2017WI_CCS*2026*FRE1B Guide

Dance / Filming Resources

Streaming Video

The video/film resources below provide examples and analyses of dance for film and television (try simple searches such as: dance film; dance choreography)

The final two resources are potential sources for

Films on Demand
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=20833

Kanopy Streaming
http://unb.kanopystreaming.com/

NFB Campus
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.nfb.ca/explore-all-films/

 

Shooting Dance

Not sure how to approach the shoot?  Just ask yourself: "What would Fred and Ginger do?:

The dance may or may not be complicated, but the filming certainly need not be.
Clever editing can, however, mask less than technically astounding dance. Was this video shot on cellphilm: https://youtu.be/t-LL6MD_zo0?
 

Cellphilming basics:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2017/02/Cellphilming.pdf

From Kanopy Streaming:

Dance for Camera - Dance Films from Around the World
Dance for Camera presents thirteen films that are among the most outstanding examples of a new film genre that merges dance and film. Selected from festivals in Europe and North America, and winners of over 17 international awards, these films present an array of humor, drama, beauty and rhythm not usually seen on film or stage made by young emerging artists from around the world.
https://unb.kanopystreaming.com/video/dance-camera
https://unb.kanopystreaming.com/video/dance-camera-2

Video Dance
This work by director Douglas Rosenberg, a regular collaborator with contemporary choreographers, is a collection of three dances created specifically for the camera. Each work features Rosenberg's lyrical camera work and suspends the choreography within an elegant frame. The dances for the camera featured on this tape include works by internationally respected dance artists; "Wind" with Eiko and Koma, "Bardo (In Extremis)" with Molissa Fenley, and "My Grandfather Dances" with Anna Halprin.
https://unb.kanopystreaming.com/video/video-dance-1998

Using media from the Web

Sources for media that can be used for academic projects

One is well advised to exercise care when using and repurposing media objects (images, sound, video, etc.) found on the web for academic projects. Most media are copyrighted regardless of whether there is an accompanying statement to the effect. There are, however, sites which make available reusable media that are either in the public domain or under creative commons license. Below is a list of some of the most common such sources.

Film

Vimeo - Creative Commons

Creative Commons licenses enable members to grant copyright permissions on their videos so others can copy, distribute, edit, remix, and build upon them while giving credit to the original video’s creator.
https://vimeo.com/creativecommons

 

XStockvideo

User uploaded video free to use for Educational purposes
http://www.xstockvideo.com

Sound

freesound

Downloadable sound effects under Creative Commons license
https://www.freesound.org

Image

The Commons on Flickr

Public domain photo sharing site:
http://www.flickr.com/commons

Creative Commons

A portal to various media content intended for free use and re-use under a "Creative Commons" licensing agreement:
http://creativecommons.org/

Stock Exchange

Extensive source for royalty-free stock images:
http://www.sxc.hu/

Wikimedia Commons

A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips):
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

Research Articles

Use (movies or film or motion picture or camera) - including brackets - to focus results in databases including Google Scholar on the visual/recorded aspects of the topic.

To search for particular films, dancers, choreographers, etc., place the name in quotations.  E.g., "La la land", "Pina Bausch".

Key Resources

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
    "CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Project Muse
    "Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others." UNB subscribes to almost 400 eJournals, and provides access to select Open Access eBooks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
    "MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Find Books

Potentially useful subject searches:
Dance in motion pictures and television
Performing arts - Dance
Dance - Study and teaching

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

   

Citing Your Sources

Citations

Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

Ask Us

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44