ENGL 3104 Shakespeare and Pedagogy Guide

Books & Ebooks

There are many excellent book sources for teaching Shakespeare available on both campuses.  Some books are organized by work, with classroom suggestions for individual acts and scenes.  Other books contain chapters or essays with general teaching strategies and pedagogies that you may wish to use as a framework for your own teaching plan.

The links below will lead you to preset searches of the UNB Libraries book catalogue.  You should also use what you have learned in class and through your reading to reconfigure and reform these keywords to see what else you might discover.

Teaching Shakespeare

Subject - English Drama (Study and Teaching)

Subject - William Shakespeare (Study and Teaching)

Shakespeare AND pedagogy

Article Databases

Most Shakespeare scholarship in English focuses on the study of the texts, rather than their teaching.  As a result, much of the scholarly journal literature for this course will be found in Education journals, whose focus is on teaching and pedagogy rather than the content and interpretation of primary works. The WSB Online is also an excellent resource for teaching Shakespeare, because it includes any and all references to Shakespeare in published works.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
    The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online 'provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1964 and 2005.' (Updated regularly, The WSB Online will eventually contain the complete contents of the print World Shakespeare Bibliography (1950 - 2005), which it replaces).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (EBSCOhost)
    MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

    Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

    The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Literature Online
    Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Free Web Resources

Many of key Shakespeare organizations offer teacher resources or links on their websites.  A small selection of these are listed below:

Royal Shakespeare Company

Stratford Festival

Shakespeare Birthplace Trust

British Shakespeare Association

More Information

  • Phil Taber (Profile)
  • During the COVID-19 online-only course delivery period, I will be helping students with library research via email, AskUs, or Teams. If you schedule a meeting we will hold it remotely by phone or by Teams. Please contact me if you need anything at all.
  • Librarian
  • UNB Saint John
  • philip.taber@unb.ca
  • Librarian
  • Book a virtual meeting
  • Library Hours

Subject Specialties:
Business; English; Economics; Philosophy