When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended databases for research in Adult Education. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases page of the library website.
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest) Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- ERIC - EBSCO ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- PsycINFO PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
UNB Libraries subscribes to a number of adult education journals, both in print and online.
Some examples of special education journals include:
- Annals of Dyslexia – Also in print: LB1050.5 .O7a HIL-STACKS
- Australasian Journal of Special Education
- British Journal of Special Education
- European Journal of Special Needs Education
- Exceptional Children – Also in print: LC3950 .J68 HIL-STACKS
Focus on Exceptional Children
- Gifted Child Quarterly – Also in print: LC3991 .G46 HIL-STACKS
- Gifted Child Today – In print: LC3991 .G23 HIL-STACKS
- Gifted Education International – In print: LC3991 .G544 HIL-STACKS
- International Journal of Special Education
- Journal of Early Intervention – Also in print: LC4019.2 .J68 HIL-STACKS
- Journal of Learning Disabilities – Also in print: LB1134 .J68 HIL-STACKS
- Journal of Special Education – Also in print: LC4001 .J6 HIL-STACKS
- Journal of Special Education Technology
- Learning Disabilities Research and Practice
- Learning Disability Quarterly – Also in print: LC4704 .L424 HIL-STACKS
- Remedial and Special Education – Also in print: LC3950 .E92 HIL-STACKS
- Roeper Review – Also in print: LC3991 .R64 HIL-STACKS
- Teacher Education and Special Education – In print: LC3950 .T42 HIL-STACKS
- Teaching Exceptional Children – Also in print: LC3950 .T4 HIL-STACKS
- Topics in Early Childhood Special Education
Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.
To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook"). Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education [HIL-REF LC4007 .E53 2002]
Now available in an affordable paperback edition, this is a revised edition of the highly acclaimed and definitive concise reference on special education. It includes alphabetized entries that cover the gamut of special education research and practice, featuring dozens of biographies, reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, and more. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities [HIL-REF LC4704.5 .T86 2002]
This update of the 2002 edition is introduced by Harris (psychologist, South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice; Converse College), who traces the history and changing terminology and criteria for what is now called learning disabilities. He and Turkington (a medical writer/editor) present some 600 entries covering key topics from 'ability grouping' to 'zone of proximal development.' Entries treat the latest legislation, assistive technology, assessment and educational approaches. The encyclopedia includes a glossary and an outstanding resource directory including government and other national sources of information and aid; assistive technology sources; hotlines; and print literature for those with LD, professionals, and parents. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of school psychology [HIL-REF LB1027.55 .E523 2005]
Lee (U. of Kansas) emphasizes the role of school psychologists as consultants, and one of this encyclopedia's goals is to introduce non-specialists to the scope of psychology applied to education. It can also serve as a reference for practitioners and vocational counselors. For ease of use, the comprehensive contents are listed both alphabetically and by subject area. About 250 entries by a large team of contributors from relevant disciples cover topics from assessment to technology. Some topics that general readers may not expect include diseases such as cancer and HIV/AIDS, divorce adjustment, and home schooling. Entries, some enhanced by case examples and summary tables, are referenced and cross-referenced. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals [HIL-REF LC4007 .E53 2007 vols. 1-3]
The "Third Edition" of the highly acclaimed "Encyclopedia of Special Education" has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the "Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition" addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties [HIL-REF LC4801 .H345 2005]
Clough (education, Queen's University, UK) provides an overview of theoretical and philosophical approaches to pupils with emotional and behavioral difficulties (EBDs) and their realization in both policy and provision. Contributions from significant authors in the field of EBDs are organized in sections on context and terminology, roots and causes, strategies and interventions, and points of tension and development. Specific topics include building school-wide behavior interventions, teaching social skills to students with specific EBDs, and the educational relevance of a biopsychosocial perspective. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- SAGE handbook of dyslexia [HIL-REF LB1050.5 .S195 2008]
pt. 1: Neurological/genetic perspectives. The origin of dyslexia: The asynchrony phenomenon / Zvia Breznitz --
Some special issues concerning the genetics of dyslexia: revisiting multivariate profiles, comorbidities and genetic correlations / Jeffrey W. Gilger --
The neurobiological basis of dyslexia / John Stein --
Dyslexia and the cerebellum / Angela J. Fawcett and Roderick I. Nicolson --
Familial predictors of dyslexia: Evidence from preschool children with and without familial dyslexia risk / Dennis L. Molfese ... [et al.] --
Early identification and prevention of dyslexia: results from a prospective follow-up study of children at familial risk for dyslexia / Heikki Lyytinen with Jane Erskine ... [et al.] --
pt. 2: Cognitive and learning perspectives. Exploring heterogeneity in developmental dyslexia: a longitudinal investigation / Frank Manis and Caroline E. Bailey --
Rediscovering dyslexia: new approaches for identification classification / Richard K. Wagner --
Learning, cognition and dyslexia / Roderick I. Nicolson and Angela J. Fawcett --
A review of the evidence on morphological processing in dyslexics and poor readers: a strength or weakness? / S. HeÌï¿½leÌï¿½ne Deacon, Rauno Parrila and John R. Kirby. pt. 3: Educational influences. Reading intervention research: an integrative framework / William E. Tunmer and Keith T. Greaney --
Assessment of literacy performance based on the componential model of reading / R. Malatesha Joshi and P.G. Aaron --
The definition of learning disabilities: Who is the individual with learning disabilities? / Linda D. Siegel and Orly Lipka --
Students with phonological dyslexia in school-based programs: insights from Tennessee schools / Diane J. Sawyer and Stuart Bernstein --
Individual tutoring for struggling readers: moving research to scale with interventions implemented by paraeducators / Patricia F. Vadasy and Elizabeth A. Sanders --
Dyslexia friendly primary schools: What can we learn from asking the pupils? / Mary Coffield ... [et al.] --
Dyslexia and learning styles: overcoming the barriers to learning / Gavin Reid and Iva Strnadova --
Dyslexia and inclusion in the secondary school- cross curricular perspectives / Moira Thomson --
Dyslexia and self-concept: a review of past research with implications for future action / Robert Burden --
Role of parents / Gavin Reid, Shannon Green and Corey Zylstra --
pt. 4: Dyslexia and different languages. Dyslexia in different orthographies: variability in transparency / John Everatt and Gad Elbeheri --
Dyslexia and foreign language learning / Michael Dal --
pt. 5: Beyond school. Adults with learning disabilities and self-disclosure in higher education and beyond / Lynda A. Price and Paul J. Gerber --
Dyslexia: workplace issues / Gavin Reid, Fil Came and Lynda A. Price.
- Handbook of Gifted Education [HIL-REF LC3993.9 .H35 2003]
Written by well-known scholars in the field, Handbook of Gifted Education is the most complete text in the field of gifted education and contains an excellent balance of research and practical applications.
- Handbook of Learning Disabilities [HIL-REF LC4704 .H364 2006]
This comprehensive handbook reviews the major theoretical, methodological, and instructional advances that have occurred in the field of learning disabilities over the last 20 years. With contributions from leading researchers, the volume synthesizes a vast body of knowledge on the nature of learning disabilities, their relationship to basic psychological and brain processes, and how students with these difficulties can best be identified and treated. Findings are reviewed on ways to support student performance in specific skill areas--including language arts, math, science, and social studies--as well as general principles of effective instruction that cut across academic domains. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Test Development [HIL-REF LB3051 .H31987 2006]
Encyclopedic in scope, this research-oriented handbook serves both developers and consumers by considering the behind the practice and making both accessible. The 32 articles work as chapters, covering the foundations (such as effective development, standards, contracting for test services, evidence-centered design, and preventing fraud), content (validity evidence, credentialing examinations) item development (computer item banking, editing and review, fairness), test design (practical issues, vertical scales, pass-fail tests), test protection and administration and post-test activities such as technical reporting and evaluation. Each chapter includes a comprehensive bibliography and the editors have provided author and subject indices. One of the most interesting chapters addresses the issue of consumer-accessible item and prompt development. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- SAGE Handbook of Special Education [HIL-REF LC3965 .S24 2007]
Florian (inclusive and special education, U. of Cambridge, UK) gathers together recent scholarship in 40 chapters by scholars in education from around the world, with a focus on English-speaking countries. The handbook aims to reach an international audience and is intended as a sourcebook on special education, looking specifically at responses to students' difficulties in learning or working with those who have disabilities. Special education is treated as a form of provision and an area of research rather than as categories of learning difficulties. Sections cover theory and how needs are understood, the challenge of inclusion, the production of knowledge, teaching strategies and approaches, and future directions for research. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Special Educator's Comprehensive Guide to 301 Diagnostic Tests [HIL-REF LC4019 .P53 2006]
Pierangelo (graduate special education, Long Island U.) and Giuliani (special education, Hofstra U.) provide a guide to tests used in the diagnosis of disabilities in children and adolescents. The guide serves as an update to Special Educator's Complete Guide to 109 Diagnostic Tests. Tests for disabilities related to intelligence, perception, language, academic achievement, psychosocial behavior, social maturity, ADHD, anxiety and depression, hearing, autism, English as a second language, development, reading, and others are described, but not provided. Areas covered by each test are detailed, in addition to how to understand a student's behavior during testing, and reporting results to parents. Each test discussed in terms of strengths, and publisher and other information is supplied. The book is intended for educational diagnosticians, teachers, and other special education professionals. No index is included. Jossey-Bass is an imprint of Wiley. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Searching UNB WorldCat for e-Books using the example of Research Methods in Education:
Books and other materials not available at UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat.
|LC3950-4806.5||Exceptional children and youth. |
|LC3991-4000||Gifted children and youth.|
Children and youth with disabilities.
Conducting and managing literature searches
The video series below reviews essential resources, services, and strategies available from UNB Libraires for conducting and managing literature searches.
Library online resources for coursework, series introduction:
Locating UNB Libraries Resources:
Where you will find us on the web (though, technically, you already have):
Covers the basics of locating and using ERIC on the EBSCO platform:
Dissertations and Theses
Search and retrieval of PhD Dissertations and Masters Theses in full text:
Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to Zotero:
Locating and viewing eBooks in the UNB Libraries collection; includes downloading and installing the Adobe Digital Editions eBook reader:
How to submit a request for the full text (i.e., content) of articles to which UNB Libraries does not provide access. "Document delivered" articles are sent to you via email links.
What is a Distance Education Librarian for, anyway?
A brief look at my support responsibilities with regards to your academic success:
Forming a search using search operators
For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations) ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
If you are still using RefWorks to track citations, you have ONLY until August 2017 to export your content before UNB cancels its subscription. Please consult our RefWorks guide for migrating your content.
Zotero for citation management
A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here: