UNB Theses and Dissertations
For well over 100 years, UNB has offered graduate degrees which have had thesis requirements. Please consult the information below to learn more about how these UNB theses and dissertations are made available in various formats.
UNB Scholar: Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Collection
UNB's institutional research repository, UNB Scholar, includes theses and dissertations submitted to UNB from 2010 to the present. Since electronic submission was optional for graduate students until January 2019, this is not a comprehensive collection of all UNB Theses. Researchers are urged to check the library catalogue for the most complete record of UNB theses and dissertations in print, microfilm, and electronic formats. The collection present in the UNB Scholar Research Repository represents continuing collaboration between the School of Graduate Studies, the Centre for Digital Scholarship, and UNB Libraries.
UNB Thesis Collection
UNB Thesis Collection, held in Archives & Special Collections (location=HIL-SPECAR) on the 5th floor of the Harriet Irving Library, comprises preservation (i.e. print) copies of more than 7000 Master’s theses and Doctoral dissertations, from c. 1890 to the present, accepted by the School of Graduate Studies, and constitutes an invaluable research resource. Theses from Archives & Special Collections can be located by searching the library catalogue, UNB WorldCat. Theses are available for in-house consultation only, and may not be borrowed, or requested on Inter-Library Loan. Limited photocopying may be permitted. Readers are encouraged to use the fiche copy of a thesis available in the Microforms Collection or print copies found in other locations.
The Microforms Collection, located in the basement and on the fifth floor of the Harriet Irving Library, holds copies of UNB theses in one of two formats and locations: microfiche (location=HIL-MICF) and microfilm (location=HIL-MIC). Titles are searchable in the WorldCat library catalogue. Although print copies of theses are searchable in WorldCat within 6 months after submission to the School of Graduate Studies, it may be up to two years before a Microforms Collection copy is available.
Theses written before 1973 may not be in microform; however, print copies are available in the UNB Thesis Collection.
Theses Canada was launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools, and is a collaborative between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and Canadian universities. Theses Canada provides free access to Canadian digital theses and dissertations, and bibliographic records for non-digital theses and dissertations in LACs collections.
The libraries have copies of UNB undergraduate theses, also known as 5th year theses or Senior Reports, for some of faculties and departments. They can be located using the WorldCat library catalogue as follows,
- Faculty of Computer Science: add the keywords Senior Reports to the other keywords used in your search (limited coverage),
- Faculty of Engineering : add the keywords Senior Reports to the other keywords used in your search (there is limited coverage for some departments),
- Faculty of Forestry and Environmental Management: use the Advanced Search feature to limit the Location to SCI-FORF, and add the keyword BSCF to any other keywords used. To browse the collection, search for the keyword BSCF alone. Available from the Science & Forestry Library upon request. Please ask circulation desk staff for assistance.
Please note that UNB undergraduate theses are not routinely available for Inter-Library Loan or for copying.
UNB Scholar also includes records, as well as limited full-text, for selected undergraduate theses. Consult the "Senior Reports" collection in UNB Scholar for more details.
Dissertations and Theses from Any University
Many universities keep digital copies of dissertations and theses in their institutional repositories and these can be searched at the institutional or geographic level or by using a meta search platform such as:
- EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service : UK Theses) EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitization.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Global ETD Search has over 6.2 million records, searchable by subject, creator, title, institution, etc.
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 6,339,869 theses and dissertations.
- DART Europe E-Theses Portal DART-Europe was founded in 2005 as a partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe E-theses Portal is managed by UCL Library Services.
- Ebsco Open Dissertations: OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research. This new collaboration extends the work started in 2014, when EBSCO and the H.W. Wilson Foundation created American Doctoral Dissertations which contained indexing from the H.W. Wilson print publication, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-1955. In 2015, the H.W. Wilson Foundation agreed to support the expansion of the scope of the American Doctoral Dissertations database to include records for dissertations and theses from 1955 to the present.
More Information More Information
- Joanne Smyth
- Director, Collections Strategy and Scholarly Communication
- UNB Fredericton
- Book a meeting with me!