Skip to main content

Clinical Resources (FR/FR) Guide

I need to know...

We designed this guide to support you in your clinical practica and point you towards the resources you need most. 

Clicking on any of the 'I need to know...' questions will take you to the section of the guide with the resources you need. 

You can also just skip ahead to the tab you need if you already know what you're looking for.

 

I need to know...

... what the results of a specific diagnostic test mean

... about the purpose, dosage, and considerations for a specific drug

... how to perform a physical assessment for a specific population / need / disorder

... some broad, basic information on a topic (a definition, brief explanation, etc)

... more about a diagnosis or condition

... how to learn about / assess an organization or population

... about current practice guidelines

... about patient safety practices

 

 

General Information

General Information

Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary

A quick look up tool for general medical language / terminology

UpToDate - available online or as a downloadable app

Quick information about diagnosis, clinical practice, and point of care considerations

Contains clinician-level information as well as patient-friendly handouts for many disorders

 

Physical Assessment

Physical Assessment

Bates' Physical Assessment Videos

Series’ of shorter videos

Covers both general and system/organ specific physical assessment

Clinical Skills Resources

Dermatological resources for skin of colour

** Many resources teaching about dermatological disorders provide visual examples that feature primarily caucasian skin tones.  This links below features examples of what certain dermatological disorders look like in skin of colour.

  • Mind the Gap: A handbook of clinical signs in black and brown skin
  • Skin Deep: Open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones.

Drug Information

Drugs

Davis's drug guide for nurses

Comprehensive drug information

Guidance for safe administration

Nursing implications

CPS - available online or as a downloadable app

Formerly known as RxTx

Comprehensive drug information

Canadian measurements, names, and considerations

(Video produced by the University of Ottawa Libraries)

Micromedex

Only available at Horizon sites through Skyline.

Comprehensive drug information

IV drug interactions

Pediatric and neonatal considerations

(Video produced by USC Libraries)

Diseases, Diagnoses & Labs

Diseases and Disorders

UpToDate - available online or as a downloadable app

Quick information about diagnosis, clinical practice, and point of care considerations

Contains clinician-level information as well as patient-friendly handouts for many disorders

Nurse's pocket guide: diagnoses, prioritized interventions, and rationales

Information for selecting the appropriate diagnosis to effectively plan patients' care

 

Diagnostic Test Resources

Davis's comprehensive manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests with nursing implications

Tests and procedures in alphabetical order

Index searching using abbreviations, synonyms, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test type

List of common tests for each body system

 

 

Community Health

Community Assessment

Community Toolbox: Toolkits to help you get a quick start on key activities in community work.  Select the work closest to what you are doing to see an outline of key tasks, examples, and links to more detailed instructional sections.

Tamarack Institute: The Tamarack Institute develops and supports collaborative strategies that engage citizens and institutions to solve major community issues across Canada and beyond.

 

Community Information

Quick How-To Videos:

Canadian Content Searching: A brief introduction to how to find Canadian information from reliable sources.

Community Health and Data: A brief introduction to how to find NB information from reliable sources.  This may be supplemented by the DLI Nesstar handout mentioned at the end of the video.

Websites:

Government & Major Organization Websites: Many major organizations, especially ones related to national and global health, produce reports that can be used to supplement the information you obtain in peer-reviewed research. You can find additional resources on the Health (Government Information) Guide.

Health Statistics: UNB Libraries has a page devoted to the many different sources and types of statistics that are available for your use.  Click here to access our Data Services page.  For some specific health-related website, try some of the links listed below.

Practice Guidelines and Patient Safety

Practice Guidelines

Horizon uses a mobile app called Firstline to share practice guidelines.  For information about Firstline and how to download it, visit https://firstline.org/horizon/.

 

Patient Safety

There are many resources that promote / offer guidelines for patient safety.

  • Canadian Patient Safety Institute 

  • ISMP Canada 

    • https://www.ismp-canada.org 
    • The Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada is an independent national not-for-profit organization committed to the advancement of medication safety ... 

Instructor / Preceptor Resources

Resources for Clinical Instructors and Preceptors

This guide offers a non-comprehensive list of library books and other resources created to support you as clinical instructors and preceptors.  In order to best support your work, I have prioritized digital tools (ebooks and websites) in this guide, but please don't hesitate to also visit the library website and look for additional materials and print resources.

If you have any questions, would like help locating additional resources, or want access to a book that isn't already in the library collection, please don't hesitate to contact me (Richelle Witherspoon) at rwithers@unb.ca.

Clinical teaching strategies in nursing  (ebook)

This book encompasses current trends in health care and nursing education with expanded content on ways to maximize the clinical learning experiences of nursing students, use new technologies in clinical teaching, teach and evaluate student performance, and address ethical and legal issues in clinical teaching. New content covers topics such as establishing and using dedicated education units, integrating simulation with clinical education, using new technologies for clinical learning, teaching and evaluating performance in distance education, promoting interprofessional education in clinical setting.

Simulation scenarios for nursing educators : making it real (ebook)

When employed as a substitute for real clinical time, simulation scenarios have proven effective in bridging the gap between theory and practice. Written by educators for educators, this book provides all the knowledge, skills, and tools needed to make simulation feasible, enjoyable, and meaningful for students. In this edition, there are 25 new chapters, 20 of them scenarios for all levels and specialties, and 11 of those representing interprofessional education and team training. This acclaimed text for nursing faculty provides detailed, step-by-step guidance on all aspects of clinical simulation.

Teaching in nursing and role of the educator : the complete guide to best practice in teaching, evaluation, and curriculum development (ebook)

With essential, updated content for novice and experienced nurse educators this evidence-based text delivers the full scope of knowledge necessary for novice and experienced faculty to become competent teachers in nursing. The only book to focus on the full academic role, it encompasses all of the key concepts required for effective teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, becoming a scholar in nursing education, and much more.

The role of the nurse educator in Canada (ebook)

This book is a reference guide for new and experienced Canadian nurse educators teaching in academic and clinical contexts. It is intended to guide educators with information on theories and philosophies of teaching and learning, information on assessments and evaluation, in-class teaching strategies, and current trends in the Canadian nursing education landscape. It is a collection of chapters from the biggest names in Canadian nursing education research and is published by the representative body for Canadian schools of nursing.

Mastering precepting: a nurse’s handbook for success (ebook)

Nurse Preceptors have the power to make or break a career, and good ones can inspire a nurse to achieve greatness. But effective precepting programs depend on two critical groups – the nurses who support, teach and coach and the nurses who organize and manage the program. Beth Ulrich – nationally recognized for her research in work environments and transitional experiences of new graduate nurses – brings both groups the knowledge, tools skills and wisdom for success. Written for staff nurses and their managers, Mastering Precepting: A Nurse´s Handbook for Success helps nurse preceptors learn how to teach and also to seek the support they need to be effective. For Managers, it emphasizes the importance of providing nurse preceptors with positive and supportive experiences.

Creative clinical teaching in the health professions (ebook)

This peer reviewed e-book is a must-read for nurses and other health professionals who strive to teach with creativity and excellence in clinical settings. Each chapter presents current evidence informed educational practice knowledge. Each topic is also presented with text boxes describing ‘Creative Strategies’ that clinical teachers from across Canada have successfully implemented. For those who are interested in background knowledge, the authors provided a comprehensive literature base. And, for those interested mainly in 'what to do,' the text box summaries offer step-by-step directions for creative, challenging activities that both new and experienced instructors can begin using immediately.

Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (website)

CASN/ACESI  (Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing/Association canadienne des écoles de sciences infirmières) is the national voice for nursing education, research, and scholarship and represents baccalaureate and graduate nursing programs in Canada.

More Information More Information

Subject Specialties:
Nursing, kinesiology, and psychology.