Ask Us STU-Science and Technology Studies Guide

Key Resources

• Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology [SCI-REF Q175.35 .B37 2002]

  With the emergence of many new branches of ethical debate and discourse in such areas as computer science, genetic engineering, and environmental sciences, there is an increasing need for a reference work that clearly outlines the many ethical issues in science and technology that have arisen in modern societies. Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology is the only single-volume resource to provide extensive coverage of such issues. Historically and internationally comprehensive, the encyclopedia features more than 400 entries that describe the varied ethical controversies in science and technology: laws, precedent-setting cases, regulations, agencies and organizations, ethical principles, concepts, people, and important events. Also covered are phenomena that are at the fringe of science but have important ethical implications, including voodoo deaths and experimental research into extrasensory perception (ESP). All entries are written in an objective manner, allowing readers to reach an even-handed understanding of these controversial issues.

  
  

• Encyclopedia of Science and Technology [ENG-REF Q121 .E53 2001]

  Contains approximately one thousand alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about topics in science, technology, and medicine, and includes cross-references, photographs, charts, diagrams, drawings, and sidebars and reports.

• Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics [HIL-REF Q175.35 .E53 2005 vols. 1-4]

  This encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology.

• Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: from Copernicus to Newton [SCI-REF Q125 .E53 2000]

  This unique reference book focuses on scientific development in the 16th and 17th centuries, when the field of science underwent tremendous advances and discoveries. The 441 articles cover scientists, processes, phenomena, philosophy, religion, and professional societies.

• History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia, The [HIL-STACKS BL245 .H57 2000]

  Spanning 5th Century Greece to today, this volume describes the relationship of science and religion throughout history. From ancient cosmology to modern physics, every major intellectual movement and discipline is covered.

• Science & Technology Encyclopedia [SCI-REF Q121 .S34 2000]

  Up-to-date, concise, and easy to use, the Science and Technology Encyclopedia is a reliable resource for students, and all those with an interest in the comprehensive array of scientific fields it covers. It includes more than 6,500 authoritative A-Z entries covering earth and life sciences, physics, chemistry, medicine, information technology, and other disciplines; biographical entries for more than 850 famous scientists, detailing their careers and achievements; over 20,000 cross-references; and more than 250 detailed illustrations, including schematic diagrams, representational natural history artwork, and technical cutaway diagrams.

• Science in the Ancient World: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF Q124.95 .L39 2004]
  The first A-Z resource to catalog the achievements and legacy of more than four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world of the Mediterranean and the Near East, providing a complete overview of the physical, chemical, life, medical, and social sciences of the classical world.
• Science, Technology, and Society: An Encyclopedia
  see also [HIL-REF HM846 .S43 2005]

  Emphasizing an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture, "Science, Technology, and Society" contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography. Other features include extensive cross referencing throughout, a directory of contributors, and an extensive topical index.

• Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures

  The second edition of this landmark encyclopaedia will contain approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. The entries consist of fully updated articles together with hundreds of entirely new topics.

• Social Issues in Science and Technology: An Encyclopedia [HIL-STACKS Q175.5 .N49 1999]
  Examines controversies involving the impact of science and technology on human life including a history of how the advances have raised social, economic, political, religious, or ethical questions and various positions that now exist on each issue.
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
  An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy. SEP is a dynamic reference work with in-depth articles written (and kept up-to-date) by experts in the field. All entries are peer-reviewed by a distinguished editorial board.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
  Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.