If you already know the journal title, year, volume number and page number for an article, you may be able to access it electronically by searching for the journal's title in the UNB e-journals database. If we have the journal electronically or in print, it will be listed. You can also look up the journal title in UNB WorldCat.
Keep in mind that it can be best to start with an index rather than a full-text journal search. A few key indexes in law are listed below.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature
- Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
- Quicklaw Plus
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (UNB Law faculty and students only)
- WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law faculty and students only)
The following databases are more specific to marine, environmental, and international law, and may be helpful when researching maritime law. They are available freely on the web.
- Canada Treaty Information
Subject, keyword, or date search for treaties of which Canada is a signatory.
- Canadian Environmental Assessment Registry
An electronic registry administered by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency that contains information about designated projects under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012, including information about environmental assessments that started under the former Act and continue under the transition provisions of Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012.
The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document, as well as to the full text of most of the information provided. EcoLex combines the environmental law information holdings of FAO, IUCN, and UNEP.
Electronic edition of Coastal State Requirements which consists of a series of tables summarizing the provisions of national legislation and of bilateral and multilateral agreements governing foreign fishing in waters under national jurisdiction.
- United Nations Treaty Collection: United Nations Treaty Series
A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. The UNTS includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate.
There are two main legal encyclopedias in law: the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (CED) and Halsbury's Laws of Canada (Halsbury's). Both are available in print in the Law Library in the reference section on the first floor.
Electronically, CED is available in WestlawNext Canada, while Halsbury's is available in Quicklaw and Lexis Advance Quicklaw. Please note that only UNB Law students and faculty have access to Lexis Advance Quicklaw and WestlawNext Canada.
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
In print and electronically, the CED has the following titles available:
- Shipping (vol. 49 in print)
- Carriers (vol. 8 in print)
Please make sure you check the currency of these titles in WestlawNext Canada, as some of the CED titles can be years out of date.
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
Both in print and electronically, there is a Maritime title available. The title code for the volumes is HMT.
Please check the currency of these titles. This resource provides information from each province in Canada, as well as federally.
On this page:
To search for books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat, the library's catalogue. UNB WorldCat contains records of materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Hans W. Klohn Library at UNB-Saint John.
In UNB WorldCat, items shown as LAW-RESERVE may be requested at the Law Library's circulation desk on the first floor. Items shown as LAW-STACKS are on the Law Library's second floor, arranged by call number.
If you would like to browse the shelves, the call numbers below house maritime law texts:
- KF 1091 – 1135
The following looseleaf text is in our reserve collection. Bring the book's call number to the circulation desk to check it out for three hours.
- Maritime Law Handbook / Hans-Christian Albrecht. LAW-RESERVE K1150 .M37 1987
The following books are available in the stacks. Please use UNB WorldCat to find more materials.
- Enforcement of Maritime Claims / David C Jackson. LAW-STACKS KF1114 .B6 J32 1996.
- The Law of the Sea: Training Manual for Delineation of the Outer Limits of the Continental Shelf by UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea / United Nations. Available in eBook format only.
- Marine Cargo Claims, 4th ed / William Tetley. LAW-STACKS K1168 .T48 2008
- Maritime Law of Salvage, 3rd ed / Geoffrey Brice and John Reeder. LAW-STACKS KF1114 .S2 B74 1999. Supplement: LAWSTACKS KF1114 .S2 B74 1999 suppl, 2000.
- Maritime Law / Edgar Gold, Aldo Chircop, and Hugh Kindred. LAW-STACKS KF1105 .G64 2003. Also available in eBook format.
- Maritime Liens and Claims, 2nd ed / William Tetley and Robert C Wilkins. LAW-STACKS K1188 .B6 T47 1998.
You can also access a large number of eBooks on law-related subjects through UNB WorldCat. Below are a few databases that have law texts.
- HeinOnline (has some older legal classics)
- LLMC (has some older legal classics)
- Quicklaw (has some current texts; open to all UNB and STU students and faculty, but UNB Law students and facutly must sign in with their username and password to access the full Quicklaw package)
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (has some current texts; only available to UNB Law students and faculty)
- WestlawNext Canada (has some current texts; only availble to UNB Law students and faculty)
Government departments and agencies publish a great deal of important law-related information. The Law Library's collection of printed government documents is located on the library's third floor. Use UNB WorldCat to search, or ask a library staff member for help.
The Harriet Irving Library also has government documents, which can be located through UNB WorldCat.
For government documents that are available online, try using UNB Libraries' Google Custom Search.
Find Websites & Blogs
The following websites may be helpful for your research:
Provides information about Canadian maritime law, shipping law, marine law, fisheries law, the law of marine insurance, etc. Contains a case database, commentaries, and papers on various topics of maritime and fisheries law, and links to relevant statutes and regulations.
- Baltic and International Maritime Council (BIMCO)
The world’s largest international shipping association. Site contains information on contracts and clauses, security, safety, restrictions, news, and more.
- Centre de Droit Maritime et Océanique / Maritime and Oceanic Law Centre
From the law faculty at the University of Nantes. Contains projects and publications on maritime law. Available in French and English.
A Service of the Rule of Law Committee for the Oceans (ROLCO). Contains the text of the Law of the Sea Convention, materials that address the convention, and issues related to United States' accession to the convention.
- Institute of Maritime Law
From the University of Southhampton's law school, the Institute of Maritime Law is a world-leading centre for research, consultancy, and training in maritime law. Contains projects, publictions, news, and more.
- International Association of Ports and Harbors
A global alliance representing over 180 members ports and 140 port related businesses in 90 countries. Contains a database on international maritime conventions that impact ports, case studies, news and events, and more.
- Lloyd's Standard Form of Salvage Agreement
Lloyd's Standard Form of Salvage Agreement (referred to as "LOF") provides a regime for determining the amount of remuneration to be awarded to salvors for their services in saving property at sea and minimizing or preventing damage to the environment.
- UK Chamber of Shipping
The trade association and voice of the UK shipping industry.
- United Nations: International Maritime Organization
The United Nations' specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships. Contains conventions, documents and resources, publications, and more.
- United Nations: Oceans and Law of the Sea
Includes the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea and related agreements and documents.
- Waves: DFO Canada's library catalogue
Catalogue of the DFO libraries and repository of DFO publications. Contains books, reports, government documents, theses, conference proceedings, and journal titles.
Blogs and News
There are many blogs maintained by lawyers and law firms, and you can find many of them at lawblogs.ca. The blog might be helpful for maritime law research:
- League Legal Perspective
Available from League and Williams. Select "Marine Law" to view posts about maritime law.
Cases and Legislation
Cases & Legislation
The following databases and websites provide access to federal and provincial cases and legislation.
- Quicklaw Plus
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only)
- WestlawNext Canada (law students only)
- Supreme Court of Canada Cases
- Department of Justice Current Legislation (Canada - Federal)
- New Brunswick Legislation (Attorney General)
The following are a select number of federal statutes related to maritime law in Canada.
- Arctic Waters Pollution Prevention Act, RSC 1985, c A-12
- Canada Marine Act, SC 1998, c 10
- Canada Shipping Act, 2001, SC 2001, c 26
- Fishing and Recreational Harbours Act, RSC 1985, c F-24
- Marine Liability Act, SC 2001, c 6
- Marine Transportation Security Act, SC 1994, c 40
- Navigation Protection Act, RSC 1985, c N-22
- Oceans Act, SC 1996, c 31
Cases and Decisions
Along with searching the databases mentioned above, the following digest services can help you find case law:
- Canadian Abridgment Digests
A digest service that indexes cases by subject. This is an extremely useful resource. There is a Maritime & Admiralty Law volume available in print (vol 76) and electronically in WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law students and faculty only).