Gender and Women's Studies Guide

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended indexes and databases for research in Women's Studies. For other databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Women's Studies International
    Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Social Services Abstracts "provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

The Association of College and Research Libraries' core list of Women's Studies Journals.

 

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Women's Studies. To find additional reference materials, refer to the UNB Libraries Guide to Finding Reference Materials.

Key Resources

  • Concise companion to feminist theory, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Routledge Companion to Feminist Philosophy [HIL-REF HQ1190 .R68 2017]

    "The Routledge Companion to Feminist Philosophy is an outstanding guide and reference source to the key topics, subjects, thinkers, and debates in feminist philosophy. Fifty-six chapters, written by an international team of contributors specifically for the Companion, are organized into five sections: (1) Engaging the Past; (2) Mind, Body, and World; (3) Knowledge, Language, and Science; (4) Intersections; (5) Ethics, Politics, and Aesthetics. The volume provides a mutually enriching representation of the several philosophical traditions that contribute to feminist philosophy. It also foregrounds issues of global concern and scope; shows how feminist theory meshes with rich theoretical approaches that start from transgender identities, race and ethnicity, sexuality, disabilities, and other axes of identity and oppression; and highlights the interdisciplinarity of feminist philosophy and the ways that it both critiques and contributes to the whole range of subfields within philosophy."--The publisher.

  • Encyclopedia of gender and society
    see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 vols. 1-2]

    This encyclopedia is a scholarly, entertaining, and highly readable reference work. Editor O'Brien (Seattle Univ.) provides readers with a "gender lens" on society, while emphasizing both individual and global aspects of social life. Entries, written by gender scholars across the US and abroad, are organized in 14 categories: "Arts, Popular Culture, and Sports," "Associations and Organizations," "Biographies," "Body Image, Health and Illness," "Crime and Criminal Justice," "Economics, Environment, and Ecology," "Gender Identities and Roles," "International Development and Human Rights," "Politics, Public Policy, and Social Movements," "Race and Ethnicity," "Relationships, Marriage, and the Family," "Religion, Mythology, and Spirituality," "Science, Research, Education, and Technology," and "Sexuality and Reproduction." Individual entries are as diverse as "Superheroes," "Misogyny," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Sperm Donors," "Feminist Bioethics," "Hip Hop," and "Chastity," and are presented with up-to-date analysis and discussion.

  • Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies [HIL-REF HQ1180 .H355 2006]
    Reviews the developments within gender and women's studies, including the study of masculinity, the feminist implications of postmodernism, the 'cultural turn', and globalization. This book offers critical analyses of women's and gender studies in work, the welfare state, family, education, religion, violence and war, and feminist global politics.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, The
    The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no other text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia [HIL-REF HQ1115 .W6 1999 vols. 1-17]

    Projected to be 15 volumes upon completion in late 2000 (with an index to follow in mid-2001), this ambitious set will be international in scope and span from antiquity to the 20th century. (The first three volumes are reviewed here.) The scope is generally limited to women born before 1926, except for those active in the women's movement or whose place in history is assured. Initially hatched while the editors were working on Historic World Leaders (1994)--which profiled mainly men--this resource will include more than 10,000 entries varying in length from several pages to brief paragraphs. Frequent sidebars give information on women closely associated with the main entry, and numerous See references address name variations. Although indexes by time period, nationality, and subject would greatly enhance its usefulness as a reference, this set far exceeds recent single-volume international dictionaries (the Larousse Dictionary of Women, LJ 1/97, has about 3000 entries) and is unlikely to have any competitors on this scale soon. Recommended for large public and academic libraries and women's studies collections.Patricia A. Beaber, Coll. of New Jersey, Ewing Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide, The [HIL-REF HQ1115 .G74 2003 vols. 1-4]

    Women are working internationally to build a world based on gender equality and justice. Their concerns are shaped by conditions in their own countries and regions, and also by conditions for women in other parts of the world. Links forged by globalization, international relations, United Nations gender equality and development programs, and women's nongovernmental organizations connect their futures. This groundbreaking reference set documents the achievements and current challenges for all women, providing distortion-free and newly available information about women's status, in matters from education to violence, in more than 130 countries in the world's most populated areas.

  • Blackwell guide to feminist philosophy, The
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory and Praxis [HIL-REF HQ1180 .H35 2012]

    This Handbook presents both a theoretical and practical approach to conducting social science research on, for, and about women. It develops an understanding of feminist research by introducing a range of feminist epistemologies, methodologies, and emergent methods that have had a significant impact on feminist research practice and women's studies scholarship. Contributors to the Second Edition continue to highlight the close link between feminist research and social change and transformation. The new edition expands the base of scholarship into new areas, with 12 entirely new chapters on topics such as the natural sciences, social work, the health sciences, and environmental studies. It extends discussion of the intersections of race, class, gender, and globalization, as well as transgender, transsexualism and the queering of gender identities.

  • Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
    see also [HIL-REF HQ1190 .E63 2000]

    The path-breaking "Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories" is an accessible, multidisciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought. The "Encyclopedia" contains over 500 authoritative entries commissioned from an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas. Each entry contains cross references and a bibliographic guide to further reading; over 50 biographical entries provide readers with a sense of how the theories they encounter have developed out of the lives and situations of their authors. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - Books & Journals
    "This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
    As part of the Archives of Sexuality & Gender series, this collection enables students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more. The materials for this digital collection is guided by an advisory board consisting of leading scholars and librarians in sexuality and gender studies. This unique fully-searchable collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Truly global in scope, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (Part I) features historical documents published in more than 35 countries, with over 15 languages represented. Part 2 coming Fall 2017!
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Palgrave Handbook of Sexuality Education [HIL-REF HQ56 .P35 2017]

    This state-of-the-art Handbook provides an authoritative overview of issues within sexuality education, coupled with ground-breaking discussion of emerging and unconventional insights in the field. With 32 contributions from 12 countries it definitively traces the landscape of issues, theories and practices in sexuality education globally. These rich and multidisciplinary essays are written by renowned critical sexualities studies experts and rising stars in this area and grouped under four main areas: Global Assemblages of Sexuality Education; Sexualities Education in Schools; Sexual Cultures, Entertainment Media and Communication Technologies; Re-animating What Else Sexuality Education Research Can Do, Be and Become. Importantly, this Handbook does not equate sexuality education with safer sex education nor understand this subject as confined to school based programmes. Instead, sexuality education is understood more broadly and to occur in spaces as diverse as community settings and entertainment media, and via communication technologies. It is an essential and comprehensive reference resource for academics, students and researchers of sexuality education that both demarcates the field and stimulates critical discussion of its edges. -- Back cover.

  • Orlando : Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present
    Orlando "provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. Interacting with these materials creates a dynamic inquiry from any number of perspectives into centuries of women's writing."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Basic Edition)
    Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Women in American history : a social, political, and cultural encyclopedia and document collection [HIL-REF HQ1410 .W6468 2017]

    This four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past.

    Based on the content of most textbooks, it would be easy to reach the erroneous conclusion that women have not contributed much to America's history and development. Nothing could be further from the truth. Offering comprehensive coverage of women of a diverse range of cultures, classes, ethnicities, religions, and sexual identifications, this four-volume set identifies the many ways in which women have helped to shape and strengthen the United States.

    This encyclopedia is organized into four chronological volumes, with each volume further divided into three sections. Each section features an overview essay and thematic essay as well as detailed entries on topics ranging from Lady Gaga to Ladybird Johnson, Lucy Stone, and Lucille Ball, and from the International Ladies of Rhythm to the International Ladies Garment Workers Union. The set also includes a vast variety of primary documents, such as personal letters, public papers, newspaper articles, recipes, and more. These primary documents enhance users' learning opportunities and enable readers to better connect with the subject matter.

    Features

    • Provides significantly more detail than typical reference works on women's history and culture, enabling readers to better appreciate the contributions of women of all socio-cultural statuses
    • Covers the astounding range of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities
    • Includes a significant selection of primary documents, thereby combining the educational power of secondary and primary literature to create a richer learning experience for users
  • Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
    see also [HIL-REF HQ1236 .R29 2001 vols. 1-2]

    The first comprehensive guide to women activists from every part of the world, illuminating the broad range of women's struggles to reform society from the 18th century to the present.

  • Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence [HIL-REF HV6626 .E534 2007]

    Jackson (Purdue U.) presents this encyclopedia as a "state of the research" compilation of topics related social scientific understandings of domestic violence. The 140 alphabetical entries include both well-understood issues and neglected areas. The entries can be categorized according to seven primary themes. Entries on victims of domestic violence include discussion of battered wives, battered husbands, parricide, dating violence, and domestic violence in the workplace. Theoretical perspectives and correlates of domestic violence are discussed, including animal abuse, batterer typology, exchange theory, post-incest syndrome, popular culture and domestic violence, and victim-blaming theory. Cross-cultural and religious perspectives are presented, including domestic violence in Greece, cultural dimensions of domestic violence amongst Asian Americans, Qur'anic perspectives on wife abuse, religious attitudes towards corporal punishment. The entries also include discussion of understudied areas and "special" topics, including lesbian battering, domestic violence by law enforcement officers, pseudo-family abuse, sexual aggression perpetrated by females, community response to domestic violence, and measuring domestic violence. Child abuse and elder abuse are the subjects of a number of entries and the final category of entries provides coverage of issues related to domestic violence and the law. Where there is not explicitly cross-cultural content, the material generally is presented from the US perspective, especially those that concern the law. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Sourcebook on Violence Against Women, The [HIL-REF HV6250.4 .W65 S68 2001]

    This textbook comprises a collection of original scholarly writings extensively coving current research on violence against women. It is an excellent resource for students, practitioners, and academics.

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat, which contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries in Fredericton, as well as the Hans W. Klohn Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

 

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try searching World Cat using the "Libraries Worldwide" option from the drop-down menu. When you find a resource you are interested in, you can fill out a document delivery form by clicking the "Request Item" button in your search results.

 

Find Current Events

The following key resources will help you find newspaper and magazine articles pertaining to current events. 

To browse a complete of newspapers and newspaper packages, both historical and current, use the Journals and Newspapers tab from the libraries' home page.

Key Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (Infomart)
    This database offers fulltext access to a variety of Canadian newspapers, (coverage dates vary by title). New Brunswick newspapers, The Daily Gleaner, The Telegraph Journal, and The Moncton Times Transcript have coverage from 1998-date.

    DURABLE LINKS TO PDFs
    ON-CAMPUS

    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. Copy that PDF link and paste it into a blank text file, email, etc. The link you copy needs to begin with http:// , like this: http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    Then copy/paste the proxy prefix to insert at the start of your URL to ensure ready access from any location, and save your link for future use, and/or copy/paste the link into a browser for access:
    https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=
    Sample: https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    OFF-CAMPUS
    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. The URL is all set for access from any location so simply copy/save that PDF link for future reference.
    Sample: http://www.fpinfomart.ca.proxy.hil.unb.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf

    For assistance, please contact library staff at:
    The Harriet Irving Library, Tel: 506-453-3546, Email: askus@unb.ca
    Science and Forestry Library: Tel: 506-453-4601, Email: scilib@unb.ca
    Engineering Library: Tel: 506-453-4747, Email: englib@unb.ca
    CONTENT IS PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT AND IS LICENSED ONLY FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE. ALL OTHER RIGHTS ARE RESERVED. THE CONTENT MAY NOT BE REPRODUCED, RETRANSMITTED, DISSEMINATED, SOLD, DISTRIBUTED, PUBLISHED; BROADCAST, OR CIRCULATED WITHOUT THE PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT OF CANWEST INTERACTIVE. TO LEARN MORE ABOUT BUSINESS AND CORPORATE SUBSCRIPTIONS PLEASE CONTACT FPINFOMART.CA AT 1-800-661-7678
    4 Simultaneous Users
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Limited to single-user access.
  • PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers **ON-CAMPUS ONLY** (formerly Library Press Display)
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.

    Oct 17/2018 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read.
    Due to publisher restrictions the most stable access is ON-CAMPUS. Newspapers that are accessible while on-campus may be inaccessible from off-campus. Faculty, staff and graduate students can access using the VPN software offered by ITS to circumvent this limitation.
    At this time UNB's current news access is transitioning into the new PressReader site. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.
    4 simultaneous users.

 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Women's Studies is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

APA Style

MLA Style

  • The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th Edition.
    HIL-REFDSK LB2369 .G53 2009
  • MLA Format Guidelines (7th Edition)
    (http://www.unb.ca/fredericton/studentservices/academics/writing-centre/writing-answers.html)

Plagiarism Guides

For more information on research and using/citing sources, see the following:

 

More Information

Subject Specialties:
Children's Literature; Gender and Women's Studies