Drama Guide

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Drama. For other databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
    "MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Drama. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Encyclopedias, Etc database.

Key Resources

  • McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama [HIL-REF PN1625 .M3 1984 vols. 1-5]
  • Oxford Dictionary of Plays, The [HIL-REF PN1625 .P38 2007]

    "This authoritative guide provides accounts of the 1,000 most important, best-known, and most popular plays of world theatre. Invaluable for students and teachers of drama, everyone who loves going to the theatre, and anyone - amateur or professional - who is looking for a play to put on." "Features: provides a summary of each play's plot, and a commentary on its context and performance history; includes details of setting, genre, authorship, and cast; plays are arranged in A-Z order for accessibility, while a classified contents list helps the reader to find the information they need; and appendices include an index of playwrights and an index of major characters."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Play Index [HIL-REF PN1721 .P53]

    Textual holdings: 1949/52 - 1998/2002

  • Theatre Language : A Dictionary of Terms in English of the Drama and Stage from Medieval to Modern Times [HIL-REF PN2035 .B6]
  • Cambridge Guide to Theatre, The
    see also [HIL-REF PN2035 .C27 1995]

    Updated and significantly revised, this is the most comprehensive guide to theatre currently available.

  • Drama Dictionary, The [HIL-REF PN2035 .H585 1988b]
  • International Dictionary of Theatre [HIL-REF PN2035 .I47 1992 vols. 1-2]
  • Oxford Companion to Canadian Theatre, The
    see also [HIL-REF PN2301 .O93 1989]
  • Cambridge Guide to American Theatre, The [HIL-REF PN2221 .C36 2007]

    "This new and updated Guide, with over 2,700 cross-referenced entries, covers all aspects of the American theatre from its earliest history to the present. Entries include people, venues and companies scattered through the U.S., plays and musicals, and theatrical phenomena. Additionally, there are some 100 topical entries covering theatre in major U.S. cities and such disparate subjects as Asian American theatre, Chicano theatre, censorship, Filipino American theatre, one-person performances, performance art, and puppetry. Highly illustrated, the Guide is supplemented with a historical survey as introduction, a bibliography of major sources published since the first edition, and a biographical index covering over 3,200 individuals mentioned in the text."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Oxford Companion to American Theatre (3rd ed.), The [HIL-REF PN2220 .B6 2004]

    In order to incorporate new information into Bordman's reference without the volume filling up with gaps or becoming too heavy to lift, playwright Hischak (State U. of New York-Cortland) has shortened and combined existing entries rather than dropping them entirely whenever possible. More plays, musical, and people are included, but also new entries on such topics as Asian American theater, gay and lesbian theater, the redevelopment of 42nd Street, solo performances, road tours, AIDS, participatory theater events, and various New York theater companies. Entries of plays include plot summaries and sample reception. Extensive cross-referencing substitutes for an index. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800, A
    see also [HIL-REF PN2597 .H5 vols. 1-16]
  • Complete Catalog of Plays and Musicals [HIL-REF PN6120 .A4 D7ax]

    Textual holdings: 1992/93 -

    Supplemental textual holdings: 1996/97, 2002/03 -

  • Dictionary of Shakespeare, A [HIL-REF PR2892 .W43 2005]

    This concise, illustrated dictionary of Shakespeariana, compiled by one of the best-known authorities on his works, contains alphabetically arranged entries guiding the reader to a wealth of information on all aspects of Shakespeare in his own time and on his impact and influence on later ages. Stanley Wells provides clear entries on: Shakespeare's life and times, the sources and early publication of his works, their performance history on stage and screen, actors such as Edmund Kean and Kenneth Branagh, and writers especially associated with them, operas and other musical works deriving from them, theaters, editions, international Shakespeare organizations--in short, on all aspects of Shakespearean interest. The volume is complemented by a series of striking pronouncements about Shakespeare over the ages from Jane Austen to Bernard Levin, tables providing interesting facts about the plays, famous documents bearing Shakespeare's signature, and a useful guide to further reading. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • American Drama to 1900 : A Guide to Information Sources [HIL-REF PS345 .M48]
  • American playwrights since 1945 : a guide to scholarship, criticism, and performance [HIL-REF PS351 .A795 1989]

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat

Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals, government publications, etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area.

  • English Theatrical Literature, 1559-1900: A Bibliography, incorporating Robert W. Lowe's 'A Bibliographical Account of English Theatrical Literature', published in 1888 by James Fullarton Arnott and John William Robinson
    HIL-REF PN2585 .A76 1970
  • Drama by Women to 1900: A Bibliography of American and British Writers
    HIL-REF PS332 .D38
  • Critical Analyses in English Renaissance Drama: A Bibliographic Guide
    HIL-REF PR651 .S35 1991
  • British Theatre: A Bibliography, 1901 to 1985
    HIL-REF PN2581 .C38 1989
  • Drama by Women to 1900: a Bibliography of American and British Writers
    HIL-REF PS332 .D38 1992
  • Ten Modern Irish Playwrights: A Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography
    HIL-REF PR8789 .K55

Additional bibliographies can be found through the library catalogue.

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat or select from our list of other library catalogues. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. See the Using the Web module of UNB LILT (Library Information Literacy Tutorial) for more details. Below are some recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Drama is MLA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

Find Films

You may require audiovisual recordings of theatrical productions, or you may be looking for film adaptations of theatrical works.  Below are some recommended resources for finding those formats.

Key Resources

  • Theatre in Video
    Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Kanopy
    Kanopy provides access to over 7,000 films covering a broad range of subjects courtesy of distributors such as the Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, BBCActive, and many others.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Films on Demand
    Note: UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection and FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection. Not all films listed are viewable. Videos are in Flash format. Includes 5,500+ educational titles and over 60,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • NFB Campus (National Film Board of Canada)
    NFB Campus offers access to over 2,500 Canadian film productions, including 500 new titles added just for classroom use.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

More Information