Ask Us Getting Started with Entrepreneurship Guide

Journals

Journals

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals related to entrepreneurship and small businesses. This list includes a modest sampling of the journals available through the library.

This list of journals specifically focus on entrepreneurship. It's important to remember that when you are working on a business idea related to a specific industry these might not be the best journals to start your research. Don't forget that the library has specialized databases that focus on topics such as engineering, computer science, kinesiology, education, and more. They might be a better place to start to find research that is more relevant to your business idea.

• Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
  • Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice (ETP) is a leading scholarly journal in Entrepreneurship. The journal's mission is to publish original conceptual and empirical research that contributes to the advancement of entrepreneurship. ETP is consistently ranked as one of the most influential business journals of the Journal Citation Reports and by the Financial Times as one of the top journals.
• Journal of Business Venturing
  • The Journal of Business Venturing provides a scholarly forum for sharing useful and interesting theories, narratives, and interpretations of entrepreneurship. The journal publishes entrepreneurship research from (1) the disciplines of economics, psychology, and sociology and welcomes research from other disciplines such as anthropology, geography, history, and so on, (2) the functions of finance/accounting, management, marketing, and strategy and welcomes research from other functions such as operations, information technology, public policy, medicine, law, music, and so on, and (3) the contexts of international and sustainability (environmental and social).
• Journal of Small Business and Entrepreneurship
  • The Journal of Small Business and Entrepreneurship (JSBE) is a scholarly journal dedicated to pushing the boundaries of current entrepreneurial thoughts and small business management studies – theoretical pieces, qualitative and quantitative empirical work, and/or case studies. It is a relevant source for contemporary thought concerning entrepreneurship, venture start-ups, and small business management anywhere in the world. Published in English and French, this journal brings the Canadian knowledge in the targeted areas from Canada to other countries while bringing to Canada the recent developments taking place in other parts of the world.
• Small Business Economics
  • Small Business Economics provides an invaluable forum for research and scholarship focusing on the role of entrepreneurship and small business. The journal has a broad scope and focuses on multiple dimensions of entrepreneurship, including entrepreneurs' characteristics, new ventures and innovation, firms' life cycles; as well as the role played by institutions and public policies within local, regional, national and international contexts.
• Journal of Small Business Management
  • The primary purpose of the Journal of Small Business Management is to publish scholarly research articles in the fields of small business management and entrepreneurship. As the official journal of the International Council for Small Business (ICSB), the JSBM is recognized as a primary instrument for projecting and supporting the goals and objectives of this organization, which include scholarly research and the free exchange of ideas. The journal, which is circulated in 60 countries around the world, is a leader in the field of small business research.

Books

When researching a new topic is often necessary to get an overview, explanation of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. Books are one way to introduce yourself to the fundamentals of starting a business. Below is a select list of books, e-books, and reference materials that cover entrepreneurial concepts.

e-Books

	Race, Work and Leadership: New Perspectives on the Black Experience by Laura Morgan Roberts, Anthony J. Mayo, & David A. Thomas
	Race in the Marketplace: Crossing Critical Boundaries by Guillame D. Johnson
	Business Model Generation: A handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers by Alexander Osterwalder, Yves Pigneur & Tim Clark (e-book)
	Value Proposition Design: How to create products and services customers want by Alexander Osterwalder, Yves Pigneur, Greg Bernarda, & Alan Smith (e-book)
	Testing Business Ideas by David J. Bland & Alexander Osterwaler (e-book)
	Disciplined Entrepreneurship: 24 Steps to a Successful Startup by Bill Aulet (e-book)
	The Revenue Growth Habit: The Simple Art of Growing Your Business by 15% in 15 minutes a Day by Alex L Goldfayn (e-book)
	The Invincible Company by Alexander Osterwalder, Yves Pigneur & Frederic Etiemble (e-book)
	Sprint: How to Solve Big Problems and Test New Ideas In Just Five Days by Jake Knapp (e-book)
	UX Strategy: How to Devise Innovative Digital Products That People Want by Jamie Levy (e-book)
	The Design Thinking Toolbox: A Guide to Mastering the Most Popular and Valuable Innovation Methods by Michael Lewrick, Patrick Link, & Larry J. Leifer

Books 

	The Art of the Start: The time-tested, battle-hardened guide for anyone starting anything by Guy Kawasaki
	Craft Entrepreneurship by Annette Naudin & Karen Patel
	How to Make it in the New Music Business: Practical Tips on Building a Loyal Following and Making a Living as a Musician by Ari Herstand
	Custodians of the Internet: Platforms, Content Moderation, and the Hidden Decisions that Shape Social Media by Tarleton Gillespie
	Design is Storytelling by Ellen Lupton
	#MeToo in the Corporate World: Power, Privilege, and the Path Forward by Sylvia Ann Hewlett
	The Experience Economy: Competing for Customer Time, Attention, and Money by B. Joseph Pine & James H. Gilmore
	The Code: Silicon Valley and the Remaking of America by Margaret O'Mara
	Diversity, Inc.: The Failed Promise of a Billion-Dollar Business by Pamela Newkirk

Reference Materials

	Business Plans Handbook: A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America
	Consumer Behavior 2017-2018 (e-book)
	Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
	Encyclopedia of Technology & Innovation Management
	The Oxford Handbook of Entrepreneurship
	The Routledge Companion to Entrepreneurship (e-book)

Not finding what you need? To search for books at UNB Libraries, you use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Trends

Latest Trends

Entrepreneurship is constantly evolving. A great way for students to stay in the loop with what's current is by scanning a few key sites every morning. Below are links to a few of these sites and newsletters as well as library-subscribed resources:

Tech News

• BetaKit Canadian startup new and tech innovation.
• Entrevestor News on Atlantic Canadian entrepreneurs.
• Huddle Gathering place connecting NB entrepreneurs with jobs and opportunities.
• The Verge Examines how technology will change life in the future for a massive mainstream audience.
• TechCrunch Reports on the business of the tech industry.
• CB Insights - Newsletter CB Insights newsletter offers analysis on venture capital, startups, patents, news and partnerships gleaned from their CB Insights market intelligence platform.

Blogs

• Startup Lessons Learned Entrepreneurship blog created by Eric Ries, the creator of the Lean Startup methodology.

Magazines/Trade Publications

• Atlantic Business
• Atlantic Report (Atlantic Provinces Economic Council)
• Bloomberg Businessweek
• Canadian Business (and archived backfiles)
• Entrepreneur
• Fast Company
• Franchising World
• Forbes
• Fortune
• Inc. Magazine
• MIT Sloan Management Review
• The Economist

Newspapers

• Wall Street Journal
• Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (FP Infomart)
• Globe and Mail
• Barron's
• Financial Times (UK)
• PressDisplay - Newspapers From Around the World

Podcasts

Canadian Podcasts

• Canada’s Podcast
  • Listen to what Canadian entrepreneurs have to say. Canada’s Podcast asks entrepreneurs about their business, what it’s like doing business in the city they operate in, how they are expanding globally, networking events they attend, the advice they’ve received and can pass along to you; how they got started, even where they go to think and so much more.
• Startup Canada Podcast Show
  • On the podcast, Startup Canada speaks with the movers and shakers of Canada’s entrepreneurship community to give a glimpse into the future of business, and share insights on everything from social innovation to the future of work, investing, and why Canadians need to think bigger to take their businesses global. 
• TechTalks
  • These podcast episodes and webinars will educate, inspire and engage Atlantic Canadians in new conversations about technology and how it supports economic growth, builds our workforce and attracts new talent to our post-secondary institutions and region.
• THRIVE
  • From Startup Canada, the THRIVE Podcast for Women Entrepreneurs is all about supporting women to start and build a thriving business. On THRIVE, they connect listeners with leading experts, entrepreneurs, and organizations that provide capital, mentorship, training, tools and other support to help make your vision reality, faster.

International Podcasts

• Accelerate Podcast
  • Hosted by Entrepreneur-in-Residence, Rod Kurtz, at UCLA's Anderson School of Management. 
• eCorner
  • Ideas and research from Stanford University.
• Entrepreneurs on Fire
  • The goal of Entrepreneurs On Fire is to deliver the inspiration and strategies needed to FIRE UP your entrepreneurial journey and create the life you’ve always dreamed of.
• HBR IdeaCast
  • A weekly podcast from Harvard Business Review featuring the leading thinkers in business and management.
• How I Built This
  • From NPR, Guy Raz dives into the stories behind some of the world's best-known companies. How I Built This weaves a narrative journey about innovators, entrepreneurs and idealists—and the movements they built.
• The BizChix Podcast
  • Host Natalie Eckdahl, MBA is a coach to high performing women. She is married with three children ages 4-16. Natalie helps women entrepreneurs own their role as CEO through her business trainings, on-air coaching calls and expert interviews. Learn how to master your mindset, grow as a leader, refine your strategies, build your team and gain visibility in your industry. Natalie is also an expert in outsourcing at home and at work. 
• The Bottom Line
  • From the BBC, Evan Davis hosts the business conversation show with people at the top giving insight into what matters.
• Your First Million
  • A podcast by Arlan Hamilton that goes behind-the-scenes and teaches you how to make your first million dollars, get your first million downloads, or find your first million customers. Arlan is the Founder and Managing Partner of Backstage Capital, has raised more than $10M, and has invested in over 100 companies led by people of color, women, and/or LGBTQ.

@UNB

Entrepreneurship @ UNB

The University of New Brunswick offers a range of entrepreneurship programs and support services both on-campus and off-campus. 

Harriet Irving Library Research Commons

The Research Commons, located on the third floor of the Harriet Irving Library, is a modern, interdisciplinary, research-driven learning environment to further innovation, scholarship and research at UNB.

J Herbert Smith Centre for Technology Management and Entrepreneurship

The programs available at JHSC immerse you into the world of product innovation, creative thinking and technology management. Through experiential learning, pitching competitions, national conferences and a host of personal and professional challenges, their programs will advance your professional potential with applied skills and hands-on experience. Here is where you can learn more about their Diploma and Master programs.

Faculty of Management (Fredericton)

Among some of their entrepreneurial offerings, the Faculty of Management in Fredericton offers an entrepreneurship concentration in their MBA program.

Faculty of Business (Saint John)

The Faculty of Business in Saint John offers an MBA in Entrepreneurship and Technology Management.
 

International Business & Entrepreneurship Centre (IBEC)

Housed within the Faculty of Management in Fredericton, IBEC fosters partnerships between UNB and the business community through experiential learning, research and training. Thanks to these partnerships their programs and events offer many interesting networking opportunities throughout the year.

The Pond-Deshpande Centre

The Pond-Deshpande Centre acts as a catalyst to advance innovation and entrepreneurship in New Brunswick and the region by facilitating collaboration among entrepreneurs, emerging and aspiring companies, students, faculty and alumni.

Wallace McCain Institute

The vision of the Wallace McCain Institute is to be the catalyst that impacts entrepreneurial leaders in the transformation of the Greater Atlantic Area.

Enactus UNB

A student run group that works to solve community issues with entrepreneurial action.

Competitions

Pitch Competitions

University of New Brunswick

• RBC UNBeatable Ideas Competition
• RBC Student Pitch Competition
• BMO Financial Group Apex Business Plan Competition
• CS Square Pitch Competition
• Data Visualization Competition

New Brunswick

• Breakthru

Canada

• BioInnovation Challenge
• Volta's Pitch Competition
• Canada's Business Model Competition
• The Queen's Entrepreneurs' Competition

Developing Your Pitch Presentation

The Elevator Pitch

• Garage Technology Ventures - How to create a value proposition that will dazzle investors
• Mind Tools - Crafting an Elevator Pitch
• Slidebean - Elevator pitch examples from successful startups
• TheStartup - How to Write an Elevator Pitch

The Pitch Deck

• Bplans - The Complete Elevator Pitch Guide
• MaRS Discovery District - How to create a pitch deck for investors
• Venture Hacks - Pitching Hacks (How to pitch startups to investors)
• Slidebean - Pitch Deck examples from successful startups
• Powtoon - Video and presentation creator
• Canva - Pitch Deck Presentation Templates

The Presentation

• McCormack, J. (2014). Brief: Make a bigger impact by saying less. Hoboken, New Jersey: Wiley.
• Morton, S. (2014). The presentation lab: Learn the formula behind powerful presentations. Hoboken, New Jersey: Wiley.

Creating a Business Plan

• Gale Research Inc. (2012-). Business plans handbook: A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, Inc.
• Hauge, P. (2019). The business models handbook: Templates, theory and case studies. London: Kogan Page.
• Ekanem, I. (2017). Writing a business plan: A practical guide. New York, NY: Routledge.
• Finch, B. (2013). How to write a business plan. London: Kogan Page.
• Osterwalder, A., Pigneur, Y., Bernarda, G., & Smith, A. (2014). Value proposition design: How to create products and services customers want. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons.
• Osterwalder, A., Pigneur, Y., & Clark, T. (2010). Business model generation: A handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.
• MaRS Discovery District - Workbook 1: Crafting your value proposition and Workbook 2: Business model design
• Alexander Cowan - The 20 Minute Business Plan: Business Model Canvas Made Easy

Open Resources

Open Resources

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the internet.  Below are a few recommended sites related to entrepreneurship.

Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA) works to create opportunities for economic growth in Atlantic Canada by helping businesses become more competitive, innovative and productive, by working with diverse communities to develop and diversify local economies, and by championing the strengths of Atlantic Canada.

The MaRS Startup Toolkit contains articles, templates, reports, workbooks, reference guides and videos covering a range of topics, including accounting, funding, governance, intellectual property, leadership, legal issues, marketing, product management, selling, social innovation, strategy, and talent.

Kauffman Foundation of Entrepreneurship A collection of resources to help you develop and grow your business.

Startup Canada Entrepreneurs working together to build a Canada for entrepreneurs and give a voice to the Canadian startup community. 

GEM Global Entrepreneurship Monitor GEM is able to provide high-quality information, comprehensive reports, and interesting stories, which greatly enhance the understanding of the entrepreneurial phenomenon. 

Startup Commons: Creating Businesses A collection of selected key knowledge and related tools for specific phases of development within your business creation journey. 

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) has compiled a collection of services and information to help Canadians traverse starting and running a business. 

• Business and industry provides resources for starting and running a business. Topic coverage includes business taxes, hiring, grants, trade, trademarks, etc. 
• R&D and innovation lists funding, collaboration, commercialization and licensing resources to help fuel innovation in Canada.

FoundersBeta The ultimate hub for starting a startup, FoundersBeta provides resources such as startup jobs and a startup forum.