Skip to main content

Chemistry Guide

Introduction

About the guide

This guide provides links to resources for Chemistry students and is designed to make navigation quick and efficient.  Quality navigation is critical! It does save you time and effort. If you need help finding information or would like to suggest resources that need to be included in this guide, please contact one of the librarians listed on the side.

Off-campus access to library electronic resources: use UNB proxy server or UNB VPN Client

Off-campus access to Google Scholar: use the link or go to Google Scholar and follow the steps below:

  • click the three lines in the top left corner
  • click Settings
  • click Library Links
  • Search for 'University of New Brunswick', check the box next to the results, and save your settings.

Information sources

pro/sec/ter
Adapted from UC San Diego guide

 

The primary sources are where original research is reported. A primary source gives you direct access to the subject of your research. Over time, this information makes its way into secondary sources, while the tertiary sources are the resources used to search for primary and secondary sources. Primary sources are more credible as evidence, however, good research practice is to use both primary and secondary sources. 

 

 

Articles

When looking for journal articles, a database is usually your best place to start. Databases collect articles from a large number of journals in one place. Below are some recommended databases for research in Chemistry. Check out the Library's complete list of databases for more options.

NOTE: SciFinder, the key database in Chemistry, is very different in functionality from all other library supported databases. You need to create a personal SciFinder account to use this resource. CAS has SciFinder training available if you need help.

Please read this instruction page carefully before using SciFinder for the first time.

Key Resources

  • SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT)
    SciFinder-n is the world's premier chemical information database produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. SciFinder-n indexes over 50,000 journal titles (historical and current) and patent records from 63 patent authorities. You can search documents by topic, author, company name, or document identifier such as DOI; substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. SciFinder-n is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science. SciFinder-n is a collection of 6 CAS databases plus Medline: Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT. Depending on your research, SciFinder-n is complementary to other databases like Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, IEEE. Content includes: journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and meeting abstracts, organic and inorganic substances, DNA and protein sequences, single and multi-step reactions, synthetic preparations, catalog database of commercially available products from chemical suppliers, Markush structures, etc.
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • BIOSIS Citation Index (Including Biological Abstracts)
    BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubChem

    "PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage."

  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Inspec (Engineering Village)
    "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • American Chemical Society (ACS)
    The American Chemical Society promotes research and the advancement of knowledge in Chemistry and Chemistry-related fields. This resource provides us with access to approximately 46 journals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ChemSpider

    A free resource from the Royal Siciety of Chemistry.   It allows structure or keyword searching searching.  It will then link to articles from RSC journals or from Google Scholar.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
    Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • MSDS plus CHEMINFO
    The MSDS database gives access to the most up-to-date (approximately 120,000) Material Safety Data Sheets from 600 North American manufacturers and suppliers. The MSDSs are contributed by North American sources, many from multi-national companies which market chemical products world-wide. MSDS records contain information such as: chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection,fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage and handling. The database can be searched for product names and other product identification, manufacturer or supplier names, date of MSDS, or any term used in the text of the MSDS itself. CHEMINFO provides summarized occupational health and safety information on chemicals. Produced by CCOHS occupational health and safety specialists, each chemical profile uses non-technical language to describe potential workplace hazards and control measures including: a detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, recommendations on topics such as handling and storage personal protective equipment, accidental release, first aid, and hazard classifications for WHMIS, OSHA and the European Union (EU).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
    Provides access to a variety of scholarly journals in chemistry and chemistry-related fields.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)
    RTECS® contains critical toxicological information with citations to over 150,000 chemical substances from more than 2,500 sources, including: international journals, textbooks,technical reports, scientific proceedings and compendia. CCOHS has also added options to search for 400,000+ chemical names and synonyms plus the 120,000+ unique CAS numbers found in RTECS®.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Full-Text Journal Sources

Journal Abbreviations

Sometimes when working with journal articles and citations you will need to know either the full title for an abbreviation or having the full title, you will need to provide a recognized authoritative abbreviation.

Books and Reports

Searching for books at UNB Libraries

To search for print and e-books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat identifies books held by UNB Libraries and beyond. UNB WorldCat has also added millions of articles that are searched along with entries for books. 

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 
Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Browse the library shelves for books in Chemistry:

QD 1-65 General Chemistry
QD 71-142 Analytical Chemistry
QD 146-197 Inorganic Chemistry
QD 241-441 Organic Chemistry
QD 415-436 Biochemistry
QD 450-801 Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
QD 625-655 Radiation Chemistry
QD 701-731 Photochemistry
QD 901-999 Crystallography

Searching for government documents 

For those government documents which are available online, try using Google Custom Search (follow the link below).

googlecustsearch

 

Looking for more? Try the Government Resources by Jurisdiction link (once you are on the webpage, scroll down to see links to all resources), or contact the Government Documents staff for assistance. 

Searching for reports, departmental publications, etc.

Try the Federal Science Library (FSL) information hub. The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets, and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.

Facts & Additional Resources

Chemistry as a discipline relies a lot on facts like material properties, mathematical formulae, and chemical structures. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) that will provide you with reliable sources of this information. You can also check out the Chemical Engineering guide for related resources. If you need additional reference materials, check out UNB WorldCat  or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. The print copy of CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the premier source not only of physical properties data but also of mathematical tables, sources of critical data, chemical nomenclature, symbols, and terminology. It has been published since 1913; and is updated and enhanced annually.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Merck Index

    For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this trusted resource is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

    The Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index* Online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.

  • Dictionary of chemistry, A
    "A Dictionary of Chemistry covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. Clear and concise coverage of laboratory techniques, chemical engineering, and environmental matters, plus entries on such topics as buckminsterfullerene, fullerite, quasicrystal, oscillating reaction, and one-pot synthesis."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Polymers
    Dealing with polymer terminology, this book contains more than 7,500 polymeric material terms, including the names of chemicals, processes, formulae, and analytical methods that are used frequently in the polymer and engineering fields. It also includes an appendix of biochemical and microbiological terms.
  • Hutchinson Trends in Science: Chemistry

    Overview of the development of chemistry in the 20th century.

  • Lange's Handbook of Chemistry

    Revered as the standard reference for chemists for more than 60 years, this new edition of Lange's brings chemistry professionals, students, and anyone interested in science an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. The 15th Edition includes new material on separation methods and analytical chemistry; statistical methods; polymers; rubbers, fats, oils, and waxes; new inorganic compounds; IUPAC nomenclature of organic compounds; updated lists of physical and chemical symbols; definitions and abbreviations; new tables, charts, and illustrations; with SI units used throughout (conversion tables supplied). The American Technical Technologists' Events magaine said of the last edition of this book, "Bargains are rare in the publication arena but this book represents one ... it is just overflowing with useful information that is available at your beck and call." Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • MSDS plus CHEMINFO

    Safety measures for handling of chemicals and hazardous substances.

  • CPS Full Access (formerly RxTx)
    CPS Full Access is an easily searchable tool that includes the electronic versions of the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association’s annual Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties and the content from their Therapeutic Choices. These resources provide a thorough and centralized overview of many drugs, drug therapy and clinical tools.
    718 simultaneous users (as of Feb 2020)
  • ACS Guide to Scholarly Communications

    The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. The guide is an excellent resource for all academic researchers. The following topics are included:

    Scientific Communication: Different ways scientists communicate; Ethics; Safety; Intellectual property; Open Access and more …

    Scientific Journals: Best practices; Selecting a scientific journal; Organizing your research article; Submission procedures; Peer review; Post-submission procedures

    Data in the Google Era: Data in Google era; Data sharing; Chemical Structures in Google era; Digital chemical data; Digital biological data

    Scientific Style Conventions: Graphics & multimedia; Tables; References; Chemical conventions; Chemical structures; Chemical compound nomenclature

    Editorial Style Conventions: Effective writing & word usage; Grammar, punctuation & spelling; General style conventions; Numbers, math & units of measure
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Chemistry : Foundations and Applications [SCI-REF QD4 .C48 2004 vols. 1-4]

    Designed for high school and beginning undergraduate students as well as popular readers, these well-organized, thoughtfully written volumes provide accessible entries on the people and processes of chemistry. Each entry includes cross referencing of names and terms, a list of bibliography and internet sources. Definitions of terms within each entry are provided in the margins, as are (less frequently) boxes with additional information and illustrations. For chemicals, elements, and their properties entries provide the history of discovery as well as description of its properties and uses. For elements the melting point, boiling point, density, and most common ions are listed. Many biographies are included among the entries, with care to include women chemists and physicists, as are concepts and applications that are found in everyday life. Among the latter are entries on global warming, food irradiation, gardening, glass, recycling, water quality, and various applications in medicine. Each volume includes a glossary and an index. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Dictionary of Organic Compounds [SCI-REF QD246 .D5 1982 vols. 1-5]

    The Formula Index and Name Index are separate volumes.

  • Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds [SCI-REF QD411 .D53 1984 vols. 1-3]

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet.  Below are some recommended sites:

Periodic table sites 

Physical properties and spectra sites

Other Chemistry Related sites

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document the "pedigree" of your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Chemistry is ACS Style. Your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

Zotero and  Mendeley are popular citation management programs that can help you manage your references and can produce bibliographies in hundreds of styles. Watch the video on How to Use Mendeley Desktop (UNB users only) or explore the Mendeley Reference Manager guide to learn how to use the program.  

Journal Abbreviation Sources

Theses and Dissertations

What is a thesis?

A thesis or dissertation is an original document submitted in support of candidature for an academic degree or professional qualification presenting the author's research and findings. (International Standard ISO 7144: Documentation-Presentation of theses and similar documents) 

In Canada and the US, a thesis is a project that marks the end of a Master's (MSc) program, while the dissertation is produced at the end of a doctoral (Ph.D.) program. In some universities, however, a dissertation and a thesis are seen as the same thing. 

Finding a thesis and dissertation 

Canada

UK

France

Russia

International 

Use the following sites to browse theses and dissertations from around the world: 

More Information More Information

Subject Specialties:
physics, chemistry, biology, biophysics, biochemistry, medical biophysics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, geology, forestry