About the guide
This guide provides links to resources for Math & Stats students and is designed to make navigation quick and efficient. Quality navigation is critical! It does save you time and effort. If you need help finding information or would like to suggest resources that need to be included in this guide, please contact one of the librarians listed on the side.
- click the three lines in the top left corner
- click Settings
- click Library Links
- Search for 'University of New Brunswick', check the box next to the results, and save your settings.
The primary sources are where original research is reported. A primary source gives you direct access to the subject of your research. Over time, this information makes its way into secondary sources, while the tertiary sources are the resources used to search for primary and secondary sources. Primary sources are more credible as evidence, however, good research practice is to use both primary and secondary sources.
The resources below are some recommended databases for research in Mathematics and Statistics.
- Current Index to Statistics CIS extended database is a bibliographic database covering the entire contents of core statistics literature from 1975 to present, with some coverage of older core journals. Selected non-core journals indexed for articles with statistical content.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- MathSciNet MathSciNet "is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- arXiv.org "Open access to 674,613 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics"--Home page.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Google Scholar Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Web) Produced by the American Chemical Society, this is considered to be the most current and comprehensive information source for literature in chemistry and related sciences such as: proteomics, genomics, biochemistry, biochemical genetics, engineering and physics.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Current & Archive) The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to both current and archival scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. This resource provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
IEEE conference proceedings
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Note: limited to 10 simultaneous users.
10 simultaneous users.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Scopus Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Key Full-Text Journal Sources
- American Mathematical Society
- JSTOR - Mathematics Journals
- JSTOR - Statistics Journals
- SIAM Journals
Additional Full-Text Journal Sources
- American Institute of Physics
- Elsevier (Science Direct)
- Institute of Physics
- Wiley InterScience
Sometimes when working with journal articles and citations you will need to know either the full title for an abbreviation or having the full title, you will need to provide a recognized authoritative abbreviation.
Books and Reports
Searching for books at UNB Libraries
To search for books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat identifies books held by UNB Libraries and beyond. UNB WorldCat has also added millions of articles that are searched along with entries for books.
To browse the shelves for books at the Science & Forestry Library (Fredericton) and the Hans W. Klohn Commons (Saint John), try the following ranges:
|QC 170-197||Atomic Physics|
|Instruments and machines
Electronic computers. Computer science
|QA101-(145)||Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic|
|QA273-280||Probabilities. Mathematical statistics|
|QA440-699||Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology|
Searching for government documents
For those government documents which are available online, try using Google Custom Search (follow the link below).
Searching for reports, departmental publications, etc.
Try the Federal Science Library (FSL) information hub. The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets, and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
Facts & Other Resources
When researching a new topic it is often helpful to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Math & Stats. To find additional reference materials, check WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.
- Concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics, The "This invaluable resource will guide general readers and students alike through the often bewildering maze of equations and theorems encountered within the mathematical universe. Covering everything in the field, from pure and applied mathematics to statistics, it also covers areas of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos. Brief biographical sketches are provided of the great mathematicians."
5 simultaneous users.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics, The
"If you use statistics and need a useful, up-to-date and reliable sourcebook that provides simple definitions and explanations of statistical concepts, then you will need this dictionary. Some 3500 terms are defined in all areas of statistics, including medical, survey, theoretical, applied, etc. In addition short biographies are given of over 100 important statisticians. The majority of definitions include a reference to a book or article where the reader can seek an extended account of a term if required. Many of the definitions are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding."--Jacket.
- Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists
- Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics, The
- CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
The CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, #38; references. Its informal style makes it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers with a diverse range of mathematical backgrounds #38; interests. This fascinating, useful book draws connections to other areas of mathematics #38; science as well as demonstrates its actual implementation - providing a highly readable, distinctive text diverging from the all-too-frequent specialized jargon #38; dry formal exposition. Through its thousands of explicit examples, formulas, #38; derivations, The CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics gives the reader a flavor of the subject without getting lost in minutiae - stimulating his or her thirst for additional information #38; exploration. This book serves as handbook, dictionary, #38; encyclopedia - extensively cross-linked #38; cross-referenced, not only to other related entries, but also to web sites on the Internet. Standard mathematical references, combined with a few popular ones, are also given at the end of most entries, providing a resource for more reading #38; exploration. In The CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics, the most useful #38; interesting aspects of the topic are thoroughly discussed, enhancing technical definitions. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Transforms and Applications Handbook, The Highlighting the use of transforms and their properties, this title offers an introduction to signals and systems, including properties of the delta function and some classical orthogonal functions. It then details different transforms, including lapped, Mellin, wavelet, and Hartley varieties.
- Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals
The updated Handbook is an essential reference for researchers and students in applied mathematics, engineering, and physics. It provides quick access to important formulas, relations, and methods from algebra, trigonometric and exponential functions, combinatorics, probability, matrix theory, calculus and vector calculus, ordinary and partial differential equations, Fourier series, orthogonal polynomials, and Laplace transforms.
- Dictionary of Analysis, Calculus, and Differential Equations [HIL-REF QA5 .D53 2000]
Provides comprehensible, working definitions of mathematical expressions, for scientists engineers, mathematicians, economists, technical writers, and computer programmers. Contains some 2,500 detailed definitions written in a clear, readable style, complete with alternative meanings and related references. Includes terms associated with analysis, calculus, and differential equations, with natural overlap into differential geometry, algebraic geometry, topology, and related areas. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae [multiple locations QA47 .M315 30th]
While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:
- arXiv e-Print Archive
- IMA Preprint Series: Institute for Mathematics and Its Applications (covers 1982 to the present)
- Institute for Mathematical Sciences Preprint Server (covers 1990 to the present)
Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document the "pedigree" of your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.
Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.
- Scientific Style and Format, available SCI-REF T11 .S386 2014, and HWK-REF
- Examples: UNB Writing Centre: Writing Answers
- Digital Typography using LaTeX
- More Math into LaTEX eBook
- A Primer of Mathematical Writing HIL-STACKS QA42 .K73 1997
- A Handbook of Writing for the Mathematical Sciences HWK-STACKS QA42.H54 1998
- Plagiarism: a How-NOT-To Guide
Theses and Dissertations
What is a thesis?
Thesis or dissertation is an original document submitted in support of candidature for an academic degree or professional qualification presenting the author's research and findings. (International Standard ISO 7144: Documentation-Presentation of theses and similar documents)
In Canada and US thesis is a project that marks the end of a Master's (MSc) program, while the dissertation is produced at the end of a doctoral (Ph.D.) program. In some universities, however, dissertation and thesis are seen as the same thing.
Finding a thesis and dissertation
- UNB: ProQuest UNB theses and UNB Scholar Research Repository or UNB Theses & Dissertations Database
- Other Universities: Library and Archives Canada (Canada Theses Portal)
- EThOS e-theses online: this database claims to include all UK theses starting from the 1600s
- Sudoc catalogue (Système Universitaire de Documentation)
Use the following sites to browse theses and dissertations from around the world:
Working on Assignments and Preparing Presentations
Guides to Scientific Writing and Presentations
It is sometimes difficult to know how to approach writing a scientific paper or how to go about preparing a presentation. The list of print and electronic resources accessible from Internet Resources for Scientific Writing may help you to get started.
Concept map (or mind map) is a diagram that depicts suggested relationships between concepts. Concept (or mind ) mapping is a technique for visualizing these relationships. A number of programs are designed and freely available to help you build a concept map. Here are some examples:
- Cmap - free concept mapping software
- MindMup - free online mind mapping tool
Presenting Research Project
If you want to learn how to create a stunning poster take a look at this course Creating a Stunning Scientific Poster -- Best Practices. The course provides an introduction to the basic principles of graphic design, and help you understand how these principles can guide the effective design of a scientific conference poster.
If you are preparing an oral presentation and want to see some tips take look at this tool speaking.io
More Information More Information
- Tatiana Zaraiskaya (Profile)
- During the COVID-19 period, I am helping students with library research through email, AskUs, Teams or Skype. Please email me if you have questions or need help.
- STEM Librarian
- UNB Fredericton
- Book a Virtual Meeting
physics, chemistry, biology, biophysics, biochemistry, medical biophysics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, geology, forestry