Psychology Guide

Find Books

Welcome to UNB Libraries' guide to Psychology in Saint John! Whether you're an undergraduate student, or at a more advanced level in your studies, the resources found here will guide you through your research. 

Not sure where to start? The UNB Worldcat catalogue search below will search for books available at the UNB libraries on both the Fredericton and Saint John campuses.  If you are a UNB Saint John student, you can ask for books on the Fredericton campus to be sent to Saint John by clicking on the Request Item button in the catalogue. You'll be notified by email when the book is available for you to pick up at the Information Desk of the Hans W. Klohn Commons.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

If you're looking for a journal article, click the 'Find Articles' tab. There you will find a number of helpful databases to get you started. If you need a simple definition or are looking for a manual such as the DSM, click the tab called 'Encyclopedias etc.' 

If you require in-person assistance, feel free to visit the Information Desk at the Hans W Klohn Commons, or arrange an appointment with your librarian whose contact information is displayed on each page of this guide. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Articles

To find journal articles start with these recommended databases:

Key Resources

  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycARTICLES
    PsycARTICLES is a database offering access to the full text of 100+ journals in behavioural science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. Coverage includes as far back as 1894 and includes articles from current issue back to volume 1, issue 1.

    Note: To search for articles within this journal, leave the journal name intact and enter any additional terms in the search boxes which follow.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycBOOKS
    "PsycBOOKS®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of approximately 55,000 chapters in PDF from over 3,500 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection. It also contains close to 2,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. PsycBOOKS is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

Find Background Information

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, etc.) for the field of Pyschology.  To find additional reference materials, search our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
    The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of psychology, A
    "Written by a leading authority, with the assistance of a distinguished team of advisory editors, this comprehensive dictionary is essential reading for professional psychologists, psychiatrists, counsellors, and students of psychology and related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, social work, and education. There is comprehensive coverage of phobias and phobic stimuli and mental disorders."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Penguin dictionary of psychology, The

    This fourth edition includes related fields, such as neuroscience and social psychology, and describes how terms are employed, their wider connotations, and past usage.

  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Reference Universe
    Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
    Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science

     

    • Encompasses the entire spectrum of the cognitive sciences
    • Approximately 700 articles written by the world's leading experts
    • All articles are graded according to level of readership: Introductory (accessible to entry level undergraduates and upwards), Focused (accessible to undergraduates and post-graduates), and In-depth (articles focus on more complex and controversial issues)
    • 16,500 references
    • Approximately 1,500 illustrations

     

  • Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior [multiple locations HWK-REF HV6017 .E53 2001 vols. 1-4]

    The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior is the first truly comprehensive work in the field of criminology and sociology. This unique Encyclopedia is separated into four-volumes, covering Historical, Conceptual, and Theoretical Issues and Self Destructive Behavior and Disvalued Identity. There are over 550 entries -- each with 2,000 to 3,500 words -- covering a multitude of topics related to criminology, deviant behavior and other unusual sociological phenomena. Each entry includes a comprehensive definition of the term, concise practical information (such as tables and/or diagrams), and a bibliography; they are written in such a way to be accessible not only to professionals or those familiar with the terminology, but also to students and non-expert professionals. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Martin's Online Criminal Code
    Searchable by offence, criminal code section, and date, Martin's Online Criminal Code includes all versions of Martin's Annual Criminal Code dating back to 1955. Most cases cited in Martin's are also provided in full text.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 1: Foundations

    The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.

  • Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 2: Statistical analysis

    The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.

  • Ulrichsweb (formerly Bowker's Ulrichsweb)
    Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
    3 simultaneous users.

Writing

Perfecting your assignments and papers can be challenging. The Writing Centre in the HWK Commons can help you, and students are welcome to contact them to make an appointment.

It is especially important that you reference any sources you use in your work. Please see the Cite Your Sources tab for more information, or contact the Writing Centre.

 

Cite Your Sources

APA (American Psychological Association)

Basics of APA Style tutorial 

APA Style Blog - How to Cite a Psychological Test in APA Style

APA Style Blog - Citing a Test Database

Formatting in APA (6th ed.)

APA Style Guide To Electronic References

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) Reference Collection: BF76.7 .P83 2010

 

 

 

Find Psychology Tests

These are the most comprehensive sources that allow you to search by topic. They provide basic information, such as test name, purpose, population, scoring system, validity, price, and publisher.

Key Resources

  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI : EBSCO)
    Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a bibliographic database with abstracts produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services (BMDS). It is used to find citations to and information about information-gathering tools for clinicians, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. The database contains citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available; bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • PsycTESTS
    PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
    " Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present."
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Tests in print; a comprehensive bibliography of tests for use in education, psychology, and industry [HWK-REF ZLB1131 .B8 1961]
  • Tests in print II : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests [HWK-REF ZLB1131 .B82 1974]
  • Tests in print IV : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests [HWK-REF ZLB1131 .B843 1994]
  • Tests in print V : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests [HWK-REF ZLB1131 .B845 1999]
  • Commissioned reviews of 250 psychological tests [HWK-STACKS BF176 .C65 2000 vols. 1-2]

    This volume is part of a two-volume set which provides an overview of psychological tests developed during the 1990s. Over 250 academics provide 300 reviews of tests that cover areas of psychology from health to cognitive, offering information on reliabilty and validity and evaluative comments.

  • Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business [multiple locations HWK-REF BF176 .T43]

    Descriptions of over 3000 tests in English, intended as a guide for psychologists, educators, and other personnel who need test information to meet their assessment needs. Topical arrangement under 3 main sections of psychology, education, and business. Each entry gives test name, associated personal names, intended age group, purpose, description, time, range, scoring, cost, and publisher. Indexes by test titles, authors, publishers, visually impaired tests, and scoring services.

  • Test critiques [HWK-REF BF176 .T419]

Ask Us

Last modified on September 18, 2017 14:04