Skip to main content

SOCI 2365 Guide

Class Presentation

Barry’s in-class slideshow video, an introduction to library research for Sociology of Death and Dying (SOCI 2365), is on YouTube

Sociology Library Research Intro

 

Journal Articles

When searching for journal articles, a database is usually the best place to begin. Databases collect articles from a large number of journals in one place. 

Key Resources

  • Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Books

Books

UNB WorldCat identifies ebooks and print books, as well as a selection of the millions of articles available at UNB. Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available from another institution through our document delivery service.

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 

 

 

 

Government Reports

Government Reports

Try using the Google Custom Search to find Canadian government documents, and reports from other governments:

googlecustsearch

Looking for more? Contact the Government Documents staff for assistance. You could also try the Canadian Federal Science Library (FSL) information hub. The FSL allows you to search the repositories of seven federal science-based departments and agencies.

Citing Sources

 

UNB WorldCat, Sociological Abstracts, SocINDEX. and many other databases automatically cite selected references in APA and other standard formats. 

Look for the “cite” option within the database. This will allow you to simply copy and paste references into your assignment. 

You should double-check that this automatic process works correctly for each of your references, by comparing each automatically-formatted reference to an example in the APA Manual at the library (HIL-REF and SCI-REF BF 76.7 .P83 2020), or a website such as Purdue University's OWL APA site. Or contact the UNB Writing Centre for individualized help with citing your references.

Remember that the whole point of a reference list is to tell the reader (your prof) what type of source it is (book, article, etc.), and to enable them to find it quickly. Consistency in your reference list is therefore very important.

You may also want to try Zotero and Mendeley, popular citation management programs that can help you manage your references and can produce bibliographies in hundreds of styles. 

 

A Message from Barry

A personal video message from Barry, with his holistic advice for students, can be found on YouTube.

For hiking and exploration inspiration, check out Barry's Instagram or public Facebook posts.

 

Welcome from Barry

 

More Information More Information