Legal encyclopedias contain narrative summaries of the law supported by references to case law and statutes. They are often the best place to start to gain a general understanding of the law in a particular area.
There are two main legal encyclopedias in law: the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (CED) and Halsbury's Laws of Canada (Halsbury's). CED covers federal, western, and Ontario jurisdictions, and Halsbury's covers all provincial and federal jurisdictions. Both are available in print in the Law Library in the reference section on the first floor.
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
Electronically and in print, the CED has Children (title 25 in vol 8 in print) and Youth Criminal Justice (title 183 in vol 53 in print) titles. You may also find the Family Law titles (vols 26–28 in print) helpful.
Please make sure you check the currency of these titles in WestlawNext Canada, as some of the CED titles can be years out of date.
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
Both in print and electronically, there are Infants and Children (title code HIC) and Family Law (title code HFA) titles available.
Please check the currency of these titles. This resource provides information from each province in Canada, as well as federally.
Journal Articles & Databases
If you already know the journal title, year, volume number and page number for an article, you may be able to access it electronically by searching for the journal's title in the UNB e-journals database. If we have the journal electronically or in print, it will be listed. You can also look up the journal title in UNB WorldCat.
Keep in mind that it can be best to start with an index rather than a full-text journal search. An index is a systematic listing of journal articles by topic. A few indexes in law are listed below, followed by key legal databases.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature (via WestlawNext Canada and Lexis Advance Quicklaw for UNB Law students and faculty)
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature (via campus-wide version of Quicklaw for UNB non-law and STU students: type "Index to Canadian Legal Literature" in search box and add as a search filter)
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (UNB Law faculty and students only)
- WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law faculty and students only)
There are other indexes available in print and electronically, as well as more full-text journal databases. Contact a law librarian for assistance.
Items shown as LAW-RESERVE may be requested at the circulation desk on the first floor of the Law Library. Items shown as LAW-STACKS are on the second floor, and LAW-REF materials are on the first floor in the reference section.
The following books may be useful in your research:
- Child Protection Law in Canada (LAW-RESERVE KF479 .A6 C53; 3 vols)
- Vulnerable Persons: Protection and Remedies in Canada (LAW-RESERVE KF475 .A6 K57 2011)
- Wilson on Children and the Law (LAW-STACKS KF479 .A6 W545 1994)
- Children as Victims, Witnesses, and Offenders: Psychological Science and the Law (LAW-STACKS HV6250.4 .C48 C4556 2009)
- Children and International Human Rights Law: The Right of the Child to Be Heard (LAW-STACKS K639 .P37 2013)
- Child Support Guidelines in Canada, 2015 (LAW-RESERVE KF547 .P39 2015)
Cases & Legislation
The following databases and websites provide access to federal and provincial cases and legislation.
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only)
- Quicklaw (campus-wide version for UNB non-law and STU students and faculty)
- WestlawNext Canada (law students only)
- Justice Laws (Government of Canada federal legislation)
- New Brunswick Legislation (Attorney General)
- Court Services DOJ Transcript Order Form [PDF]
- Court of Queen’s Bench Court Registry Locations
- Canadian Court Records/Dockets (Guide created by the Paul Martin Law Library, University of Windsor)
The following statutes are related to children's law. For statutes not listed, search the databases listed above.
Cases and Decisions
Along with searching the databases above, one can use other products to find case law:
- Canadian Abridgment Digests
A digest service that indexes cases by subject. This is an extremely useful resource. There are Family volumes in print (vols 36 Reissue–47G Reissue) and electronically in WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law students and faculty only).
- Canada Digest
A digest service similar to the Canadian Abridgment. Useful titles include Canada Family Law Digest. It is available electronically through Quicklaw (campus-wide version available to all UNB and STU students and faculty) and Lexis Advance Quicklaw (UNB Law students and faculty only).
- Case Reporters
If you wish to browse the print reporters,there are topical law reports on the second floor. Note: much of this content is retrospective. For current cases/decisions, please use electronic databases (i.e.: WestlawNext Canada, Lexis Advance Quicklaw) when available.
The following case reporters may be helpful:
- Reports of Family Law (vols 1–30 in stacks 269–270; available electronically via WestlawNext Canada)
- Reports of Family Law Reprint Series (vols 1–5 in stack 270; available electronically via WestlawNext Canada)
- Carswell's Family Law Digests (stack 269)
- Family Law Reform Act Cases (stack 269)
- Recueil de droit de la famille (1986–1991 in stack 269)
- Weekly Digest of Family Law (stack 270)
Government departments and agencies publish a great deal of important law-related information. The Law Library's collection of printed government documents is located on the library's third floor. Use UNB WorldCat to search, or ask a library staff member for help.
The Harriet Irving Library also has government documents, which can be located through UNB WorldCat.
For government documents that are available online, try using UNB Libraries' Google Custom Search.
Note: if you include site:gc.ca and filetype:pdf in a Google search, you will retrieve PDF documents from Government of Canada websites. This is a good way to find government reports, as they are usually in PDF format.
The following sites might be useful:
- Government of Canada Publications Search
Federal search engine for government publications.
- Childhood and Adolescence (Public Health Agency of Canada)
The Division Childhood and Adolescence is a focal point for policy development, research, and strategic analysis of trends regarding broad determinants of health regarding children and youth in Canada. Includes publications and information on programs and initiatives.
- First Nations Child and Family Services (Indigenous Services Canada)
ISC provides funding to First Nations child and family services agencies, which are established, managed and controlled by First Nations and delegated by provincial authorities to provide prevention and protection services. Site includes program expenditures and statistics, audit and evaluation reports, and more.
- Social Development: Children & Youth (Government of New Brunswick)
Contains information and reports on adoption and foster care, protection, and related legislation.
- Social Development: Child Protection (Government of New Brunswick)
Contains information on reporting abuse as well as publications related legislation.
Websites & Blogs
The following websites may be helpful for your research:
- New Brunswick Child and Youth Advocate
- Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal
- Canadian Centre for Child Protection
- What Parents Should Know about Child Protection (Public Legal Education and Information Service of New Brunswick)
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 that is made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter. The following pages and documents might be helpful with your research: