Engineering and Computer Science - Library Video Tutorials Guide

About the Video Guide

About the video guide 

Welcome to the library video guide for Engineering and Computer Science faculties.

During Corvid 19 pandemic learning environment, our information landscape is always changing, so this guide will never be definitive or comprehensive. It is best considered as the starting point for viewing library videos and finding information resources and services that would be useful for students and faculty, rather than a "one stop shop" for all library content and services.

Moreover, this video guide is intended to help you find library video content that will support your academic needs, such as finding scholarly sources of information and finding library services that are available to students and faculty.

This library video guide will also connect students and faculty to other related videos from internal (UNB) and external sources which would be beneficial to learning, teaching and to the research process.

If you need immediate research help, please contact Saran Croos, Engineering and Computer Science Librarian (saran.croos@unb.ca) or the Ask Us (askus@unb.ca)  

Meet Your Librarian

Saran Croos  - Engineering and Computer Science Librarian

 

STEM Virtual Office

Getting Started

About this page: 

The following video tutorials are a great starting point in terms of finding/using library services, but it does not cover the full range of services available at UNB Libraries. Please contact the Engineering and Computer Science Librarian, Saran Croos, (saran.croos@unb.ca) to learn about other library services that you may need.

Getting started video tutorials:

Success starts at your academic library by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 3:52)

Overview of UNB Libraries' website by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 3:21) 

How to make a research help appointment with me? by Saran Croos (Stream - 1:53) 

How to install the UNB Libraries' VPN? by Saran Croos (Stream - 2:21) 

Introduction to UNB WorldCat by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 3:52) 

How do I find a book? by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 3:11) 

How to do a curbside pickup for print materials? by Saran Croos (Stream - 3:41)

How to do a Document Delivery? (Currently Digital Resources Only) by Saran Croos (Stream - 3:19) 

How to do a document Delivery by using Libraries Worldwide? by Saran Croos (Stream - 5:18)

How to look up course reserves? by Saran Croos (Stream - 2:51) 

How to find e-Books at UNB Libraries by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 6:18) 

How to find an eBook by using UNB Libraries' catalogue? by Saran Croos (Stream - 4:18) 

How to renew checked out books online? by Saran Croos (Stream - 2:18) 

How to locate library subject guides? by Saran Croos (Stream - 4:07) 

 

 

 

 

Database Searching

About database searching tutorials

The video tutorials on this page are for commonly used top article & research databases in Engineering and Computer Science and it lists video tutorial content from UNB Libraries as well as the publishers. UNB Libraries offer extensive databases for Engineering and Computer Science research areas. For the full list of relevant databases please follow the below links:

Computer Science | Chemical Engineering | Civil Engineering | Mechanical Engineering | Electrical Engineering | Computer Engineering | Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering | Geological Engineering | Software Engineering

The video tutorials on this page focus on basic searching aspects of databases as well as, a single function. In order to explore the full range of features and advance capabilities, please contact Saran Croos, Engineering and Computer Science Librarian. 

Database searching basics (tutorials):

Introduction to article database searching at UNB Libraries by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 6:06) 

How to find article databases using a research guide by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 1:33)

How to find journal articles by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 3:37)

Boolean operators and database searching by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 3:17)

Scopus: 

How to find peer-reviewed articles from Scopus database? by Saran Croos (Stream - 6:36)

Scopus tutorial: how to conduct a basic search by Elsevier (YouTube - 2:57) 

Scopus tutorial: how to use advanced search by Elsevier (YouTube - 3:07)

Scopus tutorial: how to analyze your search results by Elsevier (YouTube - 2:38)

Scopus tutorial: how to search for an author and view their profile by Elsevier (YouTube - 2:54)

Scopus tutorial: how to download and export your search results by Elsevier (YouTube - 2:29)

Inspec (Engineering Village): 

How to find articles, conference papers, technical reports from the Inspec database? by Saran Croos (Stream - 7:35)

Engineering Village getting started series: quick search by Elsevier (YouTube - 2:11) 

Engineering Village getting started series: search results by Elsevier (YouTube - 2:57)

Engineering Village getting started series: the record page by Elsevier (YouTube - 2322)

Tutorial numerical data search on Engineering Village by Elsevier (YouTube - 3:00)

IEEE Xplore: 

How to find IEEE articles and conference papers from IEEE Xplore Digital Library? by Saran Croos (Stream - 6:42) 

Basic search in IEEE Xplore V2 by IEEE (YouTube - 4:19) 

Advanced search in IEEE Xplore V2 by IEEE (YouTube - 4:28)

Browsing journals, magazines and conference proceedings by IEEE (YouTube - 3:59)

Content Alerts in IEEE Xplore V2 by IEEE (YouTube - 2:26)

Saving a search in IEEE Xplore V2 by IEEE (YouTube - 1:56)

ACM Digital Library:  

How to find articles, conference papers, technical magazines and books from the ACM Digital Library? by Saran Croos (Stream - 7:41) 

The New ACM Digital Library: User and Administrator Training by ACM (YouTube - 39:03)

ACM DL Training Videos - Author Profile Pages by ACM (YouTube - 9:21) 

Computer Source Index: 

How to find peer-reviewed articles from Computer Source Index? by Saran Croos (Stream - 6:43)

Introduction to EBSCOhost by EBSCO (YouTube - 4:17) 

EBSCOhost Basic Search by EBSCO (YouTube - 2:12) 

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching by EBSCO (YouTube - 2:38) 

Reading an Article on EBSCOhost by EBSCO (YouTube - 2:07) 

Creating a Search Alert in EBSCOhost by EBSCO (YouTube - 1:28) 

Google Scholar: 

How to use Google Scholar and connect to UNB Libraries’ resources? by Saran Croos (YouTube - 5:04) 

Google Scholar by UNB Libraries 

Theses and Dissertations: 

How to find recent UNB Theses and Dissertations? by Saran Croos (YouTube - 4:17) 

 

Reference Sources

About reference sources

This page has video tutorials for two of the most commonly used online reference resources for Engineering and Computer Science (AccessEngineering and CRCnetBASE). These two resources are great for getting definitions, specific facts or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources that you will find in these resources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. For more help, please contact Saran Croos, Engineering and Computer Science Librarian.

Video Tutorials:

How do I find reference material? by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 2:24) 

How to find reference material from AccessEngineering Database? by Saran Croos (Stream - 6:17)

AccessEngineering Database by McGraw-Hill (YouTube - 2:00) 

New AccessEngineering Tutorial by McGraw-Hill (YouTube - 3:58) 

AccessEngineering Distance Learning Webinar by McGraw-Hill (YouTube - 39:46) 

How to find a reference source from CRCnetBASE? - (Taylor and Francis Group eBooks) by Saran Croos (Stream - 5:14) 

Taylor & Francis eBooks (new platform) by Taylor & Francis (YouTube - 2:15) 

Citing References

Academic Integrity @ UNB 

Introduction to Academic Integrity (Part I) by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 4:20) 

Plagiarism and How to Use Sources with Integrity (Part II) by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 5:52)

Citation Elements: How to Read a Citation by UNB Libraries (YouTube - 4:25) 

Zotero (Reference Management Software) 

Zotero Guide by UNB Libraries

Zotero Tutorial by Richelle Witherspoon (YouTube - 35:22)

Mendeley (Reference Management Software)

Mendeley Workshop by Tatiana Zaraiskaya (Stream - 50:10) 

Patents & Standards

Patent searching video tutorials:

How to search for Patents? by UCF Libraries (YouTube - 7:25) 

How to find the patent guide and overview? by Saran Croos (Stream - 6:17) 

How to find a Canadian patent from the CIPO database? by Saran Croos (Stream - 7:48) 

How to find a U.S patent from the USPTO database? by Saran Croos (Stream - 6:49) 

How to find patents in the Scopus database? by Saran Croos (Stream - 5:18) 

Standards searching video tutorials: 

How to find the standards guide and overview? by Saran Croos (Stream - 3:53)

How to find CSA Standards? by Saran Croos (Stream - 8:32) 

Introduction to ASTM Compass by ASTM (YouTube - 1:23) 

Videos in Compass Webinar w/ Q&A by ASTM (ASTM Website - 14:49)

 

 

 

 

More Information

  • Saran Croos (Profile)
  • During 2020/21 academic year, due to COVID-19 online course delivery period, I am available for research support and library related help through email or Microsoft Teams. You can book a meeting with me using the link below (Research Help).
  • Engineering and Computer Science Librarian
  • UNB Fredericton
  • saran.croos@unb.ca
  • 506-458-7959
  • Research Help
  • UNB Libraries
  • Library Hours

Subject Specialties:
Engineering and Computer Science