Omeka @ UNB Guide Ask Us

Omeka is an open source content management system for individuals, classes, and institutions managing a sharable resource pool across multiple sites.  These resources can include various media types, from 2D and 3D images to video.  UNB Libraries supports faculty and student projects in Omeka, providing a range of services intended to support their teaching and learning, research, and knowledge mobilization objectives.

Omeka is a Digital Scholar project, originally launched at the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media with funding from multiple organizations. 

Locally hosted Omeka

UNB Science Fiction and Fantasy showcase
On our Saint John campus, UNB Libraries holds one of the most significant collections of SFF in an academic setting. The collection includes rare original pulp magazines from as early as 1926, pulp novels, classic novels by the greats of SFF, and the most significant works being published in these genres today. Thousands of items are available to circulate, while those in the special collection and the serials are restricted to in-library use. This page showcases some of the more notable items in the collection.

Archival Wonder Showcase
A growing repository of 3D artifacts sourced from UNB Archives & Special Collections, using Sketchfab 3D manipulation embeds

UNB in 30 Podcast
Students internviewing students on 30 minute journeys toward 2030

Filmmaking at UNB
The UNB Archives serves as a valuable resource for filmmakers, researchers, and enthusiasts alike, providing access to a diverse collection of historical documents, photographs, films, and other materials. These resources shed light on the rich cultural heritage of New Brunswick and offer unique insights into the province's filmmaking history.

Omeka Sites from around the web

1918 Flue Epidemic in Utah - https://exhibits.lib.utah.edu/s/1918-flu-pandemic-in-utah/page/welcome

Baltimore Uprising - https://baltimoreuprising2015.org/

Hearing the Americas - https://hearingtheamericas.org/s/the-americas/page/welcome

SpeakOut - https://exhibits.library.dartmouth.edu/s/SpeakOut/page/home

Coming soon.

UNB Libraries Omeka S site is found here: https://exhibits.lib.unb.ca

Contact Marc (mbragdon@unb.ca) or Erik (ecmoore@unb.ca) to register for an account to get started.  Building an Omeka site is not difficult but the interface and process are not necessarily intuitive at a glance.  Below are basic instructions to build a site, and bear in mind there are many supplementary options for customization and enhancement.  Please feel free to reach out to Erik or Marc with questions and requests.

Step 1: Add a site

Step 2: Fill in the appropriate fields (Title, URL slug, Summary), add a logo ("Thumbnail"), then click the “Theme” tab to select a layout.

Choose the desired theme and click "Add".

Step 3: In "Site admin" to the left, click "Pages"

Step 4: Click the “Welcome” page’s pencil icon to create/ make edits to the home page.

Step 5: Add your homepage Title, URL “slug” (suitable, explicative stem) and the desired text under “HTML.” Once completed, click “Save.”

Step 6: Add various media objects by choosing options in the right side panel. "Assets", for example, allows you to add images to the page.

Step 7: To add more pages, go back to the “Pages” tab (in left panel menu) and, from the top right corner, click “Add new page” and then following the same procedures as Steps 5 and 6.

Step 8: Creating Items (e.g., Ppictures. videos, hyperlinks, embedded widgets such as YouTube etc.) - Under “Resources” in the left panel click “Items”.

Step 9: At the top right of the screen, select “Add new item.”

Step 10: Add a Title, Description, and Class (optional), and then click "Media".

Choose the media type linking from the right side bar (in this example, we have chosen "Upload"), effect the appropriate linking (here we are uploading a file from the computer) and click "Save" in the upper right corner.

Step 12: Adding items and other elements to a site page: Select the pencil icon associated with the page.

Step 13: Choose the element you wish to add to the page from the "Block" menu to the right. In this case we have chosen "Item with metadata". Select said item and then click "Save", noting that several elements or blocks can be added to and arranged on a page.