Human Rights Guide

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Human Rights. Try using the Reference Universe widget to see which sources will have information on your topic:

Key Resources

  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights [HIL-REF JC571 .E67 1996]

    Published with the cooperation of the United Nations Centre for Human Rights, this standard reference collects information on every important development in the field of human rights that occurred between 1945, when the UN Charter entered into force, and June 30, 1990 (a few later events are covered, such as the UN Security Council action immediately following the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait). The materials, which are presented objectively and with a minimum of editorial comment, include the complete texts of some 200 international and regional treaties; reports on general and specialized subjects, such as health care, the environment, the rights of children, women, minorities, indigenous peoples; special conventions and declarations on such subjects as apartheid and terrorism; an overview of the rights situation in more than 150 countries, and information on about 130 non-governmental and intergovernmental organizations. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Globalization: The Key Concepts [HIL-REF GN27 .E69 2007]

    "Globalization: The Key Concepts presents an accessible guide to the way we live now. The causes and the effects of globalization are hotly disputed and the book aims to present the range of arguments in a clear and balanced way. However, arguing that variation is as characteristic of globalization as standardization, the book stresses the necessity for a bottom-up, comparative analysis. Distinguishing between the cultural, political, economic and ecological aspects of globalization, the book highlights the implications of globalization for people's everyday lives. Throughout, the discussion is illustrated with wide-ranging case material. Chapter summaries and a guide to further reading underline the book's concern to clarify this most complex and influential of ideas."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of Restorative Justice: A Global Perspective [HIL-REF HV8688 .H36 2006]

    Handbook of Restorative Justice: A Global Perspective is a collection of original, cutting-edge essays that offer an insightful and critical assessment of the theory, principles, and practices of restorative justice around the globe. This much-awaited book is a response to the cry of students, scholars, and practitioners of restorative justice for a comprehensive resource about a practice that is radically transforming the way the human community responds to loss, trauma, and harm. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations [HIL-REF JC571 .G655 1997]

    Most of the entries describe past and present organizations and list treaties, founding members, related organizations, and other pertinent information. Other entries pertain to terminology, treaties, and individuals. Acronyms and abbreviations are listed and texts of important international documents appended. Also included are a chronology of the 20th century, a historical introduction, and an extensive bibliography, but no index. Well cross-referenced. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc

  • Human Rights Encyclopedia, The [HIL-REF JC571 .L522 2001 vols. 1-3]

    This illustrated A-Z reference includes 600 signed articles, many by leading experts in the field, and was compiled with special emphasis on the impact of the 1948 United Nations Declaration of Human Rights. The set provides a country-by-country analysis of each nation's approach to human rights. It also includes detailed examinations of such crucial topics as torture, slavery, asylum, genocide, hostages, indigenous peoples, freedom of the press, and the right to education. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945
    see also [HIL-REF JC571 .L2747 1999]

    This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues since 1945 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Dictionary of Human Rights, A [HIL-REF K3239.3 .R67 1997]

    Providing explanations of the terminology, issues, organizations, and laws, this reference work develops the key aspects of human rights in over 200 clear and concise A-Z entries. * Explains terms connected such as Asylum, Equal Opportunities, Freedom of Speech, Representation, and Civil Liberties* Covers organizations concerned with human rights such as Amnesty International, The European Court of Human Rights, and The American Civil Liberties Union* Outlines the significance of eminent thinkers such as Locke, Cardozo, and Nozick* Places key terms in their legal and constitutional context, with examples and explanations of their implications* Legal terms such as Injunction, Probable Cause, Clear and Present Danger, and Stop and Search are explained clearly and succinctly* Includes an appendix containing texts and extracts of leading documents, such as "The Declaration of the Rights of Man and the Citizen" and "The Universal Declaration of Human Rights," Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Human Rights in Atlantic Canada: 1990 Regional Conference Report [HIL-REF JC599 .C3 R43 1990]

    Regional Conference on Human Rights in Atlantic Canada (1990 : Fredericton, N.B.)

  • Legal Identity for Inclusive Development [HIL-GOV TA41 L496ii]
  • Legislative History of the Convention on the Rights of the Child [HIL-GOV TU17 HR PUB 07/1 vols. 1-2]

    The adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights sixty years ago ushered in an era of prolific standard-setting in the field of international human rights law. As of 2007, universal human rights norms have been articulated in nine international human rights treaties, including the Convention on the Rights of the Child and its Optional Protocols. This study documents how the Convention came into being, providing a comprehensive record of its legislative history. It aims to serve as a research tool for children's rights advocates.

Additional Resources

  • World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook [HIL-REF JZ1242 .W67 2002]

    Mostly US scholars offer introductory analysis and reference material on 30 key issues facing the world in such fields as economics, the environment, human development, law, politics, and security. The articles are formatted uniformly to facilitate comparing the different issues and finding links between them. Each moves from general analysis to detailed assessment at regional and national levels. Among the issues are AIDS, deforestation, ethnic and regional conflict, global warming, income inequality, peacemaking and peacebuilding, terrorism, and women. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • World Encyclopedia of Peace [HIL-REF JX1944 .W67 1986 vols. 1-4]
  • Human Rights: A Compilation of International Instruments

     United Nations Centre for Human Rights.

  • Core International Human Rights Treaties, The [HIL-GOV TU17 ST HR HIL C797ih]

    This volume reproduces the "core" universal human rights treaties. These are: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights; International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights; International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination; Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women; Convention on the Rights of the Child; Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment; and International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families. Also included are the major Optional Protocols for the various treaties. Only the basic texts of the treaties are presented and those looking for signatories, reservations, and other ancillary information should look elsewhere. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • New Core International Human Rights Treaties, The
    see also [HIL-GOV TU17 ST HR HIL N532ci]

    This publication reproduces the new core universal human rights treaties in pocket-size. By issuing the latest core instruments in this format, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights wishes to make them more accessible, in particular to government officials, civil society, human rights defenders, legal practitioners, scholars, individual citizens and others with an interest in human rights norms and standards

  • Neglected Diseases: A Human Rights Analysis [HIL-GOV TW33 Sp741to no.6]
  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • LabourSource
    WestlawNext Canada's LabourSource provides access to arbitration, labour board, and court decisions in Canada; labour and employment legislation from all jurisdictions in Canada; and the latest commentary from Canada's labour law experts, including Donald Brown and David Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, George Adams' Canadian Labour Law, and Warren Winkler and Elaine Willis' Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases.
    Please note that UNB does not subscribe to all components of LabourSource; UNB subscribes to the Classic Edition package.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada
    The Internet component of the print loose-leaf service Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada is a collection of case digests prepared by Matthew Taylor and Mahmud Jamal. The digests contain links to full-text decisions. Users can search both the digests and the full-text decisions using a variety of search terms. Although intended to complement Taylor and Jamal's commentary on Charter cases contained in the loose-leaf component, these case digests can be used as an independent resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CHRR (Canadian Human Rights Reporter) Online
    CHRR Online is a full-text database of Canadian human rights decisions and legislation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CIA World Factbook
    Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for use by the US Government. The World Factbook provides concise country profiles which include overviews of geography, population, government, and economy.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • HeinOnline
    HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JustisOne (formerly Justis and JustCite)
    The resources previously available through Justis and JustCite are now available through JustisOne. JustisOne provides access to all UK statutes dating back to 1235. The full text of legislation, including repealed legislation, is provided as originally enacted with references to amending legislation. Legislation is formatted to resemble the original printed documents, including side notes. UK statutory instruments back to 1671 are also included. UNB's subscription includes access to the full-text of reported and unreported civil and criminal judgments from England and Wales (coverage varies). JustisOne incorporates features from JustCite, a citator service that cross-references case law and legislation from a number of jurisdictions, including Canada.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • LLMC-Digital
    A growing collection of legal and governmental documents, including statutes, treatises, case law, administrative decisions, and reports of government agencies, boards and departments from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries. There is some recent material, but the emphasis is on historical documents.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Reference Universe
    Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
    Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
    The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the leading educational facility in the field of public opinion. Users can search the "iPOLL Databank" which is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Users can also search at the dataset level using "RoperExpress" which allows immediate download of about 75% of the Center's public opinion studies conducted in the US from 1935 to present, and many recent studies from outside of the US.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
    This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • UNdata (formerly United Nations Common Database (UNCDB))
    The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • United Nations Treaty Collection
    Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, search UNB WorldCat, and change the default UNB Libraries to Libraries Worldwide. Once you have identified a title that is not locally held, select the red Request Item button and follow the screens. You can also access the document delivery request form directly.

Shelf Browsing

If you prefer to browse through the stacks in the Harriet Irving Library for books on Human Rights, you might try the following call number areas:

JC571

K3200

KE4381

KF4748

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Human Rights. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases tab on the library website.

Key Resources

  • ProQuest Politics Collection
    This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.

    The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Abstracts in Social Gerontology
    "Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."--About the Database page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Access UN
    Access UN "provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. . . . it provides information on international problems of an economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian nature."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Black Thought and Culture
    When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, art, and includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Research Index (CRI)
    Canadian Research Index (CRI) "covers monographs and annual publications of lasting reference value from Canadian government and institutional sources."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Manas Media's World Law reform database
    An index searchable by keywords, jurisdiction and date, to publications of law reform commissions and similar organizations from eleven countries, including Canada. Publications deal with a wide variety of legal topics and the administration of justice. Titles published after 1999 are available in fulltext.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Quicklaw Plus
    NOTE: Users may click on the "Register Later" button at the bottom of the screen to gain immediate access, OR the "Register Now" button which will provide access to additional personal features. You must also accept the Terms and Conditions.

    LexisNexis Quicklaw offers access to primary and secondary Canadian legal sources. Coverage includes case law from courts, boards, and tribunals; statutes, regulations and bills; secondary legal materials and journals; and NetLetters with legal commentary and analysis. Plus edition includes Halsbury's Laws of England and Halsbury's Laws of Canada. To find the insurance, labour, and employment law content formerly available on CCH Online, go to the Source Directory and use the key search term L&B.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OECD iLibrary
    NOTE: Content from 1998-2009 accessible to UNB Libraries. "OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. Once fully featured, OECD iLibrary will replace SourceOECD. OECD iLibrary users at subscribing institutions are able to conduct searches, retrieve listings of publications meeting the search criteria, and choose to download selected titles in various formats, or selected statistical data in spreadsheet format. Access is available for titles published from January 1998 onwards."--OECD iLibrary About page. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:

 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Human Rights is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

(http://www.dianahacker.com/resdoc/)