Creativity Resources for a Healthy Mind Guide

eBooks

Welcome!

This guide provides a short collection of freely available creativity resources to help you maintain a healthy mind during the global crisis caused by the COVID-19 virus. This collection is meant to provide you with inspiration for meaningful strategies and activities to take on during this time. 

Open Access & Free Access to eBooks

Apple Books, an app available on Apple devices, is providing access to "free books for everyone, from kids to adults." To access, open the Apple Books app on your Apple device and go to the "Book Store". There will be a link to the free books. Take advantage while you can as it is not clear how long the free access will last. 

The National Emergency Library has been announced by the Internet Archive. It is a collection of books that supports remote teaching, research, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries have closed their physical spaces.

Directory of Open Access Books provides a directory of academic, peer-reviewed open access books.

epubBooks.com provides free public domain ebooks that you can download in the EPUB format.

Google Books has book previews and full-text ebooks. Full-text ebooks are out of copyright or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce. 

Hathi Trust Digital Library is a repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. 

Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books. (From the creators of the National Emergency Library, listed above.) 

Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free ebooks that are out of copyright in the United States. 

NCBI Bookshelf has free online access to ebooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare. 

Open Textbook Library contains 700+ open textbooks. 

OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. 

Open Book Publishers contains freely available ebooks and e-textbooks in the humanities and social sciences. 

Project Muse contains open access e-journals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies. 

DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) contains a collection of peer-reviewed open access ebooks. 

Mason OER Metafinder provides a real-time, simultaneous search of 21 different sources for open educational resources. 

OpenStax publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online.

Wikipedia Editing

Wikipedia Editing

Many individuals are very familiar with Wikipedia but have you ever considered contributing to it? Wikipedia is a wiki, meaning anyone can edit almost every page and immediately improve the content. 

Curious about what it means to contribute to Wikipedia? Check out their information page on how to comprehend, comment on, and edit Wikipedia. 

If you're ready to jump right in here is a how-to-guide on editing Wikipedia.

The Rochester Institute of Technology Library has also created a YouTube video with editing basics for Wikipedia

Museums & Galleries

Museums & Galleries

Hyperallergic has selected its top 12 museums and galleries that are now offering virtual tours and online collections. 

The Wall of Birds Project is a one-of-a-kind celebration of the world of birds. Envisioned by Cornell Lab ornithologists to showcase biodiversity and evolutionary change, the project features 270 species from all surviving bird families accompanied by a ghostly parade of extinct ancestors. Visit the online interactive feature to explore the mural through high-resolution images, learn the basics about each of the bird families of the world, and explore collections of some of the most impressive and outrageous birds on the planet.

Writing & Creating

Writing & Creating

Notion is an all-in-one workspace for your notes, tasks, wikis, and databases. They offer a free account for academic users with an institutional email address so make sure to sign-up using your university email address. 

Wattpad connects a global community of 80 million readers and writers through the power of story. Share your unique voice and story on Wattpad and leverage their writing resources to perfect it. 

More Information

  • Sally Armstrong (Profile)
  • During the COVID-19 online-only course delivery period, I am available for research support through email or Microsoft Teams. You can book a meeting with me using the link below.
  • Entrepreneurship Librarian
  • UNB Fredericton
  • sally.armstrong@unb.ca
  • 506-447-3017
  • Follow
  • Book a virtual meeting