Skip to main content

Political Science Guide

Related Guides: Human Rights • International Development Studies • Public Policy

Introduction

This guide presents various types of resources that you can find through the Library for research in Political Science. You'll find a brief description of each type of source below.

When researching a new topic, it's usually best to follow the process of moving from general (background) sources to gradually more specific (detailed) sources. This is why we highly recommend that you start with the Encyclopedias etc. tab, and then move through the other tabs from left to right. To learn more about how to conduct library research, visit our Research Help page.

Research process diagram
Encyclopedias etc.
These resources will give you overviews of your subject, define terms, list useful books and journals, and help you frame your topic. Start with these and return to them when you encounter concepts or terms later in your research that you don’t understand.
 

Find Books
Books generally provide more in-depth information on your topic. Scan the Table of Contents and the Index of the books you find, to see if they focus on your topic or on aspects of it.
 

Find Articles
Journal articles are shorter than books, and tend to provide less background information and focus instead on very specific topics.

 

 

 

Encyclopedias, etc.

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Political Science. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.

General Works:

Key Resources

  • Glossary of Political Theory, A
    see also [HIL-REF JA65 .H64 2007]

    Covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. This book is based on the premise that politics cannot be studied without theory, and for students, the more concrete and relevant the theory, the better. It presents definitions that relate political ideas to political realities.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • International encyclopedia of political science
    see also [HIL-REF JA61 .I58 2011]

    With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, this eight-volume encyclopedia offers the widest possible coverage of key areas both regionally and globally. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of our approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world. The eight volumes cover every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.

Additional Resources

  • Information Sources of Political Science [HIL-REF JA71 .H64 2005]

    The eagerly anticipated new edition of the widely acclaimed Information Sources of Political Science</I> is the most comprehensive English-language political bibliography available, offering the surest way for students and researchers to get straight to the information they need. Like no other volume, it provides a fully rounded view of the field both in the United States and internationally, including relevant works in history, economics, sociology, and education.

    Its 2,500 entries cover a wide variety of source types: indexing and abstracting services, major bibliographical tools, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, statistical compilations, and more. In addition, this edition is the first to feature substantial coverage of electronic resources, both databases and Internet sites. Each source receives its own annotation, with entries grouped in categories to bring together like works for easy comparison. This work is a cornerstone reference for academic and public libraries.

  • Encyclopedia of Political Science [HIL-REF JA61 .E513 2011]

    A 21st century approach to the study of politics Political science needs a resource that serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics. This title brings together a editorial board and over 600 rising scholars to chronicle the core issues that have long concerned students of politics.

  • Political Handbook of the World [HIL-REF JF37 .P6 2008]

    The following volumes are held in HIL-STACKS: 1995/96-2000/02, 2005/06-2007

    The following volumes are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk): 1975-1976, 1979-1982/83, 1986-1994/95

  • Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy [HIL-REF HF1359 .R68 2001 vols. 1-3]

    This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the rapidly developing field of international political economy. Its entries provide a guide to the basic issues, concepts, and institutions used by international political economy in its various forms.

  • Oxford encyclopedia of foreign policy analysis [HIL-REF JZ1242 .O84 2018]

    "The Oxford Encyclopedia of Foreign Policy Analysis examines the theories and factors that influence and determine foreign policy. In a wide-ranging set of over 100 articles, experts examine topics as diverse as climate change, organized crime, two-level games, and veto player approaches"-- Provided by publisher.

  • Sage encyclopedia of political behavior [HIL-REF JA74.5 .S23 2017]

    The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior. This encyclopedia integrates theories, research, and case studies from a variety of disciplines that inform this established area of study. Aimed at college and university students, this one-of-a-kind book covers voting patterns, interactions between groups, what makes different types of government systems appealing to different societies, and the impact of early childhood development on political beliefs, among others. Topics explored by political psychologists are of great interest in fields beyond either psychology or political science, with implications, for instance, within business and management. This title will be available online on SAGE Knowledge, the ultimate social sciences library.

  • Handbook of research on citizen engagement and public participation in the era of new media [HIL-REF HM742 .H355 2017]

    Citizen engagement in local environmental issues: intersecting modes of communication / Lorna Heaton, Patrícia Días da Silva -- Integrating multiple channels of engagement in democratic innovations: opportunities and challenges / Paolo Spada, Giovanni Allegretti -- Public engagement and policy entrepreneurship on social media in the time of anti-vaccination movements / Melodie Yun-Ju Song, Julia Abelson -- Old media, new media, and public engagement with science and technology / Yulia A. Strekalova [and 4 others] -- Social media and public participation: opportunities, barriers, and a new framework / James Patrick Toscano -- Youth engagement in the era of new media / Yoshitaka Iwasaki -- Organically modified news networks: gatekeeping in social media coverage of GMOs / Jacob Groshek -- Citizen engagement and news selection for Facebook pages / Georgeta Drulă -- A comparative view of citizen engagement in social media of local governments from North American countries / María del Mar Gálvez-Rodríhuez [and 2 others] -- Information hubs or drains? The role of online sources in campaign learning / Terri L. Towner -- Occupy rhetoric: responding to charges of "slacktivism" with digital activism successes / Stephanie Vie [and 2 others] -- Citizen journalism: news gathering by amateurs / Rabia Noor -- Social media as public political instrument / Ikbal Maulana -- A gradual political change? The agenda setting effect of online activism in China 1994-2011 / Yuan Yuan -- A comparative view of censored and uncensored political discussion: the case of Chinese social media users / Qihao Ji -- Smartphones and their increased importance in U.S. presidential elections / Ramona Sue McNeal [and 2 others] -- The Dutch participation society needs open data, but what is meant by open? / Roel During [and 3 others] -- Alternative tweeting: a comparison of frames in Twitter's political discourse and mainstream newspaper coverage of the Singapore general election of 2011 / Sabrina Mercy Anthony, Weiyu Zhang -- Building a new state from outrage: the case of Catalonia / Marc Perelló-Sobrepere -- Social media, political mobilization, and citizen engagement: a case study of the March 18, 2014, Sunflower Student Movement in Taiwan / Kenneth C.C. Yang, Yowei Kang -- Measuring enclosures and efficacy in online feminism: the case of Rewire / Erin Heisler -- Social media and the public sphere in China: a case study of political discussion on Weibo after the Wenzhou high-speed rail derailment accident / Zhou Shan, Lu Tang.

  • Handbook on Gender in World Politics [HIL-REF HQ1075 .H354 2016]

    "The Handbook on Gender in World Politics is an up-to-date, comprehensive, multi-disciplinary compendium of scholarship in gender studies. The text provides an indispensable reference guide for scholars and students interrogating gender issues in international and global contexts. Substantive areas covered include: statecraft, citizenship and the politics of belonging, international law and human rights, media and communications technologies, political economy, development, global governance and transnational visions of politics and solidarities"--Provided by publisher.

Political Philosophy:

Key Resources

  • Blackwell guide to social and political philosophy, The
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Cambridge history of eighteenth-century political thought, The
    Written by a distinguished team of international contributors, this text provides a comprehensive overview of the development of western political thought during the European enlightenment.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Companion to contemporary political philosophy, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Companion to Greek and Roman political thought, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP)
    "Features over 2000 original articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. With a summary providing a rapid orientation at the beginning of every in-depth article."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Blackwell dictionary of Western philosophy, The
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users

Additional Resources

  • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas [HIL-REF, HWK-REF CB9 .N49 2005]

    The earlier work was published at a time when interdisciplinarity was a new trend; and the new work continues this emphasis, as stated in the preface, by "its focus on the most influential multidisciplinary practices, such as 'Mysticism,' 'Mathematics,' and 'Reading,' which have ancient origins, and 'Representation: Mental Representation' and 'Bioethics,' which are creations of our own times." The approximately 600 articles are signed, include references and cross-references, and are arranged chronologically. Access is facilitated by a theme-oriented Reader's Guide (in each volume) and a substantial index, which occupies about half of volume six.

     

Political Economy:

Key Resources

Additional Resources

  • Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy [HIL-REF HF1359 .R68 2001 vols. 1-3]

    This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the rapidly developing field of international political economy. Its entries provide a guide to the basic issues, concepts, and institutions used by international political economy in its various forms.

Canadian Politics:

Key Resources

  • Canadian Encyclopedia
    Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada
    The Internet component of the print loose-leaf service Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada is a collection of case digests prepared by Matthew Taylor and Mahmud Jamal. The digests contain links to full-text decisions. Users can search both the digests and the full-text decisions using a variety of search terms. Although intended to complement Taylor and Jamal's commentary on Charter cases contained in the loose-leaf component, these case digests can be used as an independent resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
    The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada provides detailed biographies of important figures in Canadian history from the year 1000 to 1930. This free online resource is produced by Library and Archives Canada, in partnership with Universite Laval and the University of Toronto, and reproduces the full contents of the print Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • HeinOnline - Canada Supreme Court Reports
    Full-text access to all volumes of the Supreme Court Reports. When using the Citation Navigator, enter the volume number in the search box labelled "Vol." for citations to volumes 1 (1876/77)-64 (1923), but enter the volume year without brackets and the volume number if applicable for citations to volumes published after v.64 (1923). For example, enter 1977 2 in the "Vol." box to find [1977] 2 S.C.R. 36. Advanced search options are also available.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • HeinOnline - Revised Statutes of Canada
    The Revised Statutes of Canada is the consolidation of the Statutes of Canada incorporating amendments and Acts that have been added since the last revision. There have been six revisions thus far in 1886, 1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, and 1985. HeinOnline includes complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Quebec Government Documents - BAnQ Open Access Collections
    Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec (BAnQ) has adopted an ambitious digitization program for the whole of the published and archival documentary heritage produced in Québec since the 17th century, or of foreign origin and related to Québec. All categories of documents are included: printed and handwritten material, photographs, sound recordings and so on. The digitized resources are available free of charge on the Web with more being added.

    This resource interface is available in English and French, with some tools only available in French and the content being primarly French as well.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Annual Review of Politics and Public Affairs 1902 - 2002 [HIL-REF FC2 .C3]
  • Canadian fact book on poverty, 2000, The [multiple locations HIL-REF HC120 .P6 R67 2000]

Additional Resources

Area Studies:

  • African political facts since 1945 [HIL-REF DT30 .C594 1991]

    This latest edition of African Political Facts since 1945 provides a work of reference on this period of modern African history and politics.

  • African-American political leaders [HIL-REF E185.96 .C18 2004]

    This reference for students and the general reader presents alphabetically arranged entries on more than 185 African-American political leaders. Each profile concentrates on the events in that person's life related to his or her accomplishments in politics. Some of the leaders discussed include U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell, NAACP President and U.S. Congressional Representative Kweisi Mfume, and presidential candidate and U.S. Senator Carol Moseley Braun. Carey, who has written extensively on black history, teaches at Central Virginia Community College. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Guide to U.S. elections [HIL-REF JK1967 .C662 2016]

    Volume I. Elections in America. The evolution of American elections ; Elections: an expanding franchise -- Political parties. Campaign finance ; Politics and issues, 1945-2014 ; Political party development ; Historical profiles of American political parties ; The Southern electoral experience -- Presidential elections. Introduction to Presidential elections ; Chronology of Presidential elections ; Presidential primaries ; Presidential primary returns, 1912-2012 ; Nominating conventions ; Political party nominees, 1831-2012 ; Convention chronology, 1831-2012 ; Key convention ballots ; Popular vote returns for President ; The Electoral College ; Electoral votes for President, 1789-2012 ; Biographical directory of Presidential and Vice-Presidential candidates -- Volume II. Congressional elections. Introduction to Congressional elections ; House elections ; Reapportionment and redistricting ; House general election returns, 1824-2015 ; Senate elections ; U.S. Senators, 1789-2015 ; Senate general election returns, 1913-2014 ; Senate primary election returns, 1920-2014 -- Gubernatorial elections. Introduction to gubernatorial elections ; Governors of the states, 1776-2015 ; Gubernatorial general election returns, 1776-2014 ; Gubernatorial primary election returns, 1919-2014 ; Reference materials -- House candidates index -- Senate general election candidates index -- Senate primary candidates index -- Gubernatorial general election candidates index -- Gubernatorial primary candidates index -- General index.

  • American Political Leaders, 1789-2005 [HIL-REF E176 .A513 2005]
  • American Political Parties in the 21st Century [HIL-REF JK2265 .B54 2006]
  • Columbia Dictionary of European Political History since 1914, The [HIL-REF D424 .C65 1992]

    Originally published: Dictionary of British and European history since 1914. U.K. : Macmillan.

  • Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War: A Political, Social, and Military History, The [HIL-REF E208 .E64 2006 vols. 1-5]

    This impressive 5-volume reference, appropriate for high school and undergraduate students and the public library, contains over 900 entries on the people, battles, issues, and events of the war. Many of the entries are biographical, describing the subject's life and the details of their involvement in the conflict. Two general essays are included at the outset, on the origins of the American Revolution and the military operations during the war. Maps are included at the beginning of vols.1-4 (maps of specific actions are also incorporated into the text), and a glossary, chronology, and bibliography are included in vol.4. All of vol.5 is devoted to primary documents, including acts, resolutions, official reports, first-hand and sometimes contrasting accounts of significant events, letters, treaties, and political proclamations. The volumes are well illustrated with b #38;w images. Fremont-Barnes is an independent historian; Ryerson is academic director of the David Library of the American Revolution, Washington Crossing, Penn. The contributors are academics and independent scholars in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of the Arab-Irsaeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History, The [HIL-REF DS119.7 .E5653 2008 vols. 1-4]

    With a focus on the military aspects of the conflict, this 4-volume resource also contains lengthy entries on central issues of religion and culture that have an impact on Israeli and Palestinian relations. The first three volumes are devoted to the A-Z entries, many of them biographies, with topics that include specific battles, treaties, and sites. Individual entries are included for the policies of key countries, such as France, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, and the Soviet Union. Each entry concludes with cross-references and a short list of references, and many include b #38;w images. Volume Four is given over to the comprehensive index and 168 primary documents (many in excerpted form), including military reports, resolutions and declarations by various delegations and congresses, protocols, and speeches. This is a thorough, even-handed work that provides clear descriptions of the history of this long-standing and complex conflict to a wide readership. Annotation #169;2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History, The [HIL-REF D840 .E63 2008 vols. 1-5]

    This set is a comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. The confrontation of Western capitalism and Soviet and Chinese Communism shaped world affairs for almost the entire second half of the 20th centurya period defined by pervasive political tension, nuclear-fueled nightmares, intense diplomacy, and the transformation of regional/national disputes into test-case ideological battlefields where the superpowers squared off. The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitudefrom a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, The Encyclopedia of the Cold War provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.

  • Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History [HIL-REF D740 .E516 2004 vols. 1-5]

    Tucker (retired, military history, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington and emeritus, history, Texas Christian U.) and five assistant editors have compiled an impressive reference of over 1500 alphabetical entries, supplemented with maps and a volume of primary documents. The entries contain descriptions and analysis of battles, weapons systems, wartime conferences, battlefield and diplomatic turning points, geographical areas, and military divisions. A large percentage of the entries are biographies. Care has been taken to achieve a global focus, with entries covering aspects of all theaters of the war. Maps are one of the reference's strengths; they're plentiful and clearly marked with cities and towns, battle sites, lines of battle, etc. Each entry includes cross-referencing and a short list of references; many include b #38;w photos. Volume Five, edited by Priscilla Mary Roberts (history, U. of Hong Kong) is devoted to 238 primary documents, including speeches, the texts of broadcasts, acts, resolutions, laws, directives, and charters; it contains as well the comprehensive index for all five volumes. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Ethnopolitical Encyclopaedia of Europe, The [HIL-REF GN492 .E86 2004]

    This volume presents a comprehensive and up-to-date picture of ethnopolitics in Europe. It details the dynamics of the political mobilization of ethnic groups across the continent and its consequences for domestic and international politics. Written by recognized experts in the field and following a clear structure, this is an essential reference work for any student of contemporary Europe, allowing for systematic cross-national and cross-community comparisons. It also serves as a unique data source on the continent's politically mobilized ethnic groups. The Ethnopolitical Encyclopaedia of Europe is the first work of its kind that systematically and rigorously examines the politics of ethnicity throughout the continent as a whole. Rather than indulge in a tour of Europe designed to unearth as many diverse population groups as possible, the Encyclopaedia is focused and serves as a unique data source on the continent's politically mobilized ethnic groups. In order to facilitate easy access, the various regions of Europe are assessed and then the nature of the politics of ethnicity is analyzed on a country-by-country basis. The combination of incisive entries, maps, tables and easy-to-use country guides makes this an invaluable reference book for both academics and practitioners.

  • Political Handbook of the World [HIL-REF JF37 .P6 2008]

    The following volumes are held in HIL-STACKS: 1995/96-2000/02, 2005/06-2007

    The following volumes are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk): 1975-1976, 1979-1982/83, 1986-1994/95

 

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 
Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, search UNB WorldCat, and change the default UNB Libraries to Libraries Worldwide. Once you have identified a title that is not locally held, select the red Request Item button and follow the screens. You can also access the document delivery request form directly.

Shelf Browsing

To browse the shelves for books in Political Science, try the following ranges:

HX Socialism, Communism, Anarchism
J Political Science (General)
JC Political Theory
JF Political institutions and public administration - General
JJ Political institutions and public administration - North America
JK Political institutions and public administration - United States
JL Political institutions and public administration - Canada, West Indies, Mexico, Central and South America
JN Political institutions and public administration - Europe
JQ Political institutions and public administration - Asia, Arab countries, Islamic countries, Africa, Atlantic Ocean islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Ocean islands
JS Local government. Municipal government.
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration.
JZ International Relations
KZ International law

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Political Science. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases  tab on the library website.

Key Resources

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ProQuest Politics Collection
    This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.

    The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
    The Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Limited to single-user access.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."

    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service : UK Theses)
    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitization.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
    Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
    U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:
    • Bills and Acts 1695-2018
    • Command Papers 1802-2018
    • House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
    • House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
    • Hansard 1803-2005
    • Journals 1688-1834
    • Debates 1774-1805
    • Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA - ProQuest)
    "The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions."--Home page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - Books & Journals
    "This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest)
    "Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Basic Edition)
    Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OECD iLibrary - Books, Papers and Statistics
    OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes. The main texts are accessed as PDFs, whilst related tables are in XLS, PDF or HTML.OECD Statistics provides online access to all OECD’s published data, irrespective of format. It includes the dynamic interactive databases, as well as the statistical annuals and periodicals in PDF format, and their related tables in XLS, PDF and HTML. OECD iLibrary Content items (April 2020): • 15 620 ebook titles • 81 600 chapters • 242 220 tables and graphs • 2 305 articles • 6 360 multilingual summaries • 6 620 working papers • 7 billion data points across 44 databases.

    IEA Statistical Databases are not included in this package.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • UN iLibrary
    The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Themes include Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, and Women and Gender Issues.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Bepress Legal Repository
    A growing collection of working papers and presentations emanating mainly from American law school faculty and graduate students. The papers cover all areas of the law, but the emphasis is on law and economics, legal theory, and public law and policy.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • HeinOnline
    HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • LabourSource
    WestlawNext Canada's LabourSource provides access to arbitration, labour board, and court decisions in Canada; labour and employment legislation from all jurisdictions in Canada; and the latest commentary from Canada's labour law experts, including Donald Brown and David Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, George Adams' Canadian Labour Law, and Warren Winkler and Elaine Willis' Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases.
    Please note that UNB does not subscribe to all components of LabourSource; UNB subscribes to the Classic Edition package.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • RCMP Security Bulletins

    RCMP monthly intelligence reports, 1919-1945.

  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
    Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada
    The Internet component of the print loose-leaf service Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada is a collection of case digests prepared by Matthew Taylor and Mahmud Jamal. The digests contain links to full-text decisions. Users can search both the digests and the full-text decisions using a variety of search terms. Although intended to complement Taylor and Jamal's commentary on Charter cases contained in the loose-leaf component, these case digests can be used as an independent resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Films on Demand
    UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels. UNB subscribed Collections The Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles) The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles) Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access per title
  • War on Poverty and Office of Economic Opportunity: Part III Administration of Antipoverty Programs & Civil Rights, 1964-67 (Gale)
    "This collection brings together a series of Office of Economic Opportunity (OEO) collections that highlight efforts to meld the issue of civil rights and antipoverty initiatives: 1) Alphabetical File of Samuel Yette, 1964-1966: Yette was the Special Assistant to the Director of Civil Rights. Among his records are correspondence, reports, antipoverty program analyses, minutes of meetings, transcripts of testimonies, and other material. 2) Program Files, 1964-1967: These records consist of correspondence, weekly reports on civil rights matters, reports by civil rights coordinators, equal employment opportunity guidelines, and more. 3) Records Relating to the Administration of the Civil Rights Program in the Regions, 1965-1966: These records arranged by region > state > local areas and cities consist of correspondence between regional coordinators, various civil rights groups, labor organizations, members of Congress, and community groups regarding the activities of the OEO." Original Microform Title: The War on Poverty and the Office of Economic Opportunity; Part 3: Administration of Antipoverty Programs and Civil Rights, 1964-1967
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Housing, Racial Policies, and Civil Rights: The Intergroup Relations Branch of the Federal Public Housing Administration, 1936-1963
    "Public housing at the federal level was introduced in 1937 and was intended to provide public financing of low-cost housing in the form of publicly- managed and owned multifamily developments. This collection includes directives and memoranda related to the Public Housing Administration's policies and procedures. Among the documents are civil rights correspondence, statements and policy about race, labor-based state activity records, local housing authorities' policies on hiring minorities, court cases involving housing decisions, racially-restrictive covenants, and news clippings. The intra-agency correspondence consists of reports on sub-Cabinet groups on civil rights, racial policy, employment, and Commissioner's staff meetings."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Listed below are some of the electronic journals related to political science and available through UNB Libraries. Please note that this is not a complete list; use the e-Journals search form to find other titles.

UNB Libraries also subscribe to many online news sources, including:

Hundreds of other news titles are available from other sources, including microfilm. Search the library catalogue or ask at the Research Help Desk if you are unsure of our news subscriptions.

 

More Information More Information

  • David Ross (he/him)
  • I am available for 1-on-1 research help in person and by email, phone, and Teams
  • Head Librarian
  • UNB Saint John
  • drross@unb.ca
  • 506-648-5832