Ask Us Criminology Guide

Additional Resources

• Encyclopedia of Murder & Violent Crime [HIL-REF HV6515 .E5323 2003]

  In a seemingly endless parade of specialized encyclopedias, editor Hickey (California State Univ., Fresno) has compiled a valuable and comprehensive work whose nearly 500 entries range from "Aeronautical Mass Murder" to the "Zoot Suit Riots." Among the diverse topics covered by over 100 professionals are documented cases of serial killers, organized crime, cyberstalking, the death penalty, ethnic cleansing, and terrorism. In addition, the text boasts many fact-filled special-interest sidebars; a convenient, easy-to-use "Reader's Guide"; comprehensive bibliographies for every article; and appendixes listing key criminological theorists, serial killers, and organized crime groups. This book is written to appeal to a wide audience, which is appropriate: the public is greatly interested in the subject. Recommended for all public libraries.-Tim Delaney, SUNY at OswegoCopyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

• Encyclopedia of Social Measurement [HIL-REF HA29 .E525 2005]

  Written by experienced methodologists in various fields of the social sciences, the 356 alphabetically arranged, signed entries in this encyclopedia describe the "research questions social scientists ask, the sources and methods they use to collect information, and the techniques they use to analyze these data and provide answers to the important questions."

• Encyclopedia of Social Theory
  see also [multiple locations HIL-REF HM425 .E453 2006]

  Social theory occupies a central role in today's debates in such sociology-related disciplines as anthropology, political theory, political economy, media and cultural studies, feminist theory, and post-colonial studies. Heading a large team of international scholars, Harrington (sociology, U. of Leeds, UK) introduces some 500 entries by noting that the encyclopedia's emphasis is on concepts, themes, debates, and schools of thought rather than on personalities (thus accounting for the lack of photos). Signed entries ranging from about 300 to 2,500 words cover connotations of "action" to contemporary Slovenian theorist Zizek, Slavoj. They include references, cross-references, and further reading. The detailed index facilitates searches. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Encyclopedia of White Collar & Corporate Crime [HIL-REF HV6768 .E63 2005 vols. 1-2]

  Using a broad definition of white-collar crime that is both sociological and legalistic in nature, Salinger (Arkansas State U.) presents an encyclopedia meant to provide college, public, or high- school library users with legal and historical information about white-collar crime--particularly in the contemporary United States. The 500 or so alphabetical entries cover specific companies and individuals as well as legal and thematic topics which fall under categories such as business fraud and crimes, consumers, countries and regions, criminology and justice, financial and securities fraud, medical and healthcare fraud, political scandals, pollution, products, regulation, scams and swindles, war-profiteering, and work-related crimes. The encyclopedia also contains a brief timeline and appendixes providing a glossary, summaries of laws, and a bibliographical guide to additional research. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Forensic Science (vol. 1-3) [HIL-REF HV8073 .F5837 2009 v.1 - v.3]

  This 3-volume encyclopedia goes far to satisfying the reader's curiosity in all aspects of forensics, with entries on such topics as coroners, DNA typing, improvised explosive devices, Napoleon's death, voiceprints, and tattoo identification. The 460 articles, arranged alphabetically, cover the specialties of forensic science, professional organizations, related fields, investigative techniques and technologies, crime scenes, law, and the stories of historic crimes and forensic mysteries. The articles were authored by academics and scientists at universities and other institutions, mainly in the US. A glossary, guide to internet resources, guide to television programs, key figures in forensic science, time line, and a bibliography--as well as category and subject indexes--are included in V.3.

• International Encyclopedia of Communication Online
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
  see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
  Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
  
  UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Oxford Reference
  Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
  5 simultaneous users.
• World Police Encyclopedia [HIL-REF HV7901 .W64 2006]

  Containing articles on each member state of the United Nations, as well as the non-member nation of Taiwan, this encyclopedia put together by Das (criminal justice, Grambling State U.) offers a global comparison of the world's national police systems. Each entry follows a common organizing principle, first presenting background historical and statistical information, followed by discussion of contextual features such as the political structure of the government of the country and information on crime, the criminal justice system, and penal codes and prisons. The primary section of each entry covers the history and development of the police system, demographic profiles of the police force, organizational structures, police powers and functions, training requirements, public outreach programs by the police (if they exist), laws and regulations related to police firearm use and ownership, police accountability regarding citizen complaints and human rights, police response to terrorism, and international cooperation. When applicable a section on police education, research, and publications is included, providing an overview of higher education for police, leading researchers, funding for police research, police research publications, and police-related websites. Each entry also includes with a bibliography of cited sources and suggestions for further reading. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.