Education, Adult Guide

Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended databases for research in Adult Education. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

UNB Libraries subscribes to a number of adult education journals, both in print and online. 

Some examples of adult education journals include:

Books

 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Searching UNB WorldCat for e-Books using the example of Research Methods in Education:
http://youtu.be/9SszJiPnTvY

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat.

 

Document Delivery

For resources not available through UNB Libraries or if you are a distance education student.

http://www.lib.unb.ca/requests/docdel/

More on services for distance education students-->


ebrary e-books

Click here to fulltext search our most extensive e-book collection

 

To browse the shelves for books in Adult Education, try the following range:

LC 5201 - 6660.4Adult Education, Continuing Education


Encyclopedias etc.

Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.

To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook").  Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.

Key Resources

  • Handbook of Adult Development [multiple locations HIL-REF BF724.5 .H36 2003]

    Includes sections on introductory theory and method, biocognitive development in adulthood, and social development in adulthood. By soliciting contributions from leading theoreticians and researchers in the field of adult development, this volume presents theory and research on this subfield of developmental psychology.

  • Handbook of Complementary Methods in Education Research [HIL-REF LB1028 .C577 2006]

    In this successor to Complementary Methods for Research in Education (1987), Green (U. of California., Santa Barbara) and colleagues at other U.S. universities introduce this volume as a continuation of the commitment by the American Educational Research Association to professional development. The editors launch the 46 chapters by addressing "what's complementary about complementary methods" in education research, emphasizing epistemic and methodological plurality. Other contributors address the field's philosophical, epistemological, and ethical issues; range of quantitative and qualitative methods; theory-to-practice challenges; and the impact of policy on education. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of Online Learning: Innovations in Higher Education and Corporate Training [HIL-REF LB2395.7 .R83 2002]
    Chronicle of Higher Education article about the handbook: http: //chronicle.com/free/2002/08/2002081301t.htm" "The Fielding Institute authors apply an impressive wealth of organizational management theory and experience in their analyses of computer-mediated teaching and learning. The result is an enjoyable-to-read, fresh and lively book, delivering an abundance of ideas about how to establish a supportive learning environment, design a well structured course and manage electronically mediated dialog, -- in other words, how to successfully facilitate learning in the new context of on-line distance education." #62; Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
    Table of Contents

  • International Encyclopedia of Adult Education [HIL-REF LC5211 .I56 2005]

    English (adult education, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada) compiles 171 entries, by authors on six continents, in this reference for scholars, graduate students, and practitioners in adult education. Contributors define the field and raise key questions for the 21st century, exploring terms, theories, movements, and concepts in the field, as well as strategies, institutions and organizations, and areas of practice. Entries are 1,000-3,000 words long, and include cross-references and extensive bibliographies. Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • International Handbook of Higher Education
    see also [HIL-REF LB2322.2 .I58 2006 pts. 1-2]

    The purpose of this publication is to provide a central, authoritative reference source on the most essential topics of higher education. The International Handbook of Higher Education combines a rich diversity of scholarly perspectives with a wide range of internationally derived descriptions and analyses. Chapters in the first volume cover central themes in the study of higher education, while contributors to the second volume focus on contemporary higher education issues within specific countries or regions.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Video Tutorials

Conducting and managing literature searches

The video series below reviews essential resources, services, and strategies available from UNB Libraires for conducting and managing literature searches.

Library online resources for coursework, series introduction:

https://vimeo.com/158528573

Locating UNB Libraries Resources:

Where you will find us on the web (though, technically, you already have):
https://youtu.be/48vV96IpmLc

ERIC

Covers the basics of locating and using ERIC on the EBSCO platform:
https://youtu.be/k-ma9DVy_YQ

Dissertations and Theses

Search and retrieval of PhD Dissertations and Masters Theses in full text:
https://youtu.be/XTnZQJ41rMQ

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to Zotero:
https://youtu.be/o9MPPm8l2zo

eBooks

Locating and viewing eBooks in the UNB Libraries collection; includes downloading and installing the Adobe Digital Editions eBook reader:
https://youtu.be/HXkEgJX9Lz0

Document Delivery

How to submit a request for the full text (i.e., content) of articles to which UNB Libraries does not provide access. "Document delivered" articles are sent to you via email links.
https://youtu.be/etp_tDFdEiY

What is a Distance Education Librarian for, anyway?

A brief look at my support responsibilities with regards to your academic success:
https://youtu.be/Z9FI20FSpy4

Forming a search using search operators

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign1.pdf

Citing Sources

RefWorks

If you are still using RefWorks to track citations, you have ONLY until August 2017 to export your content before UNB cancels its subscription. Please consult our RefWorks guide for migrating your content.

 

Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

 

Citations

Ask Us

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44