ABRG 3363 Guide Ask Us

Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.

Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

This powerful two-volume set provides an insider's perspective on American Indian experiences through engaging narrative entries about key historical events written by leading scholars in American Indian history as well as inspiring first-person accounts from American Indian peoples.

The Atlantic Canada Virtual Archives (ACVA) features collections of digitized documents and images, accompanied by learning activities and commentary, of interest to a wide range of readers.

Published simultaneously in French, this reference work is recognized as Canada's definitive source on biography. The 12th volume completes the first part of the series (1000-1900) and will be complemented by a cumulative index in 1991. Current indexing is unwieldy, with a separate index for Volumes 1-4 and indexes within each of the other volumes. Indexing was expanded with Volume 11 to include a list of identifications (names grouped according to occupational or other characteristics), and a geographical index (names grouped by place of birth as well as place of career). A nominal index is also helpful. The general bibliography is the most interesting feature. Its relevance to North American historical studies has been noted by John J. McCusker in New Guides to Primary Sources in the History of Early British North America. Subsequent volumes are being planned under the editorial direction of Ramsay Cook (York Univ.) and Jean Hamelin. This is an indispensable tool for Canadian reference as well as American historical research collections. Mary Hemmings, Univ. of Calgary Law Lib., Alberta Copyright 1990 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

This A-Z reference contains 275 biographical entries on Native American women, past and present, from many different walks of life. Written by more than 70 contributors, most of whom are leading American Indian historians, the entries examine the complex and diverse roles of Native American women in contemporary and traditional cultures. This new edition contains 32 new entries and updated end-of-article bibliographies. Appendices list entries by area of woman's specialization, state of birth, and tribe; also includes photos and a comprehensive index. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Examines in detail how Native American culture evolved and considers the regional similarities and differences of the arts and crafts created by tribes across the continent.

This three-volume encyclopedia is designed to define the academic study of American Indian religious traditions and to provide a reference that is sensitive to the political and ethical concerns of Native communities. Unlike much previous scholarship, this work attempts to present Native spiritual traditions as the practitioners themselves understand them; contributors are both Native and non-Native. While the complex subject matter is presented in more depth than is typical of dictionary-type references, the entries provide only brief introductions to the subject material. Atypical features include the use of first person narratives, the citation of individual Native elders as authoritative reference sources, and the deliberate omission of subjects that are considered private by Native communities. Entries are listed alphabetically, and the index is located in the third volume. The set includes some maps and black #38; white photographic images. Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Librarians Bastian (Colorado State U.-Fort Collins) and Mitchell (Hawkeye Community College, Iowa) present stories from some of the many native peoples of North America within the context of deities, themes, and concepts. They also survey the major cultural areas of the continent, the first Native Americans, the geography and climate, and the function and types of myth. One section is devoted to time, exploring such topics as cyclical aspects of time, mythic time, the time of transformers and animal people, and myths and historical time. Readers are expected to be non-specialists, and references and suggestions for further reading are provided. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Text in English and Micmac with an abstract in French.

This scarce antiquarian book is included in our special Legacy Reprint Series. In the interest of creating a more extensive selection of rare historical book reprints, we have chosen to reproduce this title even though it may possibly have occasional imperfections such as missing and blurred pages, missing text, poor pictures, markings, dark backgrounds and other reproduction issues beyond our control. Because this work is culturally important, we have made it available as a part of our commitment to protecting, preserving and promoting the world's literature. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Revised edition prepared under the direction of Linda Baier, at the University of New Brunswick Archives, 1995-1996. Index included.

From the Introduction: "This volume contains records of the baptisms, marriages, and deaths of Maliseet and Micmac people living in New Brunswick. ... The collection includes records dating from the 1700s up to 1919."

Clyde Warrior was a Ponca who helped propel the American Indian rights movement in the 1960s. Richard (Skip) Hayward was the Pequot most responsible for starting Foxwoods, the world's largest casino. Chickasaw John Herrington was the first Native American astronaut. Now there's a place to meet them all--and many other noteworthy Native Americans, including Navajo poet Laura Tohe and Luiseno performance artist James Luna.

Born in the U.S. to European immigrants, Bumsted (history, U. of Manitoba) immigrated to Canada 40 years ago as a young adult, and is married to a Welsh immigrant. He has written numerous books and articles on Canadian history. His chronologically- organized reference text describes the gradual shifting of the origins of Canada's immigrants from a few western European countries to the entire spectrum of the Third World, and concludes with diversity issues and situations faced by Canadians during recent decades. Suitable for the general public and students of Canadian history, sociology, and anthropology. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.