (finance and applied ethics, Loyola U. Chicago) and his associates present some 900 entries in this encyclopedia bringing together the related fields of business ethics and business and society. Broadly speaking, the encyclopedia encompasses the following themes and dimensions of business: accounting; applied ethics; corporate management and the environment; corporate powers, organization and governance; corporations in the social sphere; customers and consumers; economics and business; employee issues; environmental thought, theory, regulation, and legislation; ethical thought and theory; finance; gender, age, ethnicity, diversity, and sexual orientation; information systems; international social and ethical issues; justice; legislation and regulation; management; marketing; organizations; political theory, thought, and policy; problematic practices; and rights. The essays range in length from 11,000 words for such broad topics as justice, freedom, stakeholder theory, and regulation to 500-word entries introducing important personages or explaining the function of various organizations. An appendix provides information on business ethics periodicals and is followed by a general index. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
• Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
  Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.