When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of European History. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. For a quick search on your topic, try using the Reference Universe search box here:
Key Resources
-
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
[HIL-REF HN373 .E63 2001 vols. 1-6]
"Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed, amply illustrated, and a joy to read. Graduate students will find it useful as an introduction to historiography while advanced high school students will enjoy the articles on historical topics."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
-
The Columbia dictionary of European political history since 1914
[HIL-REF D424 .C65 1992]
Originally published: Dictionary of British and European history since 1914. U.K. : Macmillan.
-
A dictionary of European history and politics, 1945-1995
[HIL-REF D1051 .U78 1996]
The Dictionary of European History and Politics since 1945 covers, in a concise and easy-to-use format, the most significant features of Western and Eastern European history and politics in the tumultuous period since the end of the Second World War.
-
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access -
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
Additional Resources
-
A Companion to Europe 1900-1945
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to Europe since 1945
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
The ethnopolitical encyclopaedia of Europe
[HIL-REF GN492 .E86 2004]
This volume presents a comprehensive and up-to-date picture of ethnopolitics in Europe. It details the dynamics of the political mobilization of ethnic groups across the continent and its consequences for domestic and international politics. Written by recognized experts in the field and following a clear structure, this is an essential reference work for any student of contemporary Europe, allowing for systematic cross-national and cross-community comparisons. It also serves as a unique data source on the continent's politically mobilized ethnic groups. The Ethnopolitical Encyclopaedia of Europe is the first work of its kind that systematically and rigorously examines the politics of ethnicity throughout the continent as a whole. Rather than indulge in a tour of Europe designed to unearth as many diverse population groups as possible, the Encyclopaedia is focused and serves as a unique data source on the continent's politically mobilized ethnic groups. In order to facilitate easy access, the various regions of Europe are assessed and then the nature of the politics of ethnicity is analyzed on a country-by-country basis. The combination of incisive entries, maps, tables and easy-to-use country guides makes this an invaluable reference book for both academics and practitioners.
-
The Routledge companion to Britain in the twentieth century
[HIL-REF DA566 .C53 2009 ]
A guide to the social, economic and political history of Britain since 1900. Opening with a general introduction and overview of twentieth century Britain, it contains chronologies, facts and figures, introductions to major themes, the historiography of 20th century Britain, biographies of the important figures and a dictionary of key terms.
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated/fulltext reference tool providing 55,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.
-
Encyclopedia of contemporary british culture
Boasting more than 970 alphabetically arranged entries, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary British Culture surveys British cultural practices and icons in the latter half of the twentieth century.
-
Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture
An international team of scholars contribute over 700 entries on contemporary French culture that range from Art, Gender, Politics and Literature to Media and the Economy. It is a vital companion for anyone interested in the culture of modern France.
-
Encyclopedia of modern French thought
[HIL-REF DC33.7 .E55 2004 ]
This work covers not only philosophy, but also all the other major disciplines, including literary theory, sociology, linguistics, political thought, theology, and more. The 240 analytical entries examine individuals such as Bergson, Durkheim, Mauss, Sartre, Beauvoir, Foucault, Levi-Strauss, Lacan, Kristeva, and Derrida; specific disciplines such as the arts, anthropology, historiography, psychology, and sociology; key beliefs and methodologies such as Catholicism, deconstruction, feminism, Marxism, and phenomenology; themes and concepts such as freedom, language, media, and sexuality; and istorical, political, social, and intellectual context. --From publisher's decription.
-
Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990
[HIL-REF DD14 .M64 1998 ]
A handy English-language information resource whether you are interested in the first unification of the Germanic states in 1871, the present-day reunified Germany, the Weimar Republic, or the third Reich, here is the first English-language quick-reference guide on this major European power. The Encyclopedia covers every major aspect of German culture and society for the past century. Its broad spectrum of information is presented in entries that range from essays to brief paragraphs and encompass subjects from Konrad Adenauer to Helene Weber, from zoological gardens to aeronautics, from poetry to policing, and much more. The majority of the articles not only provide a historical background, but also bring their subjects into the post-Berlin Wall era, surveying such components of the German political system as federalism, the office of the Chancellor, and political parties. The Encyclopedia also features articles on the demise of the GermanDemocratic Republic and the subsequent reunification of the two postwar German states. It analyzes the political relationship between Germany and the other European powers, Germany's membership in the European community, its relations with the United States and many other contemporary political concerns. Clearly, the Encyclopedia is an excellent source of information for students and a refresher and bibliography resource for specialists.
-
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe : from the Congress of Vienna to the fall of communism
[HIL-REF DJK6 .E53 2000 ]
"This encyclopedia explores the history of this complex region over the last two centuries." "Articles are included on countries and regions of Eastern Europe: Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and the countries that once made up Yugoslavia. European Russia is also included. These articles are both detailed and concise, offering the reader a brief but comprehensive introduction into a country's history during the last two centuries - a crucial time when Europe was swept by wars and convulsive political change that shaped the present." "The book covers not only the leading figures who shaped the region's political destiny, but also the major artists, writers, and other culturally significant individuals of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Some of these figures are known in the West, while others will be new to many readers." "An extensive map program enriches the text and helps the reader place a topic in geographic context. A bibliography at the end of each entry directs the reader to accessible sources for further reading or research on Eastern European history."
-
A Companion to World War I
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A historical dictionary of Germany's Weimar Republic, 1918-1933
see also [HIL-REF DD84 .V56 1997 ]The failure of Germany's first republic after World War I has aroused several decades of concentrated study. Synthesizing much of that study, this historical dictionary aims to enhance an understanding of the Weimar Republic.
-
Encyclopedia of World War II : a political, social and military history
[HIL-REF D740 .E516 2004 vols. 1-5]
Tucker (retired, military history, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington and emeritus, history, Texas Christian U.) and five assistant editors have compiled an impressive reference of over 1500 alphabetical entries, supplemented with maps and a volume of primary documents. The entries contain descriptions and analysis of battles, weapons systems, wartime conferences, battlefield and diplomatic turning points, geographical areas, and military divisions. A large percentage of the entries are biographies. Care has been taken to achieve a global focus, with entries covering aspects of all theaters of the war. Maps are one of the reference's strengths; they're plentiful and clearly marked with cities and towns, battle sites, lines of battle, etc. Each entry includes cross-referencing and a short list of references; many include b #38;w photos. Volume Five, edited by Priscilla Mary Roberts (history, U. of Hong Kong) is devoted to 238 primary documents, including speeches, the texts of broadcasts, acts, resolutions, laws, directives, and charters; it contains as well the comprehensive index for all five volumes. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The encyclopedia of the Cold War : a political, social, and military history
[HIL-REF D840 .E63 2008 vols. 1-5]
This set is a comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. The confrontation of Western capitalism and Soviet and Chinese Communism shaped world affairs for almost the entire second half of the 20th centurya period defined by pervasive political tension, nuclear-fueled nightmares, intense diplomacy, and the transformation of regional/national disputes into test-case ideological battlefields where the superpowers squared off. The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitudefrom a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, The Encyclopedia of the Cold War provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.
-
Encyclopedia of conflicts since World War II
[HIL-REF D843 .E46 2007 ]
This second edition of a title published in 1999 continues to chronicle the world's dysfunction by describing and analyzing the important post-World War II conflicts. Some of the new conflicts not covered in the first edition include the genocide in Darfur, the Muslim rebellion in Thailand in 2004, the second intifada in Palestine, and the U.S. war in Iraq. Each conflict entry includes a classification of the type of conflict (ethnic and religious being the most frequent), the participants in the conflict, historical background, a timeline, an analysis of the conflict, a bibliography, and a map.
-
Keesing's contemporary archives
[HIL-REF D410 .K4 v.32 1986]
Textual holdings: v. 1 1931/34-v. 32 1986
-
Women in world history : a biographical encyclopedia
[HIL-REF HQ1115 .W6 1999 vols. 1-17]
Projected to be 15 volumes upon completion in late 2000 (with an index to follow in mid-2001), this ambitious set will be international in scope and span from antiquity to the 20th century. (The first three volumes are reviewed here.) The scope is generally limited to women born before 1926, except for those active in the women's movement or whose place in history is assured. Initially hatched while the editors were working on Historic World Leaders (1994)--which profiled mainly men--this resource will include more than 10,000 entries varying in length from several pages to brief paragraphs. Frequent sidebars give information on women closely associated with the main entry, and numerous See references address name variations. Although indexes by time period, nationality, and subject would greatly enhance its usefulness as a reference, this set far exceeds recent single-volume international dictionaries (the Larousse Dictionary of Women, LJ 1/97, has about 3000 entries) and is unlikely to have any competitors on this scale soon. Recommended for large public and academic libraries and women's studies collections.Patricia A. Beaber, Coll. of New Jersey, Ewing Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information
-
International historical statistics
[HIL-REF HA155 .M575 2003 vols. 1-3]
This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.
