Nursing & Health Guide

Using the Library

Lots of our library resources are available to you online.  Here are just a few that you can take advantage of while studying at UNB.

Catalogue

The catalogue is where you go to find books.  In the nursing program, a big effort is made to purchase as many materials as possible in e-format to make them quick and easy for you to access no matter where you are.  If you need a book that isn't available in e-format, you can order it through our Document Delivery service.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Journal Articles

For peer-reviewed research, you can access any of UNB Libraries' 200+ databases from anywhere.  For authentication purposes, you should always access library databases through the library website (or this research guide).

Access a list of the key nursing databases HERE.

Research Help & Ask Us

To get help with the libraries or with your research, you can use contact your librarian (Richelle Witherspoon or Alex Goudreau) directly, or you can use our Ask Us service to talk, chat or text with one of our Research Help Desk staff.

Access Ask Us HERE.


COVID-19 - Limited Library Operations

In order to ensure the safety of our staff and students, UNB Libraries are limiting operations.  This Fall, you will have the option of booking space in the library to study and to pick up books you have requested, but will not be allowed to enter and exit the library freely or to browse the shelves.  Below is a quick run-down of how to use the libraries in the Fall, and more information is found HERE.

Getting Print Books

If you need a print book from any of the UNB libraries, are are not in either Saint John or Fredericton, a limited number of requested items can be mailed directly to you.  For more information on how to get print books while library operations are limited by the pandemic, see our Curbside Pickup page.

Booking Study Space

If you are near the Fredericton or Saint John campuses and would like a space to sit and study alone, UNB Libraries will be implementing a booking system that will allow you to book space inside the library of your choosing. 

You can book space within one of the Fredericton or Saint John libraries HERE.

Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Most of the research you will be doing at UNB will involve articles databases. Several of the most important databases for nursing are listed here, but for topics that may cross disciplinary lines (like ethics, education, prosthetic devices, etc) you may also want to explore the databases for other disciplines.  You can access lists of those databases by visiting the subject guides for those disciplines.

Key Resources

  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
    ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source is a collection of core nursing and related publications, this database, designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions. All the source publications are available in the ASCII full-text format. Nearly all of them also offer articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics formats.

    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Medline (1950 to Present)
    "MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
    50 simultaneous OLRN users.
  • EMBASE
    EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Cochrane Library
    The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This database includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, the The Cochrane Methodology Register, the Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
    Access to the Cochrane Library in New Brunswick is through a province-wide license made possible by a partnership between UNB and the eight Regional Hospital Authority libraries.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI : EBSCO)
    Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a bibliographic database with abstracts produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services (BMDS). It is used to find citations to and information about information-gathering tools for clinicians, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. The database contains citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available; bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • INFORMIT Indigenous Collection
    With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts. The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

For additional databases, go to Article Databases.


If we don't have the article you need...

If you locate resources in your search that are not available through UNB Libraries, you may be able to borrow them from another library using our document delivery service.  Visit the Document Delivery page for information about how to request resources and library policies associated with such requests.

How do I know if an article has come from a peer reviewed journal?

One tool you can use is Ulrichsweb. Use this to search for the journal title and if the title is there, look for this icon refereed which indicates the journal is refereed (aka peer reviewed). You can also visit the journal's homepage and look for their About, Editorial, Author, Publication pages for wording that indicates the journal has a peer review process.

*Note: Not everything published in a peer review journal has gone through the peer review process. Journals regularly publish editorials, book reviews, commentaries, etc. (usually only a few pages in length which can be a good indication that your "article" hasn't been peer reviewed and isn't the type of article you should use). Consult your instructor or librarian if you're still unsure after checking whether your article has been peer reviewed.

Quick Information Sources

Explore our Resources

We subscribe to a number of online and mobile resources like UpToDate.  Explore some of the most important reference tools below.

Key Resources

  • UpToDate
    UpToDate is a website and app-based tool that provides quick access to information about diagnosis, clinical practice, and point of care information. UpToDate draws reliable information from many clinical sources and presents it in an easy to read format that supports learning and practice in medical fields.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
    "The 18th Edition of The Merck Manual is packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help health care professionals and medical students deliver the best care."--Highlights page for print version. Online version is very similar to the print version of The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy, 18th ed., except that it includes multimedia extras and has periodic updates.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs - Wiley)
    Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • RxTx (formerly e-CPS and e-Therapeutics+)
    RxTx is an easily searchable tool that includes the electronic versions of the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association’s annual Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties and the content from their Therapeutic Choices. These resources provide a thorough and centralized overview of many drugs, drug therapy and clinical tools.
    718 simultaneous users (as of Feb 2020)
  • Bates' Physical Assessment videos (5th ed.)
    Bates’ Physical Assessment Videos (subscription excludes OSCE’s videos) is a collection of instructional streaming videos that facilitate learning of physical assessment procedures by students in healthcare fields. The eighteen 25-minute modules in the Bates’ collection are composed of series’ of shorter videos, and range in coverage from a general physical examination to the more targeted procedures for examining specific organs and systems.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
    Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide
    Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Dictionary of nursing, A
    "Written by nursing and medical specialists, the dictionary provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. In addition to specifically nursing terms, there are many entries in the fields of medicine, surgery, anatomy, physiology, psychiatry, nutrition, and pharmacology (including new drugs recently introduced into clinical practice). Accident and emergency, trauma, public health medicine, and theory and practice of nursing are all covered."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Diseases: A Nursing Process Approach to Excellent Care
    Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
    10 simultaneous OLRN users
  • Nursing Care Plans and Documentation
    Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
    10 simultaneous OLRN users
  • Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing
    Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
    10 simultaneous OLRN users
  • Handbook of Pathophysiology
    Part of the Books@OVID collection. Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of eight Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses's Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
    10 simultaneous OLRN users
  • Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests
    Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
    10 simultaneous OLRN users
  • Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

    "The Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now thoroughly updated in a second edition, presents key terms and concepts in nursing research with over 30% of the entries new to this edition. Written by the world's leading authorities in nursing research, this comprehensive reference is a "one-stop" resource for everything you need to know about nursing research and its utilization." "Extensive cross references help readers find information easily. Nursing researchers and graduate students in nursing are the primary audience for this volume. As with the first edition, nurses in all phases of education, from basic to doctoral, from formal university and college-based programs to continuing education offerings, within all health systems, will find this an important introduction to current nursing research topics."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Mental Health [HIL-REF RC437 .K34 2008]

    "According to the National Center for Health Statistics, mental health disorders led to more than 40 million doctor visits and 2 million emergency room visits in 2002. The Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Third Edition is a revised and updated A-to-Z reference covering all aspects of general mental health topics. This guide sorts through a maze of professional jargon to provide definitions of theories, syndromes, symptoms, treatments, and contemporary issues, in language that everyone can understand, bringing readers the most up-to-date information on this subject. Presenting more than 2,000 new and updated entries, this volume is a resource for anyone seeking more information on mental health."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health [HIL-REF RT21 .G353 2002 vols. 1-5]

    This set provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The "Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, medical lab technology, emergency medical technology, dental assistance, pharmacology and nutrition. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

 

Books

Search for Books

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Once you have found the item you are looking for, use the call number listed in the search results (if it is a physical item) to locate it on our library shelves.  Click here for information on how to read call numbers.  Alternately, you can visit the Research Help Desks for assistance in locating items in the library.

Browse for Books

On the UNB Fredericton Campus, most books on nursing and medicine are in the Harriet Irving Library, and on the UNB Saint John Campus they are in the HWK Commons. To browse the library shelves for books of interest, try the following call number ranges:

RA 421-790.85 Public Health, Hygiene, Preventive Medicine
RJ 1-150 Pediatrics
RT 1-120 Nursing
BF 176 Psychological Tests and Testing

Get Books from Other Libraries (temporarily unavailable due to COVID-19 restrictions)

If you locate resources in your search that are not available through UNB Libraries, you may be able to borrow them from another library using our document delivery service.  Visit the Document Delivery page for information about how to request resources and library policies associated with such requests.

 

Population, Patient, and Clinical Resources

Population, Patient, and Clinical Resources

In addition to articles, reference tools and book, there are a number of resources types that can be used to complement your scholarly research and clinical practice.  These types include reports, new articles, government documents, statistics, patient education, and skills videos.  Below are listed some reliable sources of these types of information and links to the websites or tools you can use to access them.

Population

Government & Major Organization Websites: Many major organizations, especially ones related to national and global health, produce reports that can be used to supplement the information you obtain in peer-reviewed research. You can find additional resources on the Health (Government Information) Guide.

Health Statistics: UNB Libraries has a page devoted to the many different sources and types of statistics that are available for your use.  Click here to access our Data Services page.  For some specific health-related website, try some of the links listed below.

Other


Patient Education

Find patient handouts and other consumer health information suitable to share with patients through UNB Libraries' resources.

  • UpToDate
    UpToDate is a website and app-based tool that provides quick access to information about diagnosis, clinical practice, and point of care information. UpToDate draws reliable information from many clinical sources and presents it in an easy to read format that supports learning and practice in medical fields.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • RxTx (formerly e-CPS and e-Therapeutics+)
    RxTx is an easily searchable tool that includes the electronic versions of the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association’s annual Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties and the content from their Therapeutic Choices. These resources provide a thorough and centralized overview of many drugs, drug therapy and clinical tools.
    718 simultaneous users (as of Feb 2020)
  • Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
    "The 18th Edition of The Merck Manual is packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help health care professionals and medical students deliver the best care."--Highlights page for print version. Online version is very similar to the print version of The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy, 18th ed., except that it includes multimedia extras and has periodic updates.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

The Online Health Information Aid is also a useful, free resource available to you and to share with patients. This website:

  • provides tips and resources on searching, evaluating, and using online health information;
  • aims to improve skills and confidence in finding trustworthy health information online, enabling positive outcomes while reducing negative ones;
  • was developed based on research evidence and co-designed with users;
  • ultimately, supports lifelong learning and empowers people to participate in their own health care.

Clinical Skills

 

Library Help & Tutorials

Library Toolkit

A self-paced, interactive set of modules for learning the basics of library use and academic research. Housed in D2L Brightspace, the Toolkit provides an introduction to library services and the academic research process at UNB.

Find it in the ‘Free Course Registration’ section in D2L - under 'Libraries' Research Toolkit'.

Learn more about the Toolkit HERE.

Video Tutorials

Introduction to Academic Integrity: The first of three videos that cover academic integrity rules at UNB, what constitutes plagiarism, how to paraphrase, and why proper citation is important.

Introduction to UNB WorldCat: A brief introduction to the library catalogue and how to use it.

How to Find Journal Articles: Learn how to search for journal articles using the catalogue (UNB WorldCat) and specialized article databases available from UNB Libraries.

Canadian Content Searching: A brief introduction to how to find Canadian information from reliable sources.

Community Health and Data: A brief introduction to how to find NB information from reliable sources.  This may be supplemented by the DLI Nesstar handout mentioned at the end of the video.

DLI Nesstar Handout

Good Searching (And a Couple Other Topics Too): Originally designed for 3rd year kinesiology students, this video covers database searching, bias in literature, how to track citations, and citation management tool Zotero.

Zotero Tutorial: An introduction to citation management tool Zotero from installation to bibliography.

For more videos and tutorials, visit the UNB Libraries YouTube channel.

Citing Your Sources

Citing your Sources

The standard citation style for Nursing is APA (American Psychological Association).

Resources

Writing and Study Skills Center

UNB Libraries and UNB Writing and Study Skills Center provide a number of brief guides to citing various types of information sources, as well as a guide to avoiding inadvertent plagiarism:

Purdue OWL

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL) maintains extensive resources and instructional material on APA style and formatting:

Zotero

Zotero is a web-based citation manager, available freely online, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.

 

More Information