Ask Us Classics Guide

Additional Resources

• Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition [HIL-REF DF77 .E54 2000 vols. 1-2]

  This two-volume encyclopedia explores Greece and the Greeks for the 3500 years of their recorded history. It is restricted to the history and culture of the Greeks themselves, and does not focus on the Hellenic tradition in global terms or the influence that Hellenism has exerted on other cultures.

• Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome [HIL-REF DG75 .A35 2004]

  Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome, Updated Edition provides in-depth, easy-to-understand information on all areas of Roman life, moving from the eighth century B.C. to the fifth century A.D., spanning more than 1,200 years. Organized thematically, each chapter includes an extensive bibliography as well as site-specific photographs, line drawings, and maps, more than 175 in all. Clear, authoritative, and well-organized, Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome, Updated Edition provides a unique look at a society whose art, literature, law, and engineering have profoundly influenced the development and shape of Western civilization throughout the Middle Ages and the Renaissance and up to today. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Oxford handbook of social relations in the Roman world [HIL-REF HN10 .R7 O94 2011]

  The study of ancient Roman society blossomed in the 1970s. By now, we possess a very large literature on the individuals and groups that constituted the Roman community, and the various ways in which members of that community interacted. There is, however, no overview that takes into account the multifarious progress that has been made in the past thirty or forty years.

• Oxford handbook of warfare in the classical world [HIL-REF U29 .O93 2013]

  This handbook gathers 38 leading historians to describe, analyze, and interpret warfare and its effects in classical Greece and Rome.

• Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC) [HIL-REF N7760 .L49 vols. 1-8]

  A multi-volume set that offers information concerning the iconography of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythologies.

• Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion, The [HIL-REF BL723 .O936 2003]

  Unique in its coverage of both Greek and Roman myths and religious life in ancient times The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion is the first A-Z reference work of its kind. From Abaris to Zoroaster the Dictionary provides invaluable information not only on the mythologies of Greece and Rome but also on festivals, religious places, monuments, personnel, divination, astrology, magic, Judaism, Christianity, regional religions, and 'mystery cults' in the Graeco-Roman world. Offering quick, accessible information in short entries and longer detailed entries on the legends and rituals of classical antiquity, this wide-ranging reference work is the ideal resource for students and teachers of ancient history and religion, and anyone fascinated with the classical period. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity [HIL-REF DE5 .N3513 2002 vols. 1-15]

  Updating and translation of Pauly's Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft.

• Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome [HIL-REF DE5 .O95 2010 v.1-7]

  v. 1. Academy-Bible -- v. 2. Bilingualism and multilingualism-Dura-Europos -- v. 3. Earthquakes-Hetaera -- v. 4. Hippocratic Corpus-Mosaics -- v. 5. Mos Maiorum-Posidonius of Apamea -- v. 6. Postal service-Teleology -- v. 7. Temples-Zoology ; Topical outline ; Index.

• Encyclopedia of Religion, The [HIL-REF BL31 .E46 1987 vols. 1-16]

  Includes bibliographies and index.

• Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (ThesCRA) [HIL-REF BL727 .T48 2004]

  A multi-volume reference work on various aspects of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman cults and rituals.

• Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World [HIL-REF G1033 .B3 2000]

  "Quite simply the most important and most complicated project to be undertaken in classical studies this generation."--NEH reviewer "This atlas provides us with a vital missing tool. It is a model of creative planning, and will be absolutely indispensable."--C. Nicolet (Sorbonne, Paris)

• Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Greek and Roman Women: Notable Women from Sappho to Helena [HIL-REF HQ1136 .L54 2000]

  Hailing from all corners of the ancient Greek and Roman worlds, the women profiled here are notable for their own accomplishments as well as their family ties. More than 400 A-to-Z entries tell the life stories of women from all walks of life -- from poets, wives, and mistresses to rulers, slaves, and businesswomen. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
  Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Who's who in the classical world
  "Based on the highly praised Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, this is the ideal reference book for anyone interested in the classical world and its literary heritage. It gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Oxford Reference
  Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
  5 simultaneous users.
• ARTstor
  Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

  Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.

• Ancient Greece vols. 1-3
  Survey of Greek history, culture, and civilization from its earliest archaeological remains until the Battle of Actium (31 B.C.E.), when Greek civilization merged with Roman to become Greco-Roman civilization. Includes coverage of major personages, wars, political, and cultural subjects.
• Readings in Late Antiquity: A Sourcebook [HIL-REF DG78 .M22 2010]
• Greek and Roman sexualities : a sourcebook [HIL-REF HQ13 .L37 2012]

  This volume provides readers with a substantial selection of primary sources documenting sexualities, sexual behaviors, and perceptions of sex, sexuality, gender, and the body among people in the ancient Greco-Roman world.

• Greek-English Lexicon, A [HIL-REF PA445 .E5 L6 1948 vols. 1-2]
• Oxford Latin Dictionary [HIL-REF PA2365 .E5 O9 vols. 1-2]
  The authoritative dictionary for Classical Latin updated and redesigned.
• Pocket Oxford Latin dictionary (Latin-English), The
  "This practical dictionary is designed specifically to meet the needs of students in their first years of studying Latin, as well as those with an interest in the Latin language or the classical world."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Pocket Oxford Latin dictionary (English-Latin), The
  "This practical dictionary is designed specifically to meet the needs of students in their first years of studying Latin, as well as those with an interest in the Latin language or the classical world."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Handbook for Classical Research [HIL-REF DE71 .S27 2011]

  Offers guidance to students needing to learn more about the different fields and subfields of classical research, and its methods and resources. This book is divided into 7 parts: The Basics, Language, The Traditional Fields, The Physical Remains, The Written Word, The Classics and Related Disciplines, The Classics since Antiquity.

• Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines [HIL-REF PA99 .W44 2003]

  The problem that led Wellington (classics, U. of Cincinnati) to compile the reference is that colleagues and journals in her and related disciplines tend to make up their own bibliographic abbreviations without letting anyone in on what they mean. So, she has identified abbreviations scholars are most apt to run across. She updates and expands the 1983 edition by doubling the entries, expanding the titles referred to, enlarging the field covered, integrating Internet abbreviations, and including more regional historical and archaeological publications and eastern European titles. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.