Ask Us Mechanical Engineering Guide

Key Resources

• AccessEngineering
  A full text collection of a few hundred McGraw-Hill engineering book titles covering 12 major areas of engineering and more than 200 topics.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
  CRCnetBASE eBooks have been incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks -- please visit the record for access and further information. Individual titles can still be found in our eBook search or UNBWorldCat, with access redirecting to the new site.
  
• Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers

  The 100th anniversary edition of the cornerstone text of mechanical engineering—fully revised to focus on the core subjects critical to the discipline.

  This 100th anniversary edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's mechanical engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get accurate data and calculations along with easy-to-understand explanations of current principles, standards, and practices and important codes. All-new sections cover micro- and nano-engineering, robotic vision, alternative energy production, biological materials, biomechanics, composite materials, engineering ethics, and much more.

• Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations

  Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily. This trusted compendium of calculation methods delivers fast, accurate solutions to the toughest day-to-day mechanical engineering problems. You will find numbered, step-by-step procedures for solving specific problems together with worked-out examples that give numerical results for the calculation.Covers: Power Generation; Plant and Facilities Engineering; Environmental Control; Design Engineering; New Edition features methods for automatic and digital control; alternative and renewable energy sources; plastics in engineering design.

• Harris’ Shock and Vibration Handbook

  The classic reference on shock and vibration, fully updated to incorporate the latest advances in the field. Written by a team of internationally recognized experts, this practical and comprehensive handbook provides all the information needed to design, analyze, install, and maintain systems subject to mechanical shock and vibrations. The book covers theory, measurement, testing, design, and control methodologies, and practical applications. The Sixth Edition of Harris’ Shock and Vibration Handbook has been extensively revised with ten chapters replaced with new material. Coverage of waveform replication and wavelets in shock and vibration testing, and the use of temporal moments to describe an effective duration for shock data is now included.

• Automatic Control Systems

  A complete toolkit for teaching, learning, and understanding the essential concepts of automatic control systems.

  Edition after acclaimed edition, Automatic Control Systems has delivered up-to-date, real-world coverage designed to introduce students to the fundamentals of control systems. More than a comprehensive text, Automatic Control Systems includes innovative virtual labs that replicate physical systems and sharpen readers' problem-solving skills.

  The Tenth Edition introduces the concept of Control Lab, which includes two classes of experiments: SIMLab (model-based simulation) and LEGOLab (physical experiments using LEGO® robots). These experiments are intended to supplement, or replace, the experimental exposure of the students in a traditional undergraduate control course and will allow these students to do their work within the MATLAB® and Simulink® environment—even at home. This cost-effective approach may allow educational institutions to equip their labs with a number of LEGO test beds and maximize student access to the equipment at a fraction of the cost of currently available control-systems experiments. Alternatively, as a supplemental learning tool, students can take the equipment home and learn at their own pace.

• Electrical Equipment Handbook: Troubleshooting and Maintenance

  Details diagnostic testing and inspection methods for all industrial equipment, Covers advanced fault detection techniques, critical components, and common failure modes, Includes predictive and preventive maintenance and reliability testing for industrial equipment.

• Machine Tools Handbook: Design and Operation

  Machine Tools Handbook: Design and Operation is a practical guide which an engineer can use while designing a new machine.

  The book introduces basic machine tools, followed by a discussion on various types of machine tool drives, their mechanisms, transmission and manipulation. It also provides an in-depth coverage of machine tool elements and operation, including working of electrical elements such as contactors, time relays, etc. Besides these Machine Tools Handbook also covers the pertinent aspects of tool engineering.

• CNC Handbook

  Practical CNC design, construction, and operation techniques are provided, leading to a thorough understanding of computer-based numerical control systems, components, and technologies. Featuring hundreds of color images and schematic diagrams, the handbook explains machining fundamentals and shows you how to build and safely operate fully automated, technically sophisticated mechatronic equipment. Learn how to work with position controllers, accomplish rapid and precise machine motions, use CAD and CAM systems, and integrate CNC into IT networks. The latest CNC programming languages, flexible manufacturing systems, and troubleshooting methods are also discussed in this hands-on guide.

• Design for Advanced Manufacturing: Technologies and Processes

  Detailed coverage of the latest advances in manufacturing and product design.

  Edited by a past president of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, this comprehensive resource features contributions from a host of international manufacturing and design experts. You will get thorough explanations of the entire range of advanced manufacturing processes and technologies as well as practical instructions and technical guidance.

• Manufacturing Engineering Handbook

  A fully revised guide to manufacturing engineering technologies, principles, and applications.

  This thoroughly updated resource offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. Written by a team of 58 international experts, this second edition shows how to optimize all aspects of the global manufacturing process and build the highest quality goods at the lowest price in the shortest possible time. All-new topics include cloud computing, the Internet of Things, 3D printing, nanomanufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research.

• Handbook of Structural Steel Connection Design and Details

  Essential steel connection design and details for building and bridge design, fully updated with the latest codes. This fully revised guide presents steel connection design and details for building and bridge design, and includes current LRFD load information and the latest AISC and ICC codes and specifications. New to this edition are details on welding design and bridge connection.Steel Connection Design and Details offers complete coverage of seismic connection design; cold metal framing connection; partially restrained connections; steel decks; inspection and quality control; and much more. Consulting engineers, architects, building inspectors, and graduate students will find this an invaluable resource.

• Elements of Fracture Mechanics

  Fracture Mechanics is an essential tool to evaluate whether a component is likely to fill or not. This book has been written in a simple and step-wise manner to help readers familiarise with the basic and advanced topics.

• Handbook of Machining and Metalworking Calculations

  Thousands of machining and metalworking formulas and calculations pack this handbook, a must for any machinist or designer. Provides the details on formulas for gears, sprockets, linkages and more. Up-to-date and current with the latest ANSI and ISO specifications

• Handbook of Energy Engineering

  With new chapters on electrical system optimization and ISO 50001, this edition covers the latest updates to codes and standards in the energy industry. It includes chapters on energy economic analysis, energy auditing, waste heat recovery, utility system optimization, HVAC, cogeneration, control systems, energy management, compressed air system optimization and financing energy projects. This reference will guide you step by step in applying the principles of energy engineering and management to the design of electrical, HVAC, utility, process and building systems for both new design and retrofit projects. The text is thoroughly illustrated with tables, graphs, diagrams and sample problems.

• Gas Turbine Handbook

  Newly revised, this new fifth edition includes a chapter on waste heat recovery and discusses this technology in detail including a the advantages and barriers to waste heat recovery, environmental restraints, thermodynamics of heat recovery, fluid properties, boiler, condensers, steam turbines, off design behavior and exhaust catalyst. This book shows how microturbine designs rely heavily on the centrifugal compressor and are, in many aspects, similar to the early flight engines and will illustrate how the approach of the microturbine designer is to minimize cost.

• Combined Heating, Cooling & Power Handbook Technologies & Applications

  Completely revised, this second edition of a bestseller explores the latest technology advancements and the many changes and developments in the utility and environmental regulation areas. It includes new information on the state of deregulation and market pricing as well as discussion of smart grid and other emerging programs. The environmental sections reflect the current emphasis on greenhouse gas emissions and carbon management, updates to CAAA regulations and timelines and the latest developments in the use and control of refrigerants.

• Additive Manufacturing Handbook Product Development for the Defense Industry

  Theoretical and practical interests in additive manufacturing (3D printing) are growing rapidly. Engineers and engineering companies now use 3D printing to make prototypes of products before going for full production. In an educational setting faculty, researchers, and students leverage 3D printing to enhance project-related products. Additive Manufacturing Handbook focuses on product design for the defense industry, which affects virtually every other industry. Thus, the handbook provides a wide range of benefits to all segments of business, industry, and government. Manufacturing has undergone a major advancement and technology shift in recent years.

• ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library
  ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
  The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
  
  UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.