Psychology Guide

Using the Library

Lots of our library resources are available to you online.  Here are just a few that you can take advantage of while at UNB.

Catalogue

The catalogue is where you go to find books.  In the nursing program, a big effort is made to purchase as many materials as possible in e-format to make them quick and easy for you to access no matter where you are.  If you need a book that isn't available in e-format, you can order it through our Document Delivery service.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Journal Articles

For peer-reviewed research, you can access any of UNB Libraries' 200+ databases from anywhere.  For authentication purposes, you should always access library databases through the library website (or this research guide).

Access a list of the key nursing databases HERE.

Research Help & Ask Us

To get help with the libraries or with your research, you can use contact your librarian (Richelle Witherspoon) directly, or you can use our Ask Us service to talk, chat or text with one of our Research Help Desk staff.

Access Ask Us HERE.

 

 

COVID-19 - Limited Library Operations

In order to ensure the safety of our staff and students, UNB Libraries are limiting operations.  In the Fall, you will have the option of booking space in the library to study and to pick up books you have requested, but will not be allowed to enter and exit the library freely or to browse the shelves.  Below is a quick run-down of how to use the libraries in the Fall.

Getting Print Books

If you need a print book from any of the UNB libraries, are are not in either Saint John or Fredericton, a limited number of requested items can be mailed directly to you.  For more information on how to get print books while library operations are limited by the pandemic, see our Curbside Pickup page.

Booking Study Space

If you are near the Fredericton or Saint John campuses and would like a space to sit and study alone, UNB Libraries will be implementing a booking system that will allow you to book space inside the library of your choosing. 

You can book space within one of the Fredericton or Saint John libraries HERE.

Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Most of the research you will be doing at UNB will involve article databases. Several of the most important databases for psychology are listed here, but for topics that may cross disciplinary lines (like comorbidities, education, and social policy) you may also want to explore the databases for other disciplines.  You can access lists of those databases by visiting the subject guides for those disciplines.

Key Resources

  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • EMBASE
    EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycTESTS
    PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Medline (1950 to Present)
    "MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
    50 simultaneous OLRN users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycARTICLES
    PsycARTICLES is a database offering access to the full text of 100+ journals in behavioural science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. Coverage includes as far back as 1894 and includes articles from current issue back to volume 1, issue 1.

    Note: To search for articles within this journal, leave the journal name intact and enter any additional terms in the search boxes which follow.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycBOOKS
    "PsycBOOKS®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of approximately 55,000 chapters in PDF from over 3,500 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection. It also contains close to 2,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. PsycBOOKS is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsychiatryOnline
    PsychiatryOnline is a website that features DSM-V and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, PsychiatryOnline features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed. Previous editions of DSM are included here for reference and archival purposes. Each edition is provided in Adobe’s Portable Document Format (PDF). Editions included as of January 2014:
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
    " Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present."
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI : EBSCO)
    Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a bibliographic database with abstracts produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services (BMDS). It is used to find citations to and information about information-gathering tools for clinicians, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. The database contains citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available; bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Social Services Abstracts "provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PILOTS Database
    The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    Violence & Abuse Abstracts publishes 1,200 abstracts annually plus and extended bibliography of recent literature on all types of interpersonal violence, including sexual, physical and psychological child abuse, domestic violence, rape, sexual assault and harassment, hate crimes, workplace violence, gang violence, elder abuse and neglect. Each abstract is categorized into one of four distinct sections: medical, legal, psychological and social.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • INFORMIT Indigenous Collection
    With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts. The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

For additional databases, go to Article Databases.


If we don't have the article you need...

If you locate resources in your search that are not available through UNB Libraries, you may be able to borrow them from another library using our document delivery service.  Visit the Document Delivery page for information about how to request resources and library policies associated with such requests.

How do I know if an article has come from a peer reviewed journal?

One tool you can use is Ulrichsweb. Use this to search for the journal title and if the title is there, look for this icon refereed which indicates the journal is refereed (aka peer reviewed). You can also visit the journal's homepage and look for their About, Editorial, Author, Publication pages for wording that indicates the journal has a peer review process.

*Note: Not everything published in a peer review journal has gone through the peer review process. Journals regularly publish editorials, book reviews, commentaries, etc. (usually only a few pages in length which can be a good indication that your "article" hasn't been peer reviewed and isn't the type of article you should use). Consult your instructor or librarian if you're still unsure after checking whether your article has been peer reviewed.

Quick Information Sources

Explore our Resources

We subscribe to a number of targeted resources.  Explore some of the most important reference tools below.

Key Resources

  • APA--Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association [multiple locations HIL-REFDSK BF 76.7 .P83 2010b]

    6th ed., 2nd printing [with corrections]

    The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
    The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology [HIL-REF BF76.5 .A73 2012 v.1 - v. 3]

    V.1: Foundations, planning, measures, and psychometrics --
    V. 2: Research designs : quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological --
    V. 3: Data analysis and research publication.

Additional Resources

  • Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment [HIL-REF BF176 .C654 2003 vols. 1-4]

    The four volumes of this ambitious reference (edited by Hersen, Pacific U., Forest Grove, Oregon, assisted by an editor for each volume) cover, respectively, intellectual and neuro-psychological assessment, personality assessment, behavioral assessment, and industrial and organizational assessment; they are available individually or as a set. Among the topics in v.1: theories of intelligence, language assessment in children, memory and learning in adults, and the "cultural" in cross-cultural neuropsychology. Chapters in volume 2 are divided into objective and projective assessment and address such topics as the 16PF questionnaire; the diagnostic interview schedule; and projective assessment of object relations, malingering, personality in forensic settings, and affect in children's play. The third volume includes coverage of causal models of behavior disorders, principles of behavioral observations, assessment in work settings, and the DSM system. For industrial and organizational assessment (v.4), chapters are grouped into sections on cognitive ability; basic skills; personality, integrity, and interests; biographical, experience data, and interviews; job-specific knowledge and skills; simulations and assessment centers; job performance, teams, and teamwork; and employee reactions to the workplace. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 1: Foundations

    The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.

  • Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 2: Statistical analysis

    The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.

  • Dictionary of psychology, A
    "Written by a leading authority, with the assistance of a distinguished team of advisory editors, this comprehensive dictionary is essential reading for professional psychologists, psychiatrists, counsellors, and students of psychology and related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, social work, and education. There is comprehensive coverage of phobias and phobic stimuli and mental disorders."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
    Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Books

Search for Books

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Once you have found the item you are looking for, use the call number listed in the search results (if it is a physical item) to locate it on our library shelves.  Click here for information on how to read call numbers.  Alternately, you can visit the Research Help Desks for assistance in locating items in the library.

Browse for Books

On the UNB Fredericton Campus, most books on psychology are in the Harriet Irving Library, and on the UNB Saint John campus all books are in the HWK Commons. To browse the library shelves for books of interest, try the following call number ranges:

RC, BF Clinical Psychology
RC, BF Developmental Psychology
HD, HF Industrial/Organizational Psychology
HM, BF Social Psychology
BD, BF, RC Cognitive Psychology
QL ,QP Behavioural Neuroscience
H1-99  HM 401-1281
(Prior to 1999, HM1-299 was used)
Sociology (General)
H1-99 Social Sciences (General)
 

Get Books from Other Libraries

If you locate resources in your search that are not available through UNB Libraries, you may be able to borrow them from another library using our document delivery service.  Visit the Document Delivery page for information about how to request resources and library policies associated with such requests.

Psychological Tests

Psychological Tests

Locating appropriate and reliable psychology tests, measures, and scales can be challenging, and you often have to rely on trial and error. Below are some tips on how to navigate the related resources depending on your information need.

If you find a scale/test/measure and need to check it's reliable and validated, search:

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
    " Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present."
    4 simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

If you have a topic or the name and need to find similar scales/tests/measures, search:

  • PsycTESTS
    PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI : EBSCO)
    Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a bibliographic database with abstracts produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services (BMDS). It is used to find citations to and information about information-gathering tools for clinicians, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. The database contains citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available; bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
    " Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present."
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • WorldCat
    WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) "catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide."
    unlimited simultaneous users

If you found a scale/test/measure and need the full-text, search:

  • PsycTESTS
    PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

In PsycINFO you can often find scales/tests/measures in the appendix of full-text articles or as supplemental material. And also search in Google for PDFs. But note, not all authors have made the full-text freely available, and often there is a cost to purchase full-text. It may also an option to contact the author and ask if they would share the scale/test/measure with you.


Searching using Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)

A few notes about Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY):

  • This is a book that appears in a database format, and is only updated when new volumes are added (vol. 20, 2017 is the most current)
  • Most useful to search if you know the name of the test/scale, but not every one will be listed
  • Most useful for getting a description of the test/scale, details on its development, reliability/validity, and commentary
  • Does not include the full-text of the test/scale

 

Library Help & Tutorials

Library Toolkit

A self-paced, interactive set of modules for learning the basics of library use and academic research. Housed in D2L Brightspace, the Toolkit provides an introduction to library services and the academic research process at UNB.

Find it in the ‘Free Course Registration’ section in D2L - under 'Libraries' Research Toolkit'.

Learn more about the Toolkit HERE.

Video Tutorials

Introduction to Academic Integrity: The first of three videos that cover academic integrity rules at UNB, what constitutes plagiarism, how to paraphrase, and why proper citation is important.

Introduction to UNB WorldCat: A brief introduction to the library catalogue and how to use it.

How to Find Journal Articles: Learn how to search for journal articles using the catalogue (UNB WorldCat) and specialized article databases available from UNB Libraries.

Canadian Content Searching: A brief introduction to how to find Canadian information from reliable sources.

Community Health and Data: A brief introduction to how to find NB information from reliable sources.  This may be supplemented by the DLI Nesstar handout mentioned at the end of the video.

DLI Nesstar Handout

Good Searching (And a Couple Other Topics Too): Originally designed for 3rd year kinesiology students, this video covers database searching, bias in literature, how to track citations, and citation management tool Zotero.

Zotero Tutorial: An introduction to citation management tool Zotero from installation to bibliography.

For more videos and tutorials, visit the UNB Libraries YouTube channel.

Citing Your Sources

Citing your Sources

The standard citation style for psychology is APA (American Psychological Association).

Resources

Writing and Study Skills Center

UNB Libraries and UNB Writing and Study Skills Center provide a number of brief guides to citing various types of information sources, as well as a guide to avoiding inadvertent plagiarism:

Purdue OWL

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL) maintains extensive resources and instructional material on APA style and formatting:

Zotero

Zotero is a web-based citation manager, available freely online, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.

More Information