Ask Us History, Ancient Guide

Additional Resources

• Encyclopedia of Archaeology : History and Discoveries [HIL-REF CC100 .E54 2001 vols. 1-3]

  Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasure-house of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.

• Dictionary of world history, A
  "This up-to-date dictionary contains clear, concise, and detailed entries covering 4,000 years of world history. It includes biographical entries on hundreds of key figures, from Alexander the Great to Bill Clinton, Elizabeth I to Nelson Mandela, Moses to Tony Blair. There are subject entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Who's who in the classical world
  "Based on the highly praised Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, this is the ideal reference book for anyone interested in the classical world and its literary heritage. It gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome [HIL-REF DE5 .O95 2010 v.1-7]

  v. 1. Academy-Bible -- v. 2. Bilingualism and multilingualism-Dura-Europos -- v. 3. Earthquakes-Hetaera -- v. 4. Hippocratic Corpus-Mosaics -- v. 5. Mos Maiorum-Posidonius of Apamea -- v. 6. Postal service-Teleology -- v. 7. Temples-Zoology ; Topical outline ; Index.

• Companion to ancient Egypt, A
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Companion to Byzantium, A
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The [HIL-REF DF521 .O93 1991 vols. 1-3]
  This is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.
• Readings in Late Antiquity: A Sourcebook [HIL-REF DG78 .M22 2010]
• Civilizations of the Ancient Near East [HIL-REF DS57 .C55 1995 vols. 1-4]

  This 4-vol. set examines the cultures of the ancient Near East from the Bronze Age (3200 B.C.E.) to the Hellenistic era (325 B.C.E) and describes the archaeology and the history of each subregion. Languages, religious life, governments, peace and war, commerce and agriculture, and the visual and performing arts are covered. The set explores an area ranging from North Africa to Central Asia, and treats Syro-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Iran/Persia, Anatolia (modern-day Turkey), the Arabian Peninsula, and the island cultures of the Mediterranean. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Historical Dictionary of Mesopotamia [HIL-REF DS70.82 .L45 2010]

  Leick (Chelsea College of Art and Design, London) has written widely about ancient Mesopotamia and Babylonia. Here she offers a reference on the area between the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers and surrounding territory from the earliest record of irrigation and large permanent settlements some 80,000 years ago through the myriad civilizations and empires to the arrival of Islam in the seventh century AD. Among her entries are building materials, the trade city of Dilmun, archaeologist Jacobsen Thorkild (1904-93), the Babylonian king Rim-Sin I (r. 1822-1763 BC), and warfare. The cross-referencing is extensive; there is no index. No date is noted for the first edition. Annotation c2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, The [HIL-REF DT58 .O94 2001 vols. 1-3]

  Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000 year civilization.The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial--such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.Extensively illustrated with photographs, line drawings, and maps, the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt is designed for the widest possible access, serving students, teachers, and scholars in fields ranging from Near East archaeology and classics to ancient art, architecture, history, language and religion, as well as general readers fascinated by a world that remains--even today--incompletely mapped. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World [HIL-REF G1033 .B3 2000]

  "Quite simply the most important and most complicated project to be undertaken in classical studies this generation."--NEH reviewer "This atlas provides us with a vital missing tool. It is a model of creative planning, and will be absolutely indispensable."--C. Nicolet (Sorbonne, Paris)

• Science in the Ancient World: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF Q124.95 .L39 2004]
  The first A-Z resource to catalog the achievements and legacy of more than four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world of the Mediterranean and the Near East, providing a complete overview of the physical, chemical, life, medical, and social sciences of the classical world.
• Concise Oxford dictionary of archaeology, The
  "From amphora to ziggurat, and Beaker Culture to molluscan analysis, this comprehensive dictionary, covers the essential vocabulary for archaeological work, including principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms. The dictionary focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
  Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Oxford Reference
  Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
  5 simultaneous users.
• ARTstor
  Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

  Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.