Getting Started with Reference Sources
When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of History. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity This encyclopedia contains approximately 350 articles that explain the issues behind crimes against humanity as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and legal proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity. Electronic version of the three-volume Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity edited by Dinah Shelton and first published in print by Macmillan Reference in 2005.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Dictionary of genocide [HIL-REF HV6322.7 .T68 2008]
Presents two volumes on human genocide in alphabetical sequence focusing on named individuals and groups such as "Babi Yar," Rwanda, the Holocaust in Europe, and in the killing fields of Cambodia. Discusses genocidal rape such as in Darfur, Africa. and attempts by the United Nations to solve the problem which has not been effective.
- Encyclopedia of genocide [HIL-REF HV6322.7 .E53 1999]
Alphabetical entries define names, places, and events associated with genocide, and major sections deal with the Armenian genocide, the Holocaust, and the process, detection, denial, and prevention of genocide.
- Columbia Guide to the Holocaust [HIL-REF D804.3 .N54 2000]
Offers a general history of the Holocaust and addresses many of the core issues and debates surrounding it.
- Holocaust Encyclopedia [HIL-REF D804.25 .H66 2001]
"Alphabetically arranged entries in 'Laqueur's encyclopedia provides fresh and lengthy articles on such topics as antisemitism, historiography, Jewish women, memorials, and resistance, just to brush the surface.
- Remembering for the future : the Holocaust in an age of genocide [HIL-REF D804.18 .R46 2001]
Focused on 'The Holocaust in an Age of Genocide', Remembering for the Future brings together the work of nearly 200 scholars from more than 30 countries and features cutting-edge scholarship across a range of disciplines, amounting to the most extensive and powerful reassessment of the Holocaust ever undertaken.
- The Holocaust and its religious impact : a critical assessment and annotated bibliography [HIL-REF D804.3 .F583 2004]
This annotated bibliography provides a comprehensive survey of writings about the Holocaust. Includes materials on anti-semitism, the moral and religious response to the Nazi persecution and genocide of the Jews, and post-World War II responses to the Holocaust.
- The Armenian Genocide : the essential reference guide [HIL-REF DS195.5 .A7393 2015]
"The Armenian Genocide has often been considered a template for subsequent genocides and is one of the first genocides of the 20th century. As such, it holds crucial historical significance, and it is critically important that today's students understand this case study of inhumanity. This book provides a much-needed, long-overdue reference volume on the Armenian Genocide. It begins with seven introductory analytical essays that provide a broad overview of the Armenian Genocide and then presents individual entries, a historical timeline, and a selection of documents. This essential reference work covers all aspects of the Armenian Genocide, including the causes, phases, and consequences. It explores political and historical perspectives as well as the cultural aspects. The carefully selected collection of perspective essays will inspire critical thinking and provide readers with insight into some of the most controversial and significant issues of the Armenian Genocide. Similarly, the primary source documents are prefaced by thoughtful introductions that will provide the necessary context to help students understand the significance of the material"
- Historical dictionary of Rwanda [HIL-REF DT450.115 .T89 2007]
"Blessed with natural beauty and rich vegetation, Rwanda is often called the "land of a thousand hills." A proud people, the Banyarwanda (Rwandans) possess a centric view of the world, believing that Imana (God) favors Rwanda, as conveyed through the saying "Imana yirirwa ahandi igataha i Rwanda" (God spends the day someplace else but goes back home to Rwanda to sleep) and the fact that Rwanda means "the universe." However, this idyllic view of Rwanda sharply contrasts with the sad history of ethnic strife that has unfolded in the country since the 1950s: the 1959 Hutu revolution followed by years of anti-Tutsi pogroms, undemocratic regimes, the civil war of 1990-1994, and, more significantly, the April-July 1994 genocide against the Tutsi and Hutu who opposed the killings."
- Rwandan genocide : the essential reference guide [HIL-REF DT450.435 .R83 2018]
- Civil War (Rwanda : 1994)
- Tutsi (African people) Crimes against.
- Tutsi (African people) Crimes against Rwanda History 20th century.
- Genocide Rwanda History 20th century Encyclopedias.
- SOCIAL SCIENCE Discrimination & Race Relations.
- Ethnic relations.
- Rwanda History Civil War, 1994 Encyclopedias.
- Rwanda Ethnic relations History 20th century Encyclopedias.
To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.
Finding Journal Articles
While it is possible to do a limited search for journal articles from UNB WorldCat, when searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in the History of Genocide. For other databases, check the Article Databases tab on the library website.
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations) ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- HeinOnline HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- JSTOR Current Collection In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest) "Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
There are several strategies to use when searching for primary sources on your topic:
- Look through the bibliographies of any relevant secondary sources that you find. Books and journal articles will refer to documentary evidence from the time or event in question. Once you have a title, or a person's name, it becomes much easier to track down printed or online editions of the account.
- Try a search in UNB WorldCat for your topic, combined with su:sources, or su:correspondence, or su:personal accounts. These are some of the subject headings that cataloguers use to identify primary source historical material. So, if you want primary sources related to the mass killings in Cambodia, you would search for: cambodia AND genocide AND su:sources
- For newspaper accounts, try a search of one of the Library's online historical newspaper collections:
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Times Digital Archives The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
- Use one of the Libraries' online collections of documentary archives:
- Archives Unbound Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
UNB has access to 14 archives:
- 19th Century English-Language Journals of the Far East | UNBWorldCat: 794778563
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism | UNBWorldCat: 551797520
- Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals | UNBWorldCat: 750590961
- Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents | UNBWorldCat: 551797483
- German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 | UNBWorldCat: 860713307
- German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster (Scheible) | UNBWorldCat: 707935863
- German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 | UNBWorldCat: 849493401
- Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 | UNBWorldCat: 803998549
- Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council | UNBWorldCat: 822057416
- Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 | UNBWorldCat: 881829856
- SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries | UNBWorldCat: 773624052
- Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 | UNBWorldCat: 611152344
- War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas | UNBWorldCat: 793100869
- "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 | UNBWorldCat: 704290642
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest) U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:
- Bills and Acts 1695-2018
- Command Papers 1802-2018
- House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
- House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
- Hansard 1803-2005
- Journals 1688-1834
- Debates 1774-1805
- Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Oral History Online The database indexes collections of oral history in English from around the world. Some full-text material is contained in the database; there are links to other material, textual as well as audio and video, available on other web sites. Both full-text and bibliographic searching are provided.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Archives Unbound
- If you are having trouble finding relevant sources, please contact me at email@example.com
Professor Todd has compiled a list of books that are either in the HIL or can be ordered through Document Delivery:
Primary Document Collections on the History of the Holocaust
Note: Most of this material has been compiled from the website of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum at (http://www.ushmm.org/research/research-in-collections/search-the-collections/bibliography/primary-sources). Not all resources are available in the HIL, but may be ordered through the library’s Document Delivery service.
Nazi Germany and the Holocaust
· Ancel, Jean, editor. Documents Concerning the Fate of Romanian Jewry during the Holocaust. New York: Beate Klarsfeld Foundation, 1986. (DS 135 .R7 D63 1986)
Twelve-volume series that reproduces hundreds of original government documents, newspaper articles, letters, memoranda, and other sources related to the persecution of Romanian Jews during World War II. [German, Romanian, and English]
· Arad, Yitzhak, Israel Gutman, and Abraham Margaloit, editors. Documents on the Holocaust: Selected Sources on the Destruction of the Jews of Germany and Austria, Poland, and the Soviet Union. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1999. (D 804.19 .D63 1999)
Compiles translations of over 200 sources documenting the destruction of Jewish communities under the Nazis. Compiles official decrees, speeches, military orders, diary excerpts, and other primary sources. Includes indexes of names, places, organizations, and individuals. [English]
· Arad, Yitzhak, Shmuel Krakowski, and Shmuel Spector, editors. The Einsatzgruppen Reports: Selections from the Dispatches of the Nazi Death Squads’ Campaign against the Jews July 1941-January 1943. New York, NY: Holocaust Library, 1989. (D 757.854 .E567 1989)
Provides translations of over 150 situation reports filed by members of the Einsatzgruppen, the units responsible for the deaths of over one million Jews and other victims. Includes an index. [English]
· Berenbaum, Michael, editor. Witness to the Holocaust. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1997. (D 804.19 .W58 1997)
Documentary history of the Holocaust. Presents translated excerpts of key documents, speeches, announcements, letters, and reports, chronologically presented with commentary to provide context for each item. [English]
· Braham, Randolph L., editor. The Destruction of Hungarian Jewry: A Documentary Account. New York: Pro Arte for the World Federation of Hungarian Jews, 1963. (Reference DS 135 .H9 D57 1963)
Two-volume collection documenting the destruction of the Hungarian Jewish community in 1944. Volume I covers the treatment of Hungarian Jews from 1940 until the Nazi occupation and volume II covers the roundups and deportations of March-April, 1944. Presents reproductions of the original sources. Includes an analytical list of documents. [German and English]
· Crew, David F. Hitler and the Nazis: A History in Documents. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. (DD 253 .C67 2005)
Collection of documents in translation and images covering the collapse of the Weimar Republic and Hitler’s rise to power, World War II, and the Holocaust. Includes suggestions for further research and an index.
· Friedlander, Henry, and Sybil Milton, editors. Berlin Document Center. New York: Garland, 1992. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.11)
Representative selection of papers from the Berlin Document Center (BDC), the largest repository of Nazi party personnel and membership records. Reproduces 486 file cards, questionnaires, letters, handwritten autobiographies, and other personnel documents from leading Nazi officials. Includes a summary description of the BDC archives, a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text, and a summary listing of the documents. Volume 11 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [German]
· Friedlander, Henry, and Sybil Milton, editors. Bundesarchiv of the Federal Republic of Germany, Koblenz and Freiburg. New York: Garland, 1993. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.20)
Presents over 200 letters, memoranda, organization charts, and other Nazi documents related to the persecution of Jews as well as the creation and administration of the concentration camps. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 20 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [German]
· Friedlander, Henry, and Sybil Milton, editors. Zentrale Stelle der Landesjustizverwaltungen, Ludwigsburg. New York: Garland, 1993. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.22)
Reproduces 132 documents drawn from the holdings at the Zentrale Stelle der Landesjustizverwaltungen (Central Office for the Administration of Justice) in Ludwigsburg, Germany. Presents telegrams, decrees, and letters pertaining to the treatment of Jews and other prisoners under Nazi control. Also provides transcripts of postwar interrogations related to the prosecution of war criminals. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 22 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [German]
· Hilberg, Raul, editor. Documents of Destruction: Germany and Jewry, 1933-1945. Chicago: Quadrangle Books, 1971. (D 810 .J4 D572 1971)
Compendium of translated documents outlining the history of the Holocaust, from decrees of the early days of the Third Reich through documents concerning the postwar fate of perpetrators. [English]
· Hill, Jeff. The Holocaust. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2006. (D 804.19 .H55 2006)
Presents translations for over 100 documents, including letters, diary excerpts, Nazi reports, and survivor testimonies, which trace the history of the Holocaust from the rise of Nazism through the liberation of the camps. Includes a chronology, glossary, bibliography, and subject index. Part of the Primary Sourcebook series. [English]
· Hochstadt, Steve. Sources of the Holocaust. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2004. (D 804.19 .S68 2004)
Collects 84 translations of original documents, including letters, postwar depositions, speeches, diary excerpts, Nazi reports, and newspaper articles, which outline the history of the Holocaust. Part of the Documents in History series. [English]
· Joods Historisch Museum. Documents of the Persecution of the Dutch Jewry 1940-1945. Amsterdam: Athenaeum-Polak & Van Gennep, 1979. (DS 135 .N4 J6513 1979)
Reproduces dozens of original documents tracing the persecution of the Jews in the Netherlands. Drawn from the collection of the Jewish Historical Museum in Amsterdam. Includes the original Wannsee Protocol along with circulars, letters, newspaper accounts, and official Nazi documents. [German and Dutch, with English translations]
· Klamper, Elisabeth, editor. Dokumentationsarchiv des Österreichischen Widerstandes, Vienna. New York: Garland, 1991. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.19)
Collects 221 Holocaust-era documents drawn from the Documentation Center of Austrian Resistance (DÖW) in Vienna on topics such as the Anschluss, the operation of Mauthausen concentration camp, euthanasia facilities in Austria, and the persecution of Jews, Roma, and other groups. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 19 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [German]
· Klarsfeld, Serge, editor. Documents Concerning the Destruction of the Jews of Grodno 1941-1944. New York: Beate Klarsfeld Foundation, 1985. (DS 135 .B382 H76 1985)
Six-volume collection of reprinted original documents concerning the destruction of the Jewish community in Grodno, Poland (now Hrodna, Belarus). Includes deportation lists, Nazi decrees and memoranda, and postwar statements by survivors. [German, Polish, Lithuanian, Russian, Hebrew, and English]
· Mendelsohn, John, editor. The Holocaust: Selected Documents in Eighteen Volumes. New York: Garland, 1982. (Reference D 810 .J4 H645 1982)
Reproduces key original documents tracing the history of the Holocaust from the early 1930s, through the establishment of the ghettos and camps, to the prosecution of Nazi officials after the war. Presents translations alongside most of the original documents. [German and English]
Organized in 18 volumes:
- Legalizing the Holocaust: The Early Phase, 1933-1939
- Legalizing the Holocaust: The Later Phase, 1939-1943
- The Crystal Night Pogrom
- Propaganda and Aryanization, 1938-1944
- Jewish Emigration from 1933 to the Evian Conference of 1938
- Jewish Emigration, 1938-1940: Rublee Negotiations and the Intergovernmental Committee
- Jewish Emigration: The S.S. St. Louis Affair and Other Cases
- Deportation of the Jews to the East: Stettin, 1940, to Hungary, 1944
- Medical Experiments on Jewish Inmates of Concentration Camps
- The Einsatzgruppen or Murder Commandos
- The Wannsee Protocol and a 1944 Report on Auschwitz by the Office of Strategic Services
- The “Final Solution” in the Extermination Camps and the Aftermath
- The Judicial System and the Jews in Nazi Germany
- Relief and Rescue of Jews from Nazi Oppression, 1943-1945
- Relief in Hungary and the Failure of the Joel Brand Mission
- Rescue to Switzerland: The Mussy and Saly Mayer Affairs
- Punishing the Perpetrators of the Holocaust: The Brandt, Pohl, and Ohlendorf cases
- Punishing the Perpetrators of the Holocaust: The Ohlendorf and Von Weizsaecker cases.
· Mikoletzky, Lorenz, editor. Allgemeines Verwaltungsarchiv, Archiv der Republik, Vienna. New York: Garland, 1995. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.21)
Compiles copies of 159 original documents from the Austrian State Archives in Vienna. Primarily consists of letters to and from Austrian Jews requesting assistance or leniency from Nazi officials. Includes a brief history of the archives, a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text, and a summary listing of the documents. Volume 21 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [German]
· Milton, Sybil, and Roland Klemig, editors. Bildarchiv Preussischer Kulterbesitz, Berlin. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.1)
Reproduces 894 photographs drawn from the holdings of Photo Archive of the Prussian Cultural Trust in Berlin. Presented in 18 topical chapters, including Nazi propaganda images, photos from the concentration camps, pictures from countries under German occupation, and postwar trials. Includes a summary listing of the photographs. Volume 1 of the Archives of the Holocaust series.
· Nicosia, Francis R., editor. Central Zionist Archives, Jerusalem, 1933-1939. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.3)
Presents facsimiles of 109 documents detailing the activities of the Zionist movement in Europe in response to increasing persecution of European Jews in the years before World War II. Documents the disintegration of Jewish life in Nazi Germany and the efforts to escape during the period. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 3 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [German and English]
· Nicosia, Francis R., editor. Central Zionist Archives, Jerusalem, 1939-1945. New York: Garland, 1989. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.4)
Compiles 172 original documents drawn from the holdings of the Central Zionist Archives. Outlines the efforts of the Zionist movement to raise awareness of the murder of Jews in Nazi-dominated Europe. Organized into six sections to reflect the primary areas of concern for the Zionist movement during World War II. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 4 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English, French, and German]
· Noakes, Jeremy, and Geoffrey Pridham, editors. Nazism, 1919-1945. Exeter: University of Exeter Press, 1998-2001. (DD 256.5 .N385 1998)
Four-volume documentary history tracing the rise and fall of Nazism from the movement’s founding through World War II. Interweaves translated excerpts from hundreds of primary documents with analytical commentary. Volume 3 includes materials specifically on the Holocaust. [English]
· Sax, Benjamin C., and Dieter Kuntz. Inside Hitler’s Germany: A Documentary History of Life in the Third Reich. Lexington, MA: D.C. Heath, 1992. (DD 256.5 .S295 1992)
Collection of key primary source documents tracing the political and social history of Nazi Germany, from the origins of National Socialism in the years after World War I through the establishment of the Third Reich and the Holocaust. Includes English translations of speeches, letters, newspaper accounts, laws, and other important documents, as well as a chronology, glossary, maps, and a bibliography for further reading.
· Stackelberg, Roderick, and Sally A. Winkle, editors. The Nazi Germany Sourcebook: An Anthology of Texts. London: Routledge, 2002. (DD 256.5 .N359 2002)
Compiles translations of 148 documents, including some never before published in English, covering the rise of Nazism through the Holocaust and the following decades. Contains diplomatic records, minutes of meetings, diary excerpts, speeches, and eyewitness accounts. Includes a listing of all documents found in the text, a chronology of German history from 1871 to 1990, and an index. [English]
· Baumel, Judith Tydor, editor. Israel State Archives, Jerusalem. New York: Garland, 1991. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.13)
Reproduces 133 original documents drawn from the Israel State Archives in Jerusalem. Presents sources related to the situation in Palestine during the war, efforts to help refugees fleeing Nazi Europe, assistance to Polish Jews during World War II, the deportation of the Greek Jewish community, and the postwar rehabilitation of Jewish displaced persons. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 13 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Draper, Paula, and Harold M. Troper, editors. National Archives of Canada, Ottawa: Canadian Jewish Congress Archives, Montreal. New York: Garland, 1991. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.15)
Compiles facsimiles of over 200 memoranda, telegraphs, letters, and other papers documenting the efforts of the organized Jewish community in Canada regarding the persecution of European Jews, along with the Canadian government’s immigration and refugee policies before and during World War II. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 15 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Greenberg, Karen J., editor. Columbia University Library, New York: the Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League to Champion Human Rights Papers, the Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League Pamphlet Collection. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.6)
Presents documents of the Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League, founded in 1933, that worked to assist refugees fleeing Nazi Europe. Contains papers documenting the League’s various efforts to boycott German-made goods and to keep the United States from participating in the 1936 Olympics. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 6 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Greenberg, Karen J., editor. Columbia University Library, New York: The Varian Fry Papers; The Fort Ontario Emergency Refugee Shelter Papers. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.5)
Reproduces holdings from the Columbia University Library related to the work of Varian Fry, an American journalist who helped anti-Nazi refugees escape from France, along with papers related to the operations of the Fort Ontario Emergency Refugee Shelter in Oswego, New York. Presents 114 original documents, subdivided into general categories for easy use. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 5 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Helfand, Jonathan, editor. Yeshiva University, New York. New York: Garland, 1991. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.18)
Reproduces 143 documents concerning the efforts of Vaad Hatzala and of Rescue Children, Inc., two Orthodox organizations formed to assist Jewish victims of Nazi persecution. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 18 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Lebowitz, Arieh, and Gail Malmgreen, editors. Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, New York University: The Papers of the Jewish Labor Committee. New York: Garland, 1993. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.14)
Reproduces over 300 original documents, including letters, reports, leaflets, and articles from various publications. Illustrates the inner workings of the Jewish Labor Committee in New York, including its interactions with other labor organizations and its efforts to preserve East European Jewish culture and history from destruction by the Nazis. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 14 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English and Hebrew]
· Peck, Abraham J., editor. American Jewish Archives, Cincinnati: The Papers of the World Jewish Congress, 1939-1945. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.8)
Reproduces 132 original documents related to the work of the World Jewish Congress during World War II, including rescue and rehabilitation efforts for those attempting to escape Nazi persecution. Presents wartime reports about the destruction of European Jewish communities. Provides an overview of the archives from which these documents are taken, a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 8 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Rose, Paul Lawrence, and Herbert Druks, editors. Hecht Archive, University of Haifa. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.12)
Compiles facsimiles of 79 letters, reports, and other papers, in various languages, documenting the efforts of Dr. Reuben Hecht to raise awareness of the plight of European Jews under the Nazis as well as his work to assist refugees looking to flee Nazi Europe. Includes a brief summary of Dr. Hecht’s work, a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text, and a summary listing of the documents. Volume 12 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Sutters, Jack. American Friends Service Committee, Philadelphia. New York: Garland, 1989. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.2)
Reproduces over four hundred original documents concerning the efforts of the Society of Friends (Quakers) to assist refugees fleeing Nazi Europe. Documents are presented chronologically in two volumes, 1932-1939 and 1940-1945. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 2 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
United States and the Holocaust
· Abzug, Robert H. America Views the Holocaust, 1933-1945: A Brief Documentary History. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 1999. (D 804.19 .A29 1999)
Presents transcriptions of over 60 letters and articles that appeared in newspapers and magazines between 1933 and 1945 in order to document American press coverage of the Nazi persecution of Jews and other victim groups. Includes a chronology of events, a list of questions for further consideration, a selected bibliography, and an index. [English]
· Bogan, Frederick D., editor. American Jewish Committee, New York. New York: Garland, 1993. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.17)
Representative sample of the many thousands of Holocaust-era documents from the American Jewish Committee’s (AJC) archives housed at the YIVO research facility and the AJC Headquarters in New York. Compiles 188 letters, reports, memoranda, and other documents describing the AJC’s work on behalf of persecuted Jews in Europe before, during, and after World War II. Includes detailed descriptions of the AJC holdings at both YIVO and the AJC Headquarters, a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text, and a summary listing of the documents. Volume 18 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Greenberg, Karen J., editor. Columbia University Library, New York: The James G. McDonald Papers. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.7)
Compiles facsimiles of 54 letters, reports, memoranda, and meeting notes regarding the work of James G. McDonald, the League of Nations’ High Commissioner for Refugees from 1933 to 1935. Presents McDonald’s letter of resignation over the treatment of European citizens looking to emigrate from Nazi Germany. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 7 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· McJimsey, George, editor. “FDR’s Protest of the Treatment of Jews in Germany, 1938.” Documentary History of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidency, Volume 12. Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 2001-. (E 806 .D614 2001 v.12)
Collects 176 original documents drawn from the Roosevelt presidential papers, the U.S. Department of State Archives, and private collections. Traces the actions of the President in response to news of the persecution of European Jews. Includes a subject index and annotated listing of the documents. [English]
· Milton, Sybil, and Frederick D. Bogin, editors. American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, New York. New York: Garland, 1995. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.10)
Presents a representative sampling of the Holocaust-related holdings of the archives of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee. Includes facsimiles of 255 original documents including correspondence with government agencies, pamphlets, and reports, covering the committee’s efforts on behalf of Jewish refugees (including the St. Louis passengers) during World War II and displaced persons after the war. Includes a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 10 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Peck, Abraham J., editor. American Jewish Archives, Cincinnati: The Papers of the World Jewish Congress, 1945-1950: Liberation and the Saving Remnant. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.9)
Compiles 64 original papers and reports drawn from the American Jewish Archives in Cincinnati. Documents the efforts of the World Jewish Congress in the years after the war to assist displaced persons, punish war criminals, and capture documentary and eyewitness accounts of Nazi atrocities. Includes an overview of the archives from which these documents are taken, a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text along with a summary listing of the documents. Volume 9 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Wyman, David S., editor. America and the Holocaust: A Thirteen-volume Set Documenting the Editor’s Book The Abandonment of the Jews. New York: Garland, 1989-1991. (Reference D 810 .J4 W952 1988)
Compilation of original documentary materials used by David Wyman in writing his book The Abandonment of the Jews (New York: The New Press, 1998). Reproduces letters, newspaper articles, government documents, and other sources. [English]
Organized into thirteen volumes roughly corresponding to the chapters of the book, as follows:
- Confirming the News of Extermination
- The Struggle for Rescue Action
- The Mock Rescue Conference, Bermuda
- Barring the Gates to America
- American Jewish Disunity
- Showdown in Washington: State, Treasury, and Congress
- War Refugee Board: Basic Rescue Operations
- War Refugee Board, Hungary
- War Refugee Board, Special Problems
- Token Shipment (Oswego Camp). War Refugee Board “Summary Report”
- War Refugee Board “Weekly Reports”
- Bombing Auschwitz and the Auschwitz Escapees’ Report
- Responsibility for America’s Failure.
War Crimes Trials
· Lankevich, George J., editor. United Nations Archives, New York: United Nations War Crimes Commission. New York: Garland, 1990. (Reference D 810 .J4 A735 1989 v.16)
Compilation of 70 reports, minutes, and other documents related to the work of the United Nations War Crimes Commission (UNWCC) between 1945 and 1948. Includes letters and memoranda outlining the complexities of trying Nazi officials for crimes against humanity, reports from various tribunals, and the acknowledgement by Rudolf Höss that he ordered gassings at Auschwitz. Provides an overview of the work of the UNWCC, a glossary of individuals and organizations mentioned in the text, and a summary listing of the documents. Volume 16 of the Archives of the Holocaust series. [English]
· Marrus, Michael R. The Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, 1945-46: A Documentary History. Boston: Bedford Books, 1997. (KZ 1176.5 .M365 1997) [
Collection of translated excerpts from official documents, letters, and testimony transcripts outlining the history of the International Military Tribunal (IMT) in Nuremberg. Contains extensive quotations from the IMT and the texts of final statements made by Nuremberg defendants. [English]
· Trial of the Major War Criminals Before the International Military Tribunal, Nuremberg, 14 November 1945-1 October 1946. Buffalo, NY: William S. Hein, 1995. (JX 5437.3 .I58 1995)
Commonly known as the “Blue Series,” volumes 1-22 provide the official English language text of the proceedings while volumes 25-42 reproduce the evidence presented during the trial. Subject, name, and document indexes can be found in volumes 23 and 24. NOTE: These volumes may be downloaded, in PDF format, from the Library of Congress’s Military Legal Resources Web site. (external link) [English, German, and French]
· Bacharach, Zwi, editor. Last Letters from the Shoah. Jerusalem: Devora Publishers, 2004. (D 804.195 .E4413 2004)
Collects translations of 117 letters written by people who later died in ghettos or camps. Includes indexes of persons, places, and concepts discussed in the letters. [English]
· Boder, David. I Did Not Interview the Dead. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1949. (D 804.195 .B634 1949)
Presents transcriptions of eight interviews Dr. Boder conducted with Holocaust survivors within two years of their liberation from the camps. Note: Transcriptions of over 70 of Dr. Boder’s interviews can be found at the Voices of the Holocaust (external link) website, presented by the Illinois Institute of Technology. [English]
· Geehr, Richard S, editor. Letters from the Doomed: Concentration Camp Correspondence 1940-1945. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 1991. (D 805 .A2 L4 1991)
Presents translations of over 75 letters, postcards, and other correspondence sent by prisoners in nine different Nazi concentration camps. Includes reproductions of many original handwritten pages alongside their translations. Includes an appendix listing the names of the prisoners who wrote the letters and the addressees, along with the date of each letter.
· Grynberg, Michał, editor. Words to Outlive Us: Voices from the Warsaw Ghetto. New York: Metropolitan Books, 2002. (DS 135 .P63 A15513 2002)
Presents translated excerpts from 29 eyewitness accounts of life in Warsaw during the Nazi occupation, drawn from the holdings of the Jewish Historical Institute. Organized thematically, with accounts of life in the ghetto, resistance efforts, deportations, hiding in the “Aryan” part of the city, and liberation. Includes capsule biographies of contributors, a glossary, and an index. [English]
· Holliday, Laurel. Children in the Holocaust and World War II: Their Secret Diaries. New York: Pocket Books, 1995. (D 804.3 .C45 1995)
Compiles translated excerpts of 23 diaries written by young people during the Holocaust. Includes a select bibliography of sources and other published diaries. [English]
· McElroy, Lorie Jenkins, editor. Voices of the Holocaust. Detroit, MI: UXL, 1998. (D 804.34 .V66 1998)
Presents translated excerpts from 34 documents, such as speeches, letters, and newspaper accounts, tracing the history of the Holocaust from antisemitic writings of the 1920s through survivor memoirs written in the 1940s. Includes a timeline, index, glossary, and capsule biographies of key figures mentioned in the text. [English]
· Niewik, Donald L., editor. Fresh Wounds: Early Narratives of Holocaust Survival. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1998. (D 804.195 .F74 1998) [
Collects edited and translated transcriptions of 36 interviews with survivors of the camps and ghettos conducted shortly after the war by Dr. David Boder. Note: Transcriptions of over 70 of Dr. Boder’s interviews can be found at the Voices of the Holocaust (external link) website, presented by the Illinois Institute of Technology. [English]
· Zapruder, Alexandra, editor. Salvaged Pages: Young Writers’ Diaries of the Holocaust. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2002. (D 804.48 .S33 2002)
Presents translated excerpts from 14 diaries written by children and teenagers from across Europe. Includes brief biographies for each of the diarists, an appendix listing known diaries kept by children during the Holocaust, and an index. [English]
United Nations. International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
Citing Your Sources
Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.
Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for History is Chicago, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.
- Chicago Manual of Style Endnote/Footnote Format
- Chicago Documentation Examples
- The Chicago manual of style
HIL-REFDSK Z253 .U69 2010
- Research and Documentation Online
- Guide to Citation and Plagiarism
- Joanne Smyth (Profile)
- During the COVID-19 online-only course delivery period, I will be helping students with library research through email, AskUs, Teams or Skype. Please email me if you need some help.
- Liaison Librarian for History and Political Science
- UNB Fredericton
- Book a meeting with me!
I am the liaison librarian for History and Political Science on the Fredericton campus, working with the Reference Services department.
History, Political Science
Holocaust and Genocide Studies
- Reclaiming Children after the Armenian Genocide: Neutral House in Istanbul
- The Failures of Ethics: Confronting the Holocaust, Genocide, and Other Mass Atrocities, John K. Roth (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2015), 264 pp., hardcover $39.95, paperback $24.95, electronic version available.
- Anatomy of a Genocide: The Life and Death of a Town Called Buczacz, Omer Bartov (New York: Simon and Schuster, 2018), 416 pp., hardcover $30.00, paperback $18.00, electronic version available.
- Recently Published Works in Holocaust and Genocide Studies
- Rescue Board: The Untold Story of America’s Efforts to Save the Jews of Europe, Rebecca Erbelding (New York: Doubleday, 2018), 384 pp., hardcover $29.95, paperback $17.00, electronic version available.
- The Reich Military Court and Its Values: Wehrmacht Treatment of Jehovah’s Witness Conscientious Objectors
- The Holocaust and North Africa, edited by Aomar Boum and Sarah Abrevaya Stein (Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press in association with The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 2018), 360 pp., hardcover $90.00, paperback $29.95, electronic version available.
- The Jew and the “Jerrybag”: The Lives of Hedwig Bercu and Dorothea Weber (née Le Brocq)
- Verwicklung. Beteiligung. Unrecht. Frauen und die Ustaša-Bewegung, Martina Bitunjac (Berlin: Duncker & Humblot, 2018), 252 pp. Paperback 44.90€, electronic version available.