Skip to main content

Law, Legal Writing Guide

Introduction

The UNB Law Library has many books on legal writing, including texts on writing in plain language, writing law exams, persuasive writing, and more.

To search for books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat, the library's catalogue. UNB WorldCat contains records of materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Hans W. Klohn Library at UNB-Saint John.

In UNB WorldCat, items shown as LAW-RESERVE and/or LAW-REF are unavailable during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

Items shown as LAW-STACKS can be requested for pick-up or remote delivery. Follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

Note that older versions of texts on reserve may be available in the stacks and thus can be requested for pick-up or remote delivery.

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 

 

Legal Writing – General

On Reserve:

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Stacks (3-week loan)

To request a book from the stacks for pick-up or remote delivery, follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Reference Collection (in-library use only)

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reference Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

Plain Language

Plain language is writing that anyone can easily read and understand, regardless of education and/or background. To avoid "legalese" in your writing, take a look at the following texts. Note that plain language legal writing is also addressed in many of the books in Legal Writing – General.

 

On Reserve

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Stacks (3-week loan)

To request a book from the stacks for pick-up or remote delivery, follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Websites/Online Resources

Pursuasive Writing

Need help preparing a persuasive argument? The following books can help you boost your skills. Note that persuasive/strategic writing is also addressed in many of the books in Legal Writing – General.

 

Books

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

To request a book from the stacks for pick-up or remote delivery, follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Articles

 

Websites/Online Resources

Grammar & Style

Legal documents have their own writing style. The following guides to legal writing, editing, and style can help you improve your writing. Note that legal style, editing, grammar, etc., are also addressed in many of the books in Legal Writing – General.

 

On Reserve

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Stacks (3-week loan)

To request a book from the stacks for pick-up or remote delivery, follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Websites/Online Resources

Court Documents

Need help preparing a memo, factum, or other court document? The following resources can help! Note that preparing court documents is also addressed in many of the books in Legal Writing – General.

 

Books

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

To request a book from the stacks for pick-up or remote delivery, follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Websites/Online Resources

 

Court Rules

In addition to books, check the rules for the court you're writing for. These rules will outline the format, content, etc., of court documents, procedures to follow, and may also provide forms you can use.

Exams & Essays

Writing law exams and papers for the first time can be intimidating. Prepare yourself with the following resources.

 

Books

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

To request a book from the stacks for pick-up or remote delivery, follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Articles

 

Websites/Online Resources

Oral Advocacy

Going to court? Competing in a moot? Make sure you have an effective argument! The following books can help you prepare for the big day. Note that preparing an effective oral argument is also addressed in many of the books in Legal Writing – General.

 

Books

Please note that you will be unable to access books from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic. You can request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

To request a book from the stacks for pick-up or remote delivery, follow the instructions on our Law Library Services for 2020/21 page. You can also request a scan of one chapter/10% of the total page count. Check the table of contents in the item's catalogue record to help narrow down your request.

 

Articles

 

Websites/Online Resources

 

Videos

Please note that you will be unable to access videos from the Reserve Collection during the pandemic.

More Information More Information