Forestry Guide

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an article or research database (indexing or abstracting database) is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended databases for research in Forestry. For other databases, browse the listings under the  Article & Research Databases tab on the library website. 

Key Resources

  • CAB Direct (formerly Forestscience.info)

    Forestry Abstracts, Forest Products Abstracts and Agroforestry Abstracts are now accessed through the CAB Direct platform. Known previously as Forestscience.info, this new platform (September 2009) retains access to contents ranging from 1926 to the past week. There are two appraoches to searching that will sort out specific forestry content, using either Subject Codes (sc:)  or CABICODES. The sc: for the current Forestscience database is TR. The sc: for the archival Forestscience database is XF. To find articles about spruce budworm in the current Forestscience database, the entered search string would be: sc:(TR) and spruce budworm. To find articles about moose in the archival Forestscience database, the search string entered would be: sc:(XF) and (moose or alces alces).

    For additional information, for example about CABIcodes, consult the CAB Direct Advanced Search Guide

  • Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
    AGRICOLA "provides U.S. and international coverage of information sources in agriculture, life sciences and related fields. Based on the U.S. National Agriculture Library collection."
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
    Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
    Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Biological Abstracts (now in BIOSIS Citation Index)
    Now fully incorporated into BIOSIS Citation Index. Biological Abstracts provides "indexes and abstracts for life science and biomedical research."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (Infomart)
    This database offers fulltext access to a variety of Canadian newspapers, (coverage dates vary by title). New Brunswick newspapers, The Daily Gleaner, The Telegraph Journal, and The Moncton Times Transcript have coverage from 1998-date.

    DURABLE LINKS TO PDFs
    ON-CAMPUS

    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. Copy that PDF link and paste it into a blank text file, email, etc. The link you copy needs to begin with http:// , like this: http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    Then copy/paste the proxy prefix to insert at the start of your URL to ensure ready access from any location, and save your link for future use, and/or copy/paste the link into a browser for access:
    https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=
    Sample: https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    OFF-CAMPUS
    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. The URL is all set for access from any location so simply copy/save that PDF link for future reference.
    Sample: http://www.fpinfomart.ca.proxy.hil.unb.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf

    For assistance, please contact library staff at:
    The Harriet Irving Library, Tel: 506-453-3546, Email: askus@unb.ca
    Science and Forestry Library: Tel: 506-453-4601, Email: scilib@unb.ca
    Engineering Library: Tel: 506-453-4747, Email: englib@unb.ca
    CONTENT IS PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT AND IS LICENSED ONLY FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE. ALL OTHER RIGHTS ARE RESERVED. THE CONTENT MAY NOT BE REPRODUCED, RETRANSMITTED, DISSEMINATED, SOLD, DISTRIBUTED, PUBLISHED; BROADCAST, OR CIRCULATED WITHOUT THE PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT OF CANWEST INTERACTIVE. TO LEARN MORE ABOUT BUSINESS AND CORPORATE SUBSCRIPTIONS PLEASE CONTACT FPINFOMART.CA AT 1-800-661-7678
    4 Simultaneous Users
  • PressDisplay - Newspapers From Around the World (Library Press Display)
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.
    4 simultaneous users.

If you can't locate the item you're looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

 

Find Facts

 

When researching a new topic it is often helpful to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Forestry. To find additional reference materials, check WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.

Explore the Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches through article titles and back-of-the-book indexes from over 20,000 print and electronic reference works at UNB Libraries and beyond. Search results from Reference Universe will provide you with quick links to UNB WorldCat (to locate print materials on the shelf) and to many of our online reference materials.

// //

Search Reference Universe:

​

Key Resources

  • Dictionary of ecology, A
    "From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, Oxford's thoroughly up-to-date dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a vast range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of Forestry [SCI-REF SD126 .D535 1998]

    For journalists, attorneys, and others who interact with foresters worldwide, this reference to some 4,500 terms used in the broad field of forest science, management, and conservation should be useful. Coverage by about 100 contributors headed by Helms (emeritus, environmental science, policy, and management, U. of California-Berkeley) spans entries from abiotic to zygote. Revises the 1971 Terminology of Forest Science, Technology, Practice, and Products (ed. by F.C. Ford-Robertson), at the Society of American Foresters' recommendation, to include the high-tech terminology of remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetry. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Dictionary of plant sciences, A
    "This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of botany available. Drawing on the information contained in the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History, the text has been fully revised to give wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of zoology, A
    "This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals for students and amateur naturalists. There is wide coverage of all relevant topics including animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, Earth history, and zoogeography."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Blackwell's Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology

    The language of ecology has grown rapidly and changed extensively over the last decade. From Arrhenotoky to Psammosere; from the One-tailed test to Zoocoenosis, the Blackwell Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology provides concise, non-technical definitions of over 2000 ecological terms, covering the complete spectrum of pure and applied ecological research. The definitions are drawn from the Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, and are fully cross-referenced.

  • McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Sciences

    Derived from the world-renowned McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, this reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of environmental science and technology or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts.

  • Encyclopedia of the Biosphere [SCI-REF QH343.4 .B5613 2000 vols. 1-11]

    The Encyclopedia of the Biosphere features comprehensive coverage of the earth's greatest ecosystems, their characteristics and their operations. The Encyclopedia explains how these ecosystems have been transformed by human activity, while presenting the main species inhabiting each region. The text in each volume is clearly organized into four distinct sections covering the ecosystem's environmental factors, plants and animal ecology, human influences and biosphere reserves. Eleven fully-illustrated, 4-color volumes present in a contemporary, dynamic manner, the earth's principal ecosystems and the better known species of flora and fauna. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences [SCI-REF SD126 .E53 2004 vols. 1-2]

    Intended for those interested in forests, forestry and forest sciences, this title summarizes advances in forest science techniques. It offers information to the understanding of the important elements of forestry. It also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry, scientific names of trees and shrubs, and more.

  • Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees, The [SCI-REF QK475 .M67 2002]

    This book is the result of 10 years of on-site, meticulous painting of individual living trees as well as their detailed parts. David More, a supremely gifted botanical artist, painted each of the more than 2000 individual color illustrations. The main section of the book is devoted to 377 double-page spreads, which describe and illustrate more than 1000 species and varieties of trees. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Ecology Basics
    see also [multiple locations SCI-REF QH540.4 .E39 2004 vols. 1-2]

    Another title in the Magill's Choice series. The 132 essays previously appeared in Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life (2002), Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life (2003), and Earth Science (2001). Ecology Basics will be especially useful for smaller libraries that don't own the three sets from which it is derived. RBB. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Field Guide to Eastern Trees, A [SCI-REF QK115 .P46 1998]

    This field guide features detailed descriptions of 455 species of trees native to eastern North America, including the Midwest and the South. The 48 colour plates, 11 black-and-white plates, and 26 text drawings show distinctive details needed for identification. Colour photographs and 266 colour range maps accompany the species descriptions.

  • Life on Earth : an Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology and Evolution [SCI-REF QH541.15 .B56 L54 2002 vols. 1-2]

    This two-volume set provides a guide for high school students and above to the planet's diverse life forms and the systems that support them. The 200 cross-referenced entries (about two-to-six pages in length) cover topics such as ecosystems, major groups of organisms, threats to biodiversity, ways to reduce or prevent further damage, and related academic disciplines. The book includes b #38;w photographs and drawings, many of which add to understanding of the text. Edited by Niles Eldredge (American Museum of Natural History). Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Trees in Canada [multiple locations QK485 .F37 1995]

    A comprehensive book on the trees of Canada and the northern United States.

 

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat identifies books held by UNB Libraries and beyond. UNB WorldCat has also added millions of articles that are searched along with entries for books. 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

To browse the shelves for books in Forestry at the Science & Forestry Library, try the following ranges:

QH 75-77 Nature Conservation and Landscape Protection
QH 540-549.5 General and Animal Ecology
QK 900-989 Plant Ecology
SD 1-668 Forestry

 

Find Websites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet.  Below are some recommended sites:

 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document the "pedigree" of your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Forestry is APA or Form and Format. Your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

 

Ask Us


  • Barry Cull (Profile)
  • Information Services Librarian
  • UNB Fredericton
  • bcull@unb.ca
  • 506-458-7057

For immediate research help, contact the Research Help Desk - see Ask Us at the top of this page.

Last modified on September 19, 2017 09:10