Skip to main content

ENGL 3722 CliFi (SJ) Guide

Get Started

How do I get started? 

We created this guide to help you work through the research process for your assignment. Use the different tabs to help you at the various stages of your work:

Learn about a topic Use the listed resources and tips to find and read background info on a topic. This will help you choose and narrow down your topic to find articles.
Find Science Articles Use the article databases to search for science journal articles related to your topic.
Find Philosophy & Political Science Articles Use the article databases to search for journal articles in philosophy and political sciences related to your topic.
Cite your sources Use the listed resources to help you accurately credit and reference authors' work in your assignment.
Get help Use the info listed to contact me when you have questions or need help.

Learn About a Topic

How do I find background information and learn more about a topic?

To get started, it can be helpful to learn more information about a topic before jumping right into searching for journal articles. Doing some background research and reading can save you time and help you find ways to narrow your topic down. Background research can be done through quick Google searches and reading credible websites, looking at e-book chapters, or encyclopedia entries. 

e-Books for Background

Articles (popular science magazines)

Reputable Websites

Find Science Articles

How do I find articles for my assignment?

1. Search the databases or individual journals below using keywords related to your topic to find relevant articles:

  • Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
    The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources. The coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).

    Content Types: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
    Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

2. Scan through the results, reading the title/abstracts to find potentially relevant articles. Redo your search with different keywords if you're not finding what you want. 

3. Find a few articles that look promising and skim read the introduction/conclusion of the full-text to decide if they're useful for your assignment. 

How to read a scientific paper from the American Society of Plant Biologists

anatomy of a scientific article

If a PDF or link to the full-text isn't readily available, click on the check for full text link  to see if we have it in our collection.  

Find Philosophy & Political Science Articles

How do I find articles for my assignment?

1. Search the databases below using keywords related to your topic to find relevant articles:

  • Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
    The Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Année philologique
    L'Année philologique (APh) is the most comprehensive international index to scholarly research in Classical Studies from prehistory to 800 A.D. The web version covers a wide variety of subjects including archaeology, ancient history, language, literature, law, philosophy, religion, science, and technology. APh currently indexes over 400,000 bibliographic records to journal articles, books, conference papers and book reviews from 1949 onward.
    3 simultaneous users.

2. Scan through the results, reading the title/abstracts to find potentially relevant articles. Redo your search with different keywords if you're not finding what you want. 

3. Find a few articles that look promising and skim read the introduction/conclusion of the full-text to decide if they're useful for your assignment.

If a PDF or link to the full-text isn't readily available, click on the check for full text link  to see if we have it in our collection.

Cite Your Sources

Style Guides & Helpful Resources

important to noteScience sources are typically cited in APA (American Psychological Association) so be cautious of copying citations directly from them.

Use the parts of the APA citation to rewrite them in MLA. 

 

MLA citation style guides

MLA Handbook

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Get Help

How do I get help if I need it?

The research process and searching for articles can be challenging sometimes. We don't expect you to know everything or "get it" after one presentation from a librarian. Once you start working you may realize you need a refresher or some guidance on your specific topic. Part of our job is helping students, so you're not bothering us at all if you need to reach out. 

You have a few ways to get in touch with us for help. We're available regular work weeks, Monday-Friday between 9:00am - 4:00pm (AST). 


You can also reach out anonymously through UNB Libraries' Ask Us chat. This service is staffed evenings and weekends. 

More Information More Information

  • Phil Taber (Profile)
  • During the COVID-19 online-only course delivery period, I will be helping students with library research via email, AskUs, or Teams. If you schedule a meeting we will hold it remotely by phone or by Teams. Please contact me if you need anything at all.
  • Librarian
  • UNB Saint John
  • Librarian
  • Book a virtual meeting
  • Library Hours

Subject Specialties:
Business; English; Economics; Philosophy


  • Alex Goudreau (Profile)
  • I provide research help via email, Teams, or virtual meetings (book a time using the Research Help link)
  • Science & Health Sciences Librarian
  • UNB Saint John
  • she/her/hers
  • Research Help