Recreation, Leisure and Tourism Guide

Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Most of the research you will be doing at UNB will involve articles databases. Several of the most important databases for RSS are listed here, but for topics that may cross disciplinary lines (like ethics, education, prosthetic devices, etc) you may also want to explore the databases for other disciplines.  You can access lists of those databases by visiting the subject guides for those disciplines.

Key Resources

  • SportDiscus
    SportDiscus is an international database that covers all aspects of "sport, fitness, recreation and related fields."
    8 simultaneous users.
  • Leisure, Recreation and Tourism (see CAB Direct)
    Note: The content of the Leisure, Recreation and Tourism database has been absorbed by CAB Direct. It is no longer a separate database. Leisure, Recreation and Tourism from CAB Direct (formerly Leisure, Recreation and Tourism Abstracts) provides access to the international literature on "research and strategic development of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and hospitality activities, facilities, products and services."
    4 simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

For additional databases, go to Article Databases.




If we don't have the article you need...

If you locate resources in your search that are not available through UNB Libraries, you may be able to borrow them from another library using our document delivery service.  Visit the Document Delivery page for information about how to request resources and library policies associated with such requests.

Quick Information Sources

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches through the indexes in our print and electronic reference works. Search results from Reference Universe will provide you with quick links to many of our print and online reference materials.

Explore our Resources

In addition to Reference Universe, we subscribe to a number of online resources.  Explore some of the most important reference tools below.

Key Resources

  • Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society (2 vols.) [HIL-REF GV11 .E555 2009]

    From the introduction: "In this encyclopedia, we have gathered together an international group of scholars and writers to provide access to the facinating literature that has explored such questions of psychology, learning theory, game theory, and history in depth,  In addition, we have provided entries that describe both adult and childhood play and games in dozens of cultures around the world and throughout history".

  • Leisure Studies [HIL-REF GV14.45 .L46 2010]

    A four volume set in the Key Issues for the Twenty-First Century series.  Included in the volumes are reprints of key academic studies in the are of leisure and recreation.  A very useful resource for those looking for important issues in this field.

  • Dictionary of Concepts in Recreation and Leisure Studies [HIL-REF GV11 .S57 1990]

    This dictionary of vocabulary for terms in recreation and leisure studies covers concepts which are both practical and theoretical, methodological and professional. Each definition is organized chronologically and includes explanations of their derivations and interpretations.

  • Dictionary of Travel and Tourism Terminology [HIL-REF G155 .A1 B38 2002]

    This dictionary provides approximately 7000 definitions of travel and tourism terminology used in the English speaking world. It covers the operating language of the industry, acronyms such as organizations, trade bodies and airlines, IT terms and brand names, for example "Air Miles." The bookcovers all aspects of the tourism industry, including hospitality, transport -- road, rail, air and sea, and ancillary services such as car rental, insurance, passport and visa services, and foreign currency. Entries vary from one-line definitions to 500 word articles. References are provided forfurther reading, and where possible website addresses are given for organizations. It is an essential reference tool for anyone involved in tourism research, and everyone in the travel industry. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation
    see also [HIL-REF GV11 .E55 2003]

    Jenkins (U. of Newcastle, Australia) and Pigram (U. of New England, Australia) present some 500 entries related to academic "leisure studies." Drawing on the disciplines of economics, geography, history, political science, sociology, and physical sciences, the entries broadly cover relevant topics from those disciplines; explanations of concepts, models, and theories, of leisure and outdoor recreation; related industry sectors, government agencies, and academic bodies; and definitions of significant terms and acronyms. Entries typically discuss the historical development of the term or theory, explore current academic debates, describe different treatments of the term in different disciplinary areas, and examine possible future developments. Distributed by Taylor #38; Francis. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR ( Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America [HIL-REF GV53 .E53 2004 vols. 1-2]

    A wide variety of topics are described in this two-volume encyclopedia on the history, people, and the current practice of American pastimes. Drinking, circuses, dancing, darts, fast food, yard sales, amateur radio, photography, and Nordic skiing are some of the leisure activities featured in entries that contain cross-references and bibliographies. More theoretical topics are also included, such as privatization of leisure, racial diversity and leisure lifestyles, regulation and social control of leisure, and urbanization. The entries, which are written at a level appropriate for the advanced high school or undergraduate student, are not merely descriptive, but focus on broad issues such as the history of the activity and the social issues connected with it. Though the majority of the contributors are academics in the US, many teach elsewhere, including in Canada, the UK, New Zealand, and Japan. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR ( Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Tourism [HIL-REF G155 .A1 E4295 2000]

    A quick reference to the wide range of basic definitions, concepts, themes, issues, methods, perspectives, and institutions relating to the tourism industry. The several hundred contributors come from around the world, and represent such fields as anthropology, economics, history, hospitality, marketing, political science, psychology, recreation, and transportation. The 1,200 articles range in length from about 60 to about 1,600 words. They are cross- referenced, and often include a list for further reading. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Oxford Handbook of the Development of Play [HIL-REF BF717 . O94 2011]

    A psychology reference work that may also be valuable for Recreation and Leisure students.


Search for Books

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Once you have found the item you are looking for, use the call number listed in the search results (if it is a physical item) to locate it on our library shelves.  Click HERE for information on how to read call numbers.  Alternately, you can visit the Research Help Desks for assistance in locating items in the library.

Browse for Books

On the UNB Fredericton Campus, most books on RSS are in the Harriet Irving Library. To browse the library shelves for books of interest, try the following call number ranges:


Sport and recreation
HM Sociology
BF Psychology

Get Books from Other Libraries

If you locate resources in your search that are not available through UNB Libraries, you may be able to borrow them from another library using our document delivery service.  Visit the Document Delivery page for information about how to request resources and library policies associated with such requests.

Other Resources

Other Resources

In addition to articles, reference tools and book, there are a number of resources types that can be used to complement your scholarly research.  These types include reports, new articles, government documents, and statistics.  Below are listed some reliable sources of these types of information and links to the websites or tools you can use to access them.

Leisure & Recreation Websites

Canadian Association for Leisure Studies

Wellness, Culture and Sport New Brunswick

Canadian Fitness and Lifestyle Research Institute

Health and Demographic Statistics

UNB Libraries has a page devoted to the many different sources and types of statistics that are available for your use.  Click here to access our Data Services page.  For some specific health-related website, try some of the links listed below.

Health Canada

Census Program

Global Health Observatory



CBCA Complete - All Canadian content

Video Tutorials

Video Tutorials

Online searching is something that almost everyone does almost every day.  We are all familiar with Google's search box, and most of us contribute to the trillions of searches performed in that search engine annually.  The frequency with which we perform online searches has made us all 'pretty good' at Googling.  Everyone gets stumped eventually, however, and everyone misses things we wished we'd caught.

These video tutorials provide brief introductions to a few techniques we can use to help us when (or even before) we get stuck.  Enjoy!

Boolean Operators (Part 1)


This video provides a brief introduction to Boolean operators. It discusses each Boolean term that you are likely to encounter, and provides examples of what happens when they are used in online searching.

Transcript: Boolean Operators (Part 1)

Boolean Operators (Part 2)

This video complements Boolean Operators (Part 1) by describing 6 steps towards efficient and systematic use of Boolean operators in a research database. You will be walked through the process using a real research question and the popular EBSCO database CINAHL.


Transcript: Boolean Operators (Part 2)

Generating Synonyms


One of the challenges in performing a search is coming up with (and searching) all the terms that can be used to described a concept or idea. This brief video describes two great techniques you can use to help you with this.

Citing Your Sources

Citing your Sources

The standard citation style for recreation and sport studies is APA (American Psychological Association).

  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, 2nd printing [with corrections]
    HIL-REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010b


Writing and Study Skills Center

UNB Libraries and UNB Writing and Study Skills Center provide a number of brief guides to citing various types of information sources, as well as a guide to avoiding inadvertent plagiarism:

Purdue OWL

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL) maintains extensive resources and instructional material on APA style and formatting:


Zotero is a web-based citation manager, available freely online, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.

  • Zotero

More Information