When searching for journal articles, a database is usually the best place to begin. Databases collect articles from a large number of journals in one place.
Key Resources
-
Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I -
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Additional Resources
-
Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
AGRICOLA "provides U.S. and international coverage of information sources in agriculture, life sciences and related fields. Based on the U.S. National Agriculture Library collection."
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
ASFA : aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
-
BIOSIS citation index
BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas.
-
Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources. The coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
Content Types: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio. -
Forrester Research
Use of this product is restricted to students, faculty and staff of the University of New Brunswick and requires login with a *current UNB Login ID*.
Forrester Research is a global research and advisory firm specializing in information and communication technologies (ICT) in the following areas: IT infrastructure, networking, software, eCommerce, digital marketing and cybersecurity.
Faculty, staff or students interested in IT assessment, digital transformation, applications development, IT trends, emerging technologies and their impact on businesses and consumers will find Forrester's reports offer important insights to your research.
-
GeoRef
GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."
-
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1935 and earlier to present