Spanish Literature Guide

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Spanish Literature. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Cambridge history of Spanish literature
    Covering a wide range sources, this review of Spanish literature features analysis of works by Cervantes, Calderón and Garcia Lorca, as well as lesser know authors. It charts a full range of literary periods and movements, including the Enlightenment, Romanticism and Modernism.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Literature Criticism Online
    Provides Online access to the content of the following reference works on literature: Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Literature criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, and Children's literature review.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLB Online)
    Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Specifically, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - the latter two of which have never been electronically available. Additionally, DLB Complete Online will include the extremely valuable images from the above DLB series - again, content that has never been available online.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Contemporary Authors [HIL-REF CT220 .C63]

    "A bio-bibliographical guide to current authors and their works."

  • Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature, The [multiple locations HIL-REF PQ6006 .O95]

    Covers the whole field of literature written in the languages of Spain from Roman times to the present, including the literatures of Latin America alongside those of peninsular Spain (Basque, Catalan, and Galician as well as Castilian).

  • Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature, The [HIL-REF PQ6055 .F46 2002 vols. 1-2]

    Spanish literature includes some of the world's greatest works and authors. It is also one of the most widely studied. This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies. Though the volume focuses on the literature of Spain written in Castilian, it also includes survey entries on the present state of women's literature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Latin American Writers [HIL-REF PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989 vols. 1-3]

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries use UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains most books, videos, e-Resources and other material held by UNB libraries as well as material held by other libraries around the world. Some journal articles are also searchable in UNB WorldCat.

Below are some additional catalogues for resources in Spanish Literature.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

To browse the shelves for books in Spanish Literature, try the following ranges:

RangeSubject Area

PQ6001-8929

Spanish literature

PQ6001-6168

Literary history and criticism

PQ6155-6168

Folk literature

PQ6168

Juvenile literature

PQ6170-6269

Collections of Spanish literature

PQ6271-6498

Individual authors and works to 1700

PQ6500-6576

Individual authors and works, 1700-1868.

PQ6600-6647

Individual authors and works, 1868-1960

PQ6650-6676

Individual authors and works, 1961-2000

PQ6700-6726

Individual authors and works, 2001-

PQ7000-7011

Spain

PQ7020-8929Spanish literature outside of Spain 
PQ7070-7079.3United Sates and Canada
PQ7081-8550.36Spanish America
PQ7471-7477Central America
PQ7551-8550.436South America

 

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in anthropology. For other databases, check the Article & Research Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest)
    "The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

    The database also has an identifiable subset of more than 100,000 records that constitute the JSTOR subfile. This consists of citation records for documents in JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection as well as relevant articles from their Asian Studies collection. The documents date back as far as 1881 and contain direct links to the full-text articles on the JSTOR website, available to subscribers of JSTOR.

    Your subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals database. Full text links to Project Muse journal and ProQuest Digital Dissertations are also included in this database.

    The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    see also [TEST QuestLocation TEST QuestCallNum]
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Literature Online
    Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Latino Literature
    Latino Literature contains approximately 400 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. It reflects distinct immigration experiences, themes of social protest and exploitation; the migratory experience; self-exploration or self-definition, and the exploration of myths and legends. Approximately 25% of the collection is presented in Spanish.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Full-Text Online Journal Archive

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, both in print and online. Some important journal titles in Spanish Literature include:

(Journals with the e-Journals Licensed Resource image beside them have some issues available Online. Check the bottom of the Quest record for Online access)

If you can't locate the item you're looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request (www.lib.unb.ca/requests/docdel/index.html).

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Spanish Literature is Moden Language Association (MLA), but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another.

Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

  • MLA Examples (7th edition) (http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/MLA7examples.pdf)
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.
    HIL-REFDSK LB 2369 .G53 2009
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed.
    HIL-REFDSK LB 2369 .G53 2003
  • Plagiarism: a How-NOT-To Guide
    (http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/Plagiarism.html)

More Information