When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual inform
ation. The electronic resources listed below include selected e-reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of software engineering.
To find additional e-reference materials, please check both AccessEngineering and CRCnetBASE databases which has thousands of e-reference engineering resources. or our Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
AccessEngineering
A full text collection from McGraw-Hill providing access to hundreds of engineering book titles, covering 12 major areas of engineering, and more than 200 topics.
eBook Collection title list:
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
CRCnetBASE eBooks have been incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks -- please visit the record for access and further information. Individual titles can still be found in our eBook search or UNBWorldCat, with access redirecting to the new site.
-
A Dictionary of Computing (6 ed.)
"Oxford's acclaimed Dictionary of Computing is regularly revised and updated by a team of computer specialists, making it the most authoritative dictionary on the subject available. The wide range of topics covered includes computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home, the hardware, software, and telecommunications behind these applications. The dictionary also addresses the concepts and theories of computing and associated fields."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access -
CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. -
ASTM compass : your portal for standards, testing, learning, & more
ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
Electronic Technology Handbook
Cutting edge electronics technology demystified. Anyone with a basic technical background can gain a fast understanding of electronics technology with the easy-to-read Electronics Technology Handbook. Electronic engineering newcomers will find this a one-step, non-mathematical resource for clear explanations of electronics technology essentials–from AC theory and generation to wireless communications and microprocessors. Encyclopedic coverage supported with hundreds of concept-clarifying illustrations shows you exactly how contemporary electronic devices and systems work and interact. You’ll quickly discover the principles at the heart of such widely used technologies as transistors; integrated circuits; television; ATM machines; cell phones; bar-code readers; sensors; robotics; satellites; electron microscopes; process control; radar; global positioning system; night vision systems; and much more.
-
Computer Systems: An Embedded Approach
This comprehensive textbook explores computing hardware and software principles from an embedded perspective. It uncovers, step by step, how those concepts are used in the real world to build computer systems ranging from tiny embedded devices to warehouse-sized clusters, and how these are interlinked globally through the Internet. Computer Systems: An Embedded Approach fully explains the main hardware components—including processors, memory, storage devices, and performance accelerators—before thoroughly discussing operating systems, connectivity, and networking. You will discover how computer hardware and software work together to deliver pervasive computing, the Internet of Things (IoT), and mobile computing technology as well as apps and programs ranging from the smallest to the largest.
-
Hardware Implementation of Finite-Field Arithmetic
This state-of-the-art guide shows you how to apply the basic mathematical techniques needed to synthesize and design Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), an attractive option for small production quantities with lower costs and the ability to be reconfigured so that the same programmable device can execute different predefined functions.
-
Data Communications and Networking
As one of the fastest growing technologies in our culture today, data communications and networking presents a unique challenge for instructors. As both the number and types of students are increasing, it is essential to have a textbook that provides coverage of the latest advances, while presenting the material in a way that is accessible to students with little or no background in the field. Using a bottom-up approach, Data Communications and Networking presents this highly technical subject matter without relying on complex formulas by using a strong pedagogical approach supported by more than 700 figures.
Now in its Fourth Edition, this textbook brings the beginning student right to the forefront of the latest advances in the field, while presenting the fundamentals in a clear, straightforward manner. Students will find better coverage, improved figures and better explanations on cutting-edge material. The "bottom-up" approach allows instructors to cover the material in one course, rather than having separate courses on data communications and networking.
-
Computing Handbook : Computer Science and Software Engineering
Computing Handbook, Third Edition: Computer Science and Software Engineering mirrors the modern taxonomy of computer science and software engineering as described by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS).
-
Handbook Of Software Engineering And Knowledge Engineering
The book covers the recent new advances in software engineering and knowledge engineering. It is intended as a supplement to the two-volume handbook of software engineering and knowledge engineering. The editor and authors are well-known international experts in their respective fields of expertise. Each chapter in the book is entirely self-contained and gives in-depth information on a specific topic of current interest. This book will be a useful desktop companion for both practitioners and students of software engineering and knowledge engineering.
-
The Handbook of Software for Engineers and Scientists
The Handbook of Software for Engineers and Scientists is a single-volume, ready reference for the practicing engineer and scientist in industry, government, and academia as well as the novice computer user. It provides the most up-to-date information in a variety of areas such as common platforms and operating systems, applications programs, networking, and many other problem-solving tools necessary to effectively use computers on a daily basis.
Specific platforms and environments thoroughly discussed include MS-DOS®, Microsoft® Windows™, the Macintosh® and its various systems, UNIX™, DEC VAX™, IBM® mainframes, OS/2®, Windows™ NT, and NeXTSTEP™. Word processing, desktop publishing, spreadsheets, databases, integrated packages, computer presentation systems, groupware, and a number of useful utilities are also covered. Several extensive sections in the book are devoted to mathematical and statistical software. Information is provided on circuits and control simulation programs, finite element tools, and solid modeling tools. -
Video, Speech, and Audio Signal Processing and Associated Standards
Now available in a three-volume set, this updated and expanded edition of the bestselling The Digital Signal Processing Handbook continues to provide the engineering community with authoritative coverage of the fundamental and specialized aspects of information-bearing signals in digital form. Encompassing essential background material, technical details, standards, and software, the second edition reflects cutting-edge information on signal processing algorithms and protocols related to speech, audio, multimedia, and video processing technology associated with standards ranging from WiMax to MP3 audio, low-power/high-performance DSPs, color image processing, and chips on video. Drawing on the experience of leading engineers, researchers, and scholars, the three-volume set contains 29 new chapters that address multimedia and Internet technologies, tomography, radar systems, architecture, standards, and future applications in speech, acoustics, video, radar, and telecommunications. This volume, Video, Speech, and Audio Signal Processing and Associated Standards, provides thorough coverage of the basic foundations of speech, audio, image, and video processing and associated applications to broadcast, storage, search and retrieval, and communications.
-
Electronic Troubleshooting
Fully updated for the latest technologies, devices, test instruments, and problem-solving methods, the new edition of this practical resource provides you with the comprehensive information you need to troubleshoot today's electrical and electronic equipment.
-
Digital Logic Design and Computer Organization: With Computer Architecture for Security
Digital Logic Design and Computer Organization: Wwith Computer Architecture for Security provides practicing engineers and students with a clear understanding of computer hardware technologies. The fundamentals of digital logic design as well as the use of the Verilog hardware description language are discussed. The book covers computer organization and architecture, modern design concepts, and computer security through hardware.
Techniques for designing both small and large combinational and sequential circuits are thoroughly explained. This detailed reference addresses memory technologies, CPU design and techniques to increase performance, microcomputer architecture, including "plug and play" device interfaces, and memory hierarchy. A chapter on security engineering methodology as it applies to computer architecture concludes the book. Sample problems, design examples, and detailed diagrams are provided throughout this practical resource.
-
Handbook of Switchgears
Switchgears are the switching devices that form the backbone of modern electrical distribution systems. The Handbook of Switchgears offers electrical power engineers and technicians a one-stop guide to the basic design, operation, and protection of switchgears, including circuit breakers, transformers, relays, switches, and fuses. Containing contributions by 22 experts from Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited, the Handbook of Switchgears guides readers through switchgears for electrical power grids and industrial facilities, as well as for residential and commercial buildings. Readers will find up-to-the-minute information on circuit breaker technologies…GIS…current and voltage transformers… protective relays…energy metering…generator protection…EHV transmission system control and protection…and much more.
-
Analog Integrated Circuit Design by Simulation: Techniques, Tools, and Methods
This comprehensive textbook and on-the-job reference offers clear instruction on analog integrated circuit design using the latest simulation techniques. Ideal for graduate students and professionals alike, the book shows, step by step, how to develop and deploy integrated circuits for cutting-edge Internet of Things (IoT) and other applications. Analog Integrated Circuit Design by Simulation: Techniques, Tools, and Methods lays out practical, ready-to-apply engineering strategies. Application layer, device layer, and circuit layer IC design are covered in complete detail. You will learn how to tackle real-world design problems and avoid long cycles of trial and error.
-
Switching Power Supply Design
Fully updated to reflect the latest technologies and materials. This bestselling tutorial shows you how to designstate-of-the-art power supply systems for any type of computer or electronic device.
-
The Handbook of Photonics
Reflecting changes in the field in the ten years since the publication of the first edition, The Handbook of Photonics, Second Edition explores recent advances that have affected this technology. In this new, updated second edition editor Mool Gupta is joined by John Ballato, strengthening the handbook with their combined knowledge and the continued contributions of world-class researchers.
New in the Second Edition:
- Information on optical fiber technology and the economic impact of photonics
- Coverage of emerging technologies in nanotechnolog
- Sections on optical amplifiers, and polymeric optical materials
The book covers photonics materials, devices, and systems, respectively. An introductory chapter, new to this edition, provides an overview of photonics technology, innovation, and economic development. Resting firmly on the foundation set by the first edition, this new edition continues to serve as a source for introductory material and a collection of published data for research and training in this field, making it the reference of first resort.
-
The Computer Engineering Handbook
After nearly six years as the field's leading reference, the second edition of this award-winning handbook reemerges with completely updated content and a brand new format. The Computer Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is now offered as a set of two carefully focused books that together encompass all aspects of the field. In addition to complete updates throughout the book to reflect the latest issues in low-power design, embedded processors, and new standards, this edition includes a new section on computer memory and storage as well as several new chapters on such topics as semiconductor memory circuits, stream and wireless processors, and nonvolatile memory technologies and applications.
-
Hardware Security Design, Threats, and Safeguards
Beginning with an introduction to cryptography, Hardware Security: Design, Threats, and Safeguards explains the underlying mathematical principles needed to design complex cryptographic algorithms. It then presents efficient cryptographic algorithm implementation methods, along with state-of-the-art research and strategies for the design of very la
-
VLSI Circuits for Emerging Applications
VLSI: Circuits for Emerging Applications presents cutting-edge research, design architectures, materials, and uses for VLSI circuits, offering valuable insight into the current state of the art of micro- and nanoelectronics.
-
The VLSI Handbook
For the new millenium, Wai-Kai Chen introduced a monumental reference for the design, analysis, and prediction of VLSI circuits: The VLSI Handbook. Still a valuable tool for dealing with the most dynamic field in engineering, this second edition includes 13 sections comprising nearly 100 chapters focused on the key concepts, models, and equations.
Written by a stellar international panel of expert contributors, this handbook is a reliable, comprehensive resource for real answers to practical problems. It emphasizes fundamental theory underlying professional applications and also reflects key areas of industrial and research focus.
Product and Supplier Directories
