When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Military Studies. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. For a quick search on your topic, use the Reference Universe box here:
// //
Search for Reference Materials
Enter your search terms:Key Resources
-
The international encyclopedia of revolution and protest: 1500 to the present
[HIL-REF JC491 .I58 2009 vols. 1-8]
This definitive 8-volume reference is a comprehensive print resource covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years - throughout the modern era of mass movements.
-
Encyclopedia of conflicts since World War II
[HIL-REF D843 .E46 2007 ]
This second edition of a title published in 1999 continues to chronicle the world's dysfunction by describing and analyzing the important post-World War II conflicts. Some of the new conflicts not covered in the first edition include the genocide in Darfur, the Muslim rebellion in Thailand in 2004, the second intifada in Palestine, and the U.S. war in Iraq. Each conflict entry includes a classification of the type of conflict (ethnic and religious being the most frequent), the participants in the conflict, historical background, a timeline, an analysis of the conflict, a bibliography, and a map.
-
Warfare and armed conflicts : a statistical encyclopedia of casualty and other figures, 1494-2007
[HIL-REF D214 .C54 2008]
This volume is an attempt to account for military and noncombatant casualties in every war (and other forms of mass human violence) for which there exist statistics over the course of the last five centuries. Rather than engage in a dry recital of statistics however, the author has embedded the numbers within essays that briefly explore the historical contexts of the conflicts, how people died and at the end of which weapons, and the impacts of the various conflicts. Numerous other statistics are embedded within these essays as well, such as the number of personnel engaged in battles and campaigns, numbers of missing in action, and numbers of weapons and vehicles deployed.
-
The encyclopedia of the Cold War : a political, social, and military history
[HIL-REF D840 .E63 2008 vols. 1-5]
This set is a comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. The confrontation of Western capitalism and Soviet and Chinese Communism shaped world affairs for almost the entire second half of the 20th centurya period defined by pervasive political tension, nuclear-fueled nightmares, intense diplomacy, and the transformation of regional/national disputes into test-case ideological battlefields where the superpowers squared off. The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitudefrom a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, The Encyclopedia of the Cold War provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.
-
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition. -
Historical dictionary of terrorism
[HIL-REF HV6431 .A537 2002]
The horrific events of September 11 caught America off guard and left millions of people with unanswered questions. The ever-present threat of a terrorist attack has shaken the foundation of the nation, leaving people suddenly searching for a better understanding of terrorism. This newly revised and updated edition of the Historical Dictionary is a wealth of information regarding major terrorist groups, significant terrorist events and the weapons behind the terror. Beginning with acts of terrorism from the first century Judean Zealots and Sicarii to latter-day leftist, rightist and fundamentalist militants, this book offers insight into how and why such groups originated and how they operate. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
-
Who's Who in the Twentieth Century
"From Albert Einstein to the Marx Brothers, this authoritative reference book provides biographies of men and women from different countries and cultures who have contributed to the thought as well as the action of the twentieth century."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Additional Resources
-
Keesing's contemporary archives
[HIL-REF D410 .K4 v.32 1986]
Textual holdings: v. 1 1931/34-v. 32 1986
-
Keesing's record of world events. --
[HIL-REF D410 .K4 v.54 2008]
Textual holdings: v. 33 1987 - current.
-
Political handbook of the world
[HIL-REF JF37 .P6 2008]
The following volumes are held in HIL-STACKS: 1995/96-2000/02, 2005/06-2007
The following volumes are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk): 1975-1976, 1979-1982/83, 1986-1994/95
-
New dictionary of the history of ideas
[HIL-REF, HWK-REF CB9 .N49 2005]
The earlier work was published at a time when interdisciplinarity was a new trend; and the new work continues this emphasis, as stated in the preface, by "its focus on the most influential multidisciplinary practices, such as 'Mysticism,' 'Mathematics,' and 'Reading,' which have ancient origins, and 'Representation: Mental Representation' and 'Bioethics,' which are creations of our own times." The approximately 600 articles are signed, include references and cross-references, and are arranged chronologically. Access is facilitated by a theme-oriented Reader's Guide (in each volume) and a substantial index, which occupies about half of volume six.
-
The Europa world year book
[HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85 ]
The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK
Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.
Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
-
Nations without states : a historical dictionary of contemporary national movements
[HIL-REF D860 .M56 1996 ]
Alphabetically arranged survey of 210 little-known "nations" that are not states and are not recognized by major countries as being independent political entities. Each entry is three pages in length and includes a map of the locale, a black-and-white drawing of the flag (with text description); data on population geography and the inhabitants and a longer passage on the history of the people and especially on recent attempts at independence or self-government, followed by a bibliography.
-
Readers' guide to periodical literature
[HIL-REFAB AI3 .R4]
-
Anti-American terrorism and the Middle East : a documentary reader
[HIL-REF HV6431 .A566 2002]
After the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon, a stunned public asked: How could this happen? Why did the attackers do what they did? What did they hope to accomplish?This wasn't the first battle in a conflict that has included bombings of U.S. embassies and planes, the Iran hostage crisis, and kidnappings or shootings of American citizens. This unique volume sets out to answer these questions using the unfiltered words of the terrorists themselves.Over many decades, radical forces in the Middle East have changed and evolved, yet their basic outlook and anti-Western views have remained remarkably consistent. Barry Rubin and Judith Colp Rubin have assembled nearly one hundred key documents, charting the evolution of radical Middle East movements, their anti-Americanism, and Western policy response. The buildup to the battle between a world superpower and Middle East revolutionaries is brought dramatically to life. Among the documents included are the charters of such organizations as Hizballah, Hamas, and World Islamic Front; speeches by Syrian president Hafiz al-Asad and former Iraqi president Saddam Hussein; al-Qa'ida recruitment materials; and terrorist training manuals. The book also shows and analyzes the often conflicting and deeply conflicted responses to September 11 by journalists, clerics, and activists in the Arab world.Supplemented by an annotated chronology, a glossary of terms, and sections that put each selection in context, this comprehensive reference serves not only as essential historical background to the ongoing aftermath of the September 11 attacks, but more generally as an invaluable framework for understanding a long-term, continuing conflict that has caused many crises for the United States. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Encyclopedia of the Arab-Irsaeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History, The
[HIL-REF DS119.7 .E5653 2008 vols. 1-4]
With a focus on the military aspects of the conflict, this 4-volume resource also contains lengthy entries on central issues of religion and culture that have an impact on Israeli and Palestinian relations. The first three volumes are devoted to the A-Z entries, many of them biographies, with topics that include specific battles, treaties, and sites. Individual entries are included for the policies of key countries, such as France, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, and the Soviet Union. Each entry concludes with cross-references and a short list of references, and many include b #38;w images. Volume Four is given over to the comprehensive index and 168 primary documents (many in excerpted form), including military reports, resolutions and declarations by various delegations and congresses, protocols, and speeches. This is a thorough, even-handed work that provides clear descriptions of the history of this long-standing and complex conflict to a wide readership. Annotation #169;2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Bioterrorism : the history of a crisis in American society
[HIL-REF HV6432 .B56 2003 vols. 1-2]
This timely collection provides an invaluable, academic resource on the challenges bioterrorism poses for American society and institutions. Critically selected essays from a wide range of disciplines document and analyze the problems and implications for political, economic, and legal institutions, as well as the challenges a weapon of disease and fear can impose on public health and public policy. By placing bioterrorism into its historical context, this collection also traces the academic research and historical decisions that have contributed to the formation of American policies attempting to cope with a potentially catastrophic attack on the population in general and urban population in particular. Available as a full set or individually, the volumes include: * Vol. 1: "Epidemics, Bioweapons, and Policy History"352 pp * [0-415-94278-0]* Vol. 2: "Public Health, Government, and Minority Issues"352 pp * [0-415-94279-9] Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The A to Z of Afghan wars, revolutions and insurgencies
This volume presents an encyclopedic survey of the endless chain of wars stretching over two and a half centuries in the country of Afghanistan. The coverage consists of the American involvement in Afghanistan since October 2001 as well as individual campaigns, including tactics and logistics of skirmishes, the weapons used, and biographical entries on the significant leaders involved in the battles. Extensive analysis of regional and ideological divisions within the country and the external forces that have brought around conflict in this remote, mountainous region, in addition to a chronology of the encounters, an extensive bibliography, and numerous maps and illustrations.
-
Conflict and conquest in the Islamic world : a historical encyclopedia
[HIL-REF DS38.3 .C66 2011]
Military-political conflict, and the resulting factionalism, shifts in leadership, and divergent belief systems, has been a constant and crucial part of the Islamic world. In order to fully grasp the cultural, social, or political aspects of Islam in the modern world, it is necessary to comprehend the rich tapestry of Islamic history from pre-Islamic times to the present, much of which involved armed conflict. This book provides hundreds of entries on wars, revolutions, sieges, institutions, leaders, armies, weapons, and other aspects of wars and military life, enabling readers to understand the complex role conflict has played in Islamic life throughout history and see how Islamic warfare has evolved over the centuries. This reference work covers not only the traditional Middle Eastern regions and countries but also provides relevant historical information regarding Islam in North Africa, Central Asia, Southeastern Asia, and Oceania.
-
Regional guide to international conflict and management from 1945 to 2003
"Efforts against terrorism, border skirmishes, ethnic clashes, civil strife, separatist movements, and the increasing presence of peacekeeping forces throughout hot spots in the world have increased the importance of understanding international conflict. Regional Guide to International Conflict and Management from 1945 to 2003 summarizes and analyzes international conflicts as individual and as regional events, illuminating their causes, relationships, patterns, and management." "The 343 conflicts at the heart of the book are grouped by regions - Africa, the Americas, East Asia and the Pacific, Southwest Asia, Europe, and the Middle East - to highlight the patterns and consequences of conflict in those areas."--Jacket.
-
An encyclopedic dictionary of conflict and conflict resolution, 1945-1996
[HIL-REF D842 .J47 1998]
Rather than mark the end of conflict, the end of World War II began a half century of ideological, political, military and economic struggles, many with century-old antecedents. This work brings together in encyclopedic format most of the major events of the last half century that can be classified as conflict. While war is the ultimate conflict, the volume includes assassinations, coups, insurgency, terrorism, massacres, and genocide. It provides detailed information on the people, places and events that have produced conflict and its resolution since 1945. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Historical dictionary of civil wars in Africa
[HIL-REF DT21.5 .A76 2008]
"This second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa reviews the wars that have occurred in Africa in the past half century: Algeria's struggle for independence from French colonial rule, Nigeria's fight to achieve a balanced state after the British departure, the Rwandan genocide of 1994, and the current ethnic cleansing in Darfur, to name only a few. It contains a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and cross-referenced dictionary entries on wars, conflicts, major political and military figures, and topics such as child soldiers, mercenaries, and blood diamonds."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
