Skip to main content

Economics Guide

Related Guides: ECON 3013 Intermediate Microeconomics • ECON 3204 Taxation of Personal Income

Reference Tools

Find definitions of unfamiliar terms and overviews of concepts in UNB Libraries' dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards for the field of Economics.

Watch this video to learn how to search for e-reference materials on the UNB Libraries’ home page, and locate subject-specific e-reference materials in UNB Libraries' research guides. A transcript of this video is available.

 

To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
    The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • 21st century economics: a reference handbook

    The two volumes encompass analysis of traditional economic theory and topics as well as those that economists have only more recently addressed.

  • Dictionary of economics, A
    "A Dictionary of Economics provides clear, jargon-free definitions for thousands of economic terms, including up-to-date entries on topics such as e-commerce and the Euro. The dictionary covers all aspects of economic theory, from microeconomics to public finance and international trade with definitions of mathematical and statistical terms widely used in economics, as well as words from related areas such as business and finance."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Economic thinkers: a biographical encyclopedia

    Who are the individuals whose novel ideas, writings, and philosophies have influenced economics throughout history-and in doing so, have helped change the world? This encyclopedia provides a readable study of economics by examining the great economists themselves.

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, The

    International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.

  • Economic Thought since Keynes: A History and Dictionary of Major Economists [HIL-REF HB87 .B4313 1995]

    The paperback edition of "Economic Thought Since Keynes" outlines the evolution of economic thought since the publication of "The General Theory," putting into perspective the trends, issues and developments in economics over the last half century. Part I contains an historical account of the schools, debates and issues, as well as the authors who have played significant roles. Part II features a detailed biographical dictionary of 150 economists, including their major published works, an analysis of their contribution to economic thought and a guide to the secondary literature. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics, An [HIL-REF HB99.7 .E528 1997]

    Over 100 international contributors provide in-depth coverage of the ideas and impact of Britain's John Maynard Keynes (1883-1946), one of the most influential modern economists. His most noteworthy book, The General Theory of Employment, Interest, and Money --generated partly to explain the Great Depression--provoked Nobel Prize-winning debates on his advocacy of government fiscal policies to increase employment and stimulate business activity. The three sections center on: biographies of economists who contributed to such debates; analysis of his absolute income hypothesis regarding the psychology governing consumption; and essays on the rise and apparent decline of Keynesian economics. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Canadian Dictionary of Business and Economics, The [HIL-REF HC11.2 .C72 1993]
  • Handbook of Macroeconomics [HIL-REF HB172.5 .H356 1999]

    This text aims to provide a survey of the state of knowledge in macroeconomics, a broad area that includes the theories and facts of economic growth and economic fluctuations, as well as the consequences of monetary and fiscal policies for general economic condition.

  • Handbook of globalisation

    With original contributions from the leading commentators in the field and an overarching introduction from the editor, this handbook redefines the concept of globalization with a systematic and thorough examination of the debate.

  • Handbook on the Economics of the Internet

    As the single most important general purpose technology of recent times, the Internet is transforming the organization, competitive structure and business models of the private, the public and non-profit sectors. In 27 original chapters, leading authors discuss theoretical and applied frameworks for the study of the economics of the Internet and its unique economics as a global information and communications infrastructure. They also examine the effects of the Internet on economic transactions (including social production, advertising, innovation, and intellectual property rights), the economics and management of Internet-based industries (including search, news, entertainment, culture, and virtual worlds), and the effects of the Internet on the economy at large.

  • Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
    Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Handbook of Health Economics [HIL-REF RA410 .H35 2000]

    Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

  • New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law, The [HIL-REF K487 .E3 N49 1998]

    A great deal of economics is in fact about law - the functioning of markets, property rights and their enforcement, financial obligations and so on. Yet these legal aspects and problems are almost never addressed in the academic study of economics. At the same time a great deal of law, an increasing proportion of litigation for example, is about economics, and yet the drafting and administration of laws often ignore economic principle.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law is uniquely placed by the quality, breadth and depth of its coverage to address this need for building bridges. Drawn from the ranks of academics and professional lawyers and economists in eight countries, the 340 contributors include the leading exponents of their specialities. Among them are Nobel laureates in economics and eminent legal scholars.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law will become a benchmark for reference of the highest quality. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of Income Distribution [HIL-REF HB523 .H25 2000]

    Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

  • Companion to economic forecasting, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Companion to the history of economic thought, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Companion to economic geography, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Companion to urban economics, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Handbook of applied econometrics. Volume 1, Macroeconomics
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Handbook of applied econometrics. Volume 2, Microeconomics
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 1: Foundations

    The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.

  • Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 2: Statistical analysis

    The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Europa World Year Book [HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85]

    The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK

    Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.

    Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.


  • CIA World Factbook
    Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for use by the US Government. The World Factbook provides concise country profiles which include overviews of geography, population, government, and economy.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.

 

Key Databases

When searching for journal articles, the EconLit database is usually the best place to begin.

Learn how to search for journal articles using the catalogue (UNB WorldCat) and specialized article databases available from UNB Libraries. A transcript of this video is available.

 

Below are a few UNB-subscribed databases for research in Economics.  For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • EconLit (EBSCO)
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • American Economic Association
    A collection of economic related journals from the American Economic Association.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
    Business Source Ultimate provides full text for more than 7,200 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSU provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Limited to single-user access.
  • OECD iLibrary - Books, Papers and Statistics
    OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes. The main texts are accessed as PDFs, whilst related tables are in XLS, PDF or HTML.OECD Statistics provides online access to all OECD’s published data, irrespective of format. It includes the dynamic interactive databases, as well as the statistical annuals and periodicals in PDF format, and their related tables in XLS, PDF and HTML. OECD iLibrary Content items (April 2020): • 15 620 ebook titles • 81 600 chapters • 242 220 tables and graphs • 2 305 articles • 6 360 multilingual summaries • 6 620 working papers • 7 billion data points across 44 databases.

    IEA Statistical Databases are not included in this package.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Statista
    Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • UN iLibrary
    The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Themes include Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, and Women and Gender Issues.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Current Collection
    In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Financial times (FT.com)
    UNB has purchased a premium online subscription to FT.com which provides our academic community with the current Financial Times newspaper, the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, tools, plus RSS feeds. Users can also view the Financial Times on mobile devices by downloading their apps: http://apps.ft.com
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."

    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & beyond

    Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.

    Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.


    Unknown Limit on Simultaneous Users
  • PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers

    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.

    July 2019 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.

    Due to publisher restrictions online access to the Globe & Mail newspaper is only available while on-campus.
    4 simultaneous users.

  • Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
    Passport GMID is an international market research database and analysis tool from Euromonitor. The database contains business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Also available is research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data that spans 206 countries.
    Passport GMID User Guide PDF
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • D&B Hoovers (formerly Hoover's Online)
    D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamilar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.
    10 simultaneous users only
  • FP Advisor (formerly Infomart)
    FP Advisor is a collection of 12 databases from the Financial Post (FP) that provide access to detailed information about the top publicly traded companies in Canada. The collection includes: Company Snapshots, Company Surveys, Corporate Analyzer, Investor Reports, Historical Reports, Industry Reports, Predecessor & Defunct, Mergers & Acquisitions, Dividends, New Issues, Fixed Income, and a Directory of Directors.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Online
    Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • IBISWorld - US/Canadian & Global Industry Reports
    Our IBISWorld database contains a range of comprehensive industry reports in the following regions - United States, Canada and Global. Industry analysis includes key statistics, industry performance, up-to-date forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape. Report Listings • US Industry Reports: The core collection has 30-40 page reports on more than 700 U.S. industries. The reports are written to the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). • US Specialized Industry Reports: NAICS can often be too broad when dealing with small or new industries. IBISWorld is adding new reports every week that follow our standard report format and complement our NAICS collection. • Canada Industry Reports: The Canadian collection has over 400 detailed research reports on a wide variety of Canadian industries with new reports added every month. • Global Industry Reports: 75 Global Industry Reports offer the same clear and up-to-date forecasts as our country-based industry reports, but instead focus on industry performance in key regions like Europe, Asia, the Middle East and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Intellect
    Mergent Intellect offers subscribed access to detailed business data for over 200 million public and private U.S., Canadian and international companies. Alongside detailed company research, the "Advanced Search" feature of the Intellect interface provides the opportunity to find executive contact information, build contact/mailing lists and much more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • First Research - Industry Profiles (Mergent Intellect)
    First Research offers knowledge tools (Industry Profiles and State & Provincial Profiles) that are essential for enhancing presentations and learning about key issues within 1000+ U.S. and Canadian industries. Canadian Industries: Select the International/Global Content tab on the Blue Navigation ribbon.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Archives
    Mergent Archives provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries. Digitized content includes: Mergent (Moody’s) manuals (1909 -), Ford Equity Research Reports for over 4500 U.S. and Canadian companies, 85 years of annual reports beginning as early as 1925, and access to the entire collection of Mergent’s semi-annual industry reports (2003 -).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Films on Demand
    UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels. UNB subscribed Collections The Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles) The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles) Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access per title
  • Kanopy (moderated access)

    On June 1, 2019, UNB Libraries’ transitioned to a mediated access model for Kanopy online streaming, shifting from automatic purchase of titles (receiving four plays or more) to mediated purchases requiring a prior patron request.

    Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.


    Unlimited simultaneous users per leased title.
  • NFB Campus (National Film Board of Canada)
    NFB Campus offers access to over 3,500 Canadian film productions, including 500 new titles added just for classroom use.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Streaming Video - Economics

  • Kanopy
    Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
  • Films on Demand
    UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection. The collection includes 600+ videos covering Economics topics such as International Economics, Macroeconomics and Microeconomics.

 

UNB Subscribed Journals

UNB Subscribed Journals

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, both online and in print. When searching for journal articles, the Econlit database is the best place to begin your search.

Academic Journals

A few journal titles in Economics include:

Review Articles

Review articles provide a good overview of a topic and the current state of research:

Magazines

Journal/eBook Packages

Newspapers

 

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form. 

Find Books

Search UNB WorldCat for books (including e-books), videos, and other material held by UNB libraries as well as material held by other libraries around the world.

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 
Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

 

Learn how to search for e-books within UNB Libraries’ collections, access and navigate e-books online, locate instructions to download select e-books for offline use, and use e-book features, such as annotating, organizing, downloading specific pages, and printing. A transcript of this video is available.

 

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

To browse the shelves for books in Economics or Business, try the following Call Number ranges:

HA 1 - 4737 Statistics
HB 1 - 3840 Economic theory. Demography
HC 10 - 1085 Economic history and conditions
HD 28 -9999 Industries. Land Use. Labor
HF Commerce
HF 5601- 5689 Accounting
HG Finance
HG 1501-3550 Banking
HJ 9-9940 Public Finance

Government Documents

Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps/GIS website also provides access to a variety of materials. It includes a list of Internet sites of federal, provincial and international governments which provide information sources and publications for downloading, to supplement the collection found in UNB WorldCat.

UNB Libraries is a depository library for the federal Depository Services Program (including Statistics Canada publications), the European Union, the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations.

 

Statistics & Data

Here is a selection of free, online resources for economic statistics.

For a detailed breakdown of Canadian, regional, and international data sources, including downloadable data sets, visit the Data Services research guide.

Canada

New Brunswick and Atlantic Canada

United States

Global

Case Studies

Find Case Studies at UNB Libraries

UNB Libraries carry a variety of resources that contain case studies:

Business Source Ultimate

  • Access Business Source Ultimate
  • When constructing your search, select the "subject terms" option and type your area of interest (e.g., supply and demand)
  • Under "Limit Your Results" be sure to set Publication Type to "Case Study"
  • Click Search
  • Refine your search results using the limiters in the left margin of your results screen if required

ABI/Inform Complete

  • Access ABI/Inform Complete
  • When constructing your search, select the "All subjects & indexing" option and type your area of interest (e.g., consumer behavior)
  • Under "Document Type" be sure to set select "Case Study"
  • Click Search
  • Refine your search results using the limiters in the right margin of your results screen if required

Print/Electronic Books

  • Access Advanced WorldCat Search 
  • When constructing your search, select the "subject" option in the Search Index and type Case Studies
  • Select your area of interest (e.g., labor unions) also using the "subject" option
  • Click Search
  • Refine your search results if required

Online Journals

UNB Libraries subscribe to a few journals that specialize in case studies including the following:

Find Free Case Studies

Economics Network, UK

Natural Resources Conservation Service, United States Department of Agriculture:

Find Published Case Studies and Purchase Directly from Publisher

 

 

Evaluate Your Sources

Whether you are searching the web or UNB Libraries' databases, how do you know whether your search has turned up sources that are credible, objective, and trustworthy? How do you know whether you can use a website as an academic source?

proven

P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Process by Ellen Carey. 2021. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Review this PROVEN handout for more details.

Watch this video where you will learn how to use the PROVEN evaluation process to ensure that you select online sources that are authoritative. PROVEN stands for: purpose, relevance, objectivity, verifiability, expertise, and newness. A transcript of this video is available.

 

Cite Your Sources

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted references and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research, as they acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

The standard citation style for Business is American Psychological Association (APA) style, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Always check your course syllabus or ask your instructor to be sure you are using the correct citation style.

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) provides guidance on writing research papers and acknowledging sources. The below examples, based on APA style, are intended to provide help on how to format in-text references/citations in a reference list for the kinds of resources frequently used by Business students and faculty. 

In addition to these examples, citation management tools like Zotero can help you with your research, as they can serve as a repository for your references and are able to auto generate* in-text citations and a Reference list.

*Just a word of caution when using auto generation: double check the citations and references for accuracy, as they are generated by vendor software not humans! 

Every Business assignment (e.g., report/paper) must include references that have TWO parts:

  1. In-Text Reference (Citation): The purpose of in-text references/citations is to identify the sources of your information and to distinguish your ideas from those of others. In the body of your paper, provide the surname of the author(s) and the year of publication to credit a specific passage/idea used. You can provide the reference information in your own text or within parentheses. The standard format is: (Author, Year of Publication, Page Number*). *Page number is required for direct quotes, but optional when paraphrasing. 
    1. Example for narrative in-text citation: In Dill’s 2021 article, it is cited that certain industries like health, retail and food services have experienced especially high rates of turnover. 
    2. Example for parenthetical in-text citation: Certain industries like health, retail and food services have experienced especially high rates of turnover (Dill, 2021). 
  2. Reference List: The purpose of the list is to guide your reader to the sources you have used in your paper. At the end of your paper, on a separate page, provide the full details of all sources in a reference list, entitled “References” (without quotation marks and centered). Your reference list should display each entry in alphabetical order by the surname of the first author. Each reference entry should be double-spaced with the second line indented. Double-spacing is also required between all entries. APA Style has a useful Guide to Creating An APA Style Reference List. 

See the below Reference List examples for frequently-used UNB Libraries’ business databases. Note that due to formatting constraints, they do not display double-spacing or indentation. The Examples are also available in PDF format. 

Reference List Examples

Business Source Reference List Examples
ABI/INFORM Complete (ABI) Dill, K. (2021, Oct 15). America's workers are leaving jobs in record numbers; U.S. workers handed in nearly 20 million resignations this spring and summer. Wall Street Journal (Online). 
BCC Research BCC Publishing Staff. (2021, November). Smart grid: Global markets to 2026 (ENG032A). https://www.bccresearch.com/ 
Bloomberg Bloomberg. (n.d.). Stock price graph for Bank of Montreal 1/01/2020 to 12/31/21 [Data set]. Retrieved January 14, 2022, from https://www.bloomberg.com /
Bloomberg Businessweek Rai, S., Ghosh, S., Kalesh, B., & Luo, J. (2021, November 8). India’s fintech boom. Bloomberg Businessweek, (4719), 25–26.
Business Plans Handbook (Gale) Gale. (2021). Electronic waste collection and recycling business. In D. Craft (Ed.), Business plans handbook (Vol. 51, pp. 69-81). Gale Directory Library. https://www.gale.com/databases/gale-directory-library 
Business Source Ultimate

[Journal Article]

Joshi, A., Hambrick, D. C., & Kang, J. (2021). The generativity mindsets of chief executive officers: A new perspective on succession outcomes. Academy of Management Review, 46(2), 385–405. https://doi.org/10.5465/amr.2018.0426 

[MarketLine company profile]

MarketLine. (2021, August 19). Tesla, Inc. [Company profile]. Business Source Ultimate. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/business-source-ultimate 

[Political Risk Yearbook country report]

PRS Group. (2021, July). Brazil country report. Political Risk Yearbook. Business Source Ultimate. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/business-source-ultimate 
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete (CBCA)

Team Canada unveils winning wardrobe: Lululemon worked with athletes to create uniforms that marry fashion and function. (2021, Oct 27). Toronto Star, B10. 

[Note that for news articles with no attributed author, move the title to the first position in the reference list. In text, use the article title in "quotation marks" in lieu of the author's name. For long titles, just use the first few words.]
Company Webpage - Company Reports & Filings (Public Webpage) Roblox Corp. (2021, August 16). Quarterly Report.  https://ir.roblox.com/overview/default.aspx  
D&B Hoovers

[Company Profile]

Dun & Bradstreet. (n.d.). Beyond Meat, Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved November 9, 2021, from https://web.lib.unb.ca/eresources/index.php?id=3262 

[Note: Because the above report is regularly updated, a retrieval date is included in the citation.]

[Industry Profile]

Freedonia Focus Reports. (2021, June). Beverages: United States [Industry profile]. Dun & Bradstreet. 
EconLit Baudot, L., Huang, Z., & Wallace, D. (2021). Stakeholder Perceptions of Risk in Mandatory Corporate Responsibility Disclosure. Journal of Business Ethics, 172(1), 151–174. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10551-020-04476-7   
EDGAR – U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission (Public Website) Tesla, Inc. (2021, February 8). Tesla, Inc.: Form 10-K 2020. EDGAR. https://www.sec.gov/ix?doc=/Archives/edgar/data/1318605/000156459021004599/tsla-10k_20201231.htm 
eMarketer

Many eMarketer reports are covered by analysts. Analysts should be used as authors.

von Abrams, K. (2021, October 21). The global media intelligence report 2021: A reference guide to consumers’ media use in 43 countries. eMarketer. https://www.emarketer.com/  
First Research  See Mergent Intellect
Forrester Research

Forrester reports are covered by analysts. Analysts should be used as authors.

Liu, J., Collins, E., McElveen, S., & Turley, C. (2021, October 26). Know your social media audience in 2021 — And if they want to interact with you. Forrester. https://www.forrester.com/ 
Freedonia Focus Reports See D&B Hoovers 
Frost & Sullivan Frost & Sullivan. (2021, November 3). Global healthcare personal protective equipment growth opportunities (K638). https://ww2.frost.com 
FP Advisor (formerly Infomart)

FP Advisor. (n.d.). Corporate snapshots: Royal Bank of Canada. Retrieved January 19, 2022 from https://fpadvisor.financialpost.com/corporate-snapshots/search

[Note: Because the above report is regularly updated, a retrieval date is included in the citation.]
Harvard Case Study  Puri, S. (2022). Should you compromise your founding principles for faster growth? (Harvard Business Review Case Study No. R2201X-PDF-ENG). https://hbsp.harvard.edu/product/R2201X-PDF-ENG?Ntt= 
IBISWorld - Industry Reports

IBISWord Industry reports are covered by analysts. Analysts should be used as authors. 

McGrath, S. (2021, May). Fruit and nut farming in Canada (IBISWorld Canada Industry Report 11135CA). IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com
Market share reporter (Gale) Gale. Leading Children's Apparel Store Operators, 2019. (2021) In V. L. Burton, III & R. S. Lazich (Eds.), Market Share Reporter (31st ed.). Gale. 
MarketLine company profile See Business Source Ultimate
Meltwater - Canadian newspapers & beyond (formerly Infomart) Bishop, J. (2021, November 4). Atlantic coast becomes one of the 'most reliable places' to find great white sharks. New Brunswick Telegraph Journal (Print Edition), A3.
Mergent Archives Mergent Inc. (2019, October). Biotechnology Asia-Pacific: a company and industry analysis. Mergent. https://www.mergentarchives.com
Mergent Intellect 

[Company Profile]

Mergent Inc. (n.d.). Shopify Inc. [Company Overview]. Retrieved November 8, 2021 from https://www.mergentintellect.com

[Note: Because the above report is regularly updated, a retrieval date is included in the citation.]

[First Research Industry Profile]

First Research (2022, January 10). Venture Capital. First Research. Mergent.  https://www.mergentintellect.com 
Mergent Online

Mergent Inc. (n.d.). Costco Wholesale Corp [Company financials data set]. Retrieved November 8, 2021 from https://www.mergentonline.com

[Note: Because the above report is regularly updated, a retrieval date is included in the citation.]
OECD iLibrary -- Note OECD iLibrary contains books, papers, and statistics

OECD reports are covered by analysts. Analysts should be used as authors.

Lane, M., & Saint-Martin, A. (2021, Jan 25). The impact of Artificial Intelligence on the labour market. OECD Publishing. OECD iLibrary. https://doi.org/10.1787/1815199X
Passport

Passport reports are covered by analysts. Analysts should be used as authors.

Solomon, D. (2021, Oct 25). Global economic outlook: Q4 2021. Euromonitor International. Passport GMID. https://www.portal.euromonitor.com/
PitchBook

In PitchBook, you may use search filters to create different kinds of lists. To cite these lists, use square brackets to describe how you compiled your list. 

PitchBook Data. (n.d.). [List of completed buyouts in Canada between Jan 1 202 and June 1 2021]. Retrieved November 12, 2021 from https://pitchbook.com

PitchBook Data. (n.d.) Saeplast [Company profile]. Retrieved November 12, 2021 from https://pitchbook.com

[Note: Because the above report is regularly updated, a retrieval date is included in the citation.]
Political Risk Yearbook Country Report See Business Source Ultimate
PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers Waldie, P. (2021, Nov 12). Ugandan activist finds her voice and spot in the picture. Globe and Mail (Print edition), A4. 
SEDAR - Canadian Securities Administrators (public website) Thomson Reuters Corporation. (2021, November 4). 52-109F2 - Certification of interim filings - CEO (E). SEDAR. https://sedar.com
Statista

Statista is a statistics portal that brings together data/information from 18,000 different sources. If Statista notes a source, then the source should be used as the author.

Marketplace Pulse. (2020, June). Most popular categories among handmade Etsy sellers worldwide as of June 2020, by share of sellers [Graph]. Statista. https://www.statista.com/statistics/1019956/global-leading-categories-handmade-etsy-sellers/ 
Statistics Canada Statistics Canada. (2021). Table 21-10-0011-01 Commercial and industrial machinery and equipment rental and leasing, sales by type of client [Data table]. https://doi.org/10.25318/2110001101-eng
Vividata Vividata. (2021, Spring). Finance\Online banking - personally used past 3 months [Base: Age 14+] [Data set]. https://vividata.ca

Citing Indigenous Knowledge

Indigenous scholars have long pointed out the ways the rules of academic citation styles can be exclusionary. Following the existing rules, it can be difficult to grant Indigenous knowledges, particularly oral teachings, the respect they deserve. In 2021, Lorisia MacLeod of the James Smith Cree Nation published templates for citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers in various styles. MacLeod's complete article is available here. 

Here is her template for APA format:

Last name, First initial. Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. Where they live if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. personal communication. Month Date, Year.

For example: 

Cardinal, D. Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. personal communication. April 4, 2004.

Key Resources

APA Style Resources

More Information More Information

Subject Specialties:
Business; English; Economics; Philosophy