History Guide

Find Articles

Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide a copy of an article you want, click the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy.

If you want an article that is not available at UNB, either online or in print, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).

 

 

 

Key Resources

  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Globe and Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844-2011
    Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Encyclopedias etc.

Key Resources

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online
    "Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of world history, A
    "This up-to-date dictionary contains clear, concise, and detailed entries covering 4,000 years of world history. It includes biographical entries on hundreds of key figures, from Alexander the Great to Bill Clinton, Elizabeth I to Nelson Mandela, Moses to Tony Blair. There are subject entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Berkshire encyclopedia of world history [multiple locations HIL-REF D23 .B45 2005 vols. 1-5]

    A comprehensive encyclopedia of world history with 538 articles that trace the development of human history with a focus on area studies, global history, anthropology, geography, science, arts, literature, economics, women's studies, African-American studies, and cultural studies related to all regions of the world.

  • Who's who in the twentieth century
    "From Albert Einstein to the Marx Brothers, this authoritative reference book provides biographies of men and women from different countries and cultures who have contributed to the thought as well as the action of the twentieth century."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Cambridge Medieval History, The [HIL-REF D117 .C32 1964 vols. 1-8]
  • Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
    The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada provides detailed biographies of important figures in Canadian history from the year 1000 to 1930. This free online resource is produced by Library and Archives Canada, in partnership with Universite Laval and the University of Toronto, and reproduces the full contents of the print Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB)
    Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated/fulltext reference tool providing 55,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.
    3 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of British history, A
    "Based on the very successful Oxford Companion to British History, A Dictionary of British History, is an invaluable compact reference work on all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day. Written by over 100 distinguished specialist contributors, the variety of entries provides a wealth of essential information touching all aspects of British history: political, economic, social, military, people, events, and institutions."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Atlantic Canada Portal
    "The Atlantic Canada Portal, a collaborative effort of the University of New Brunswick's Electronic Text Centre and Canada Research Chair in Atlantic Canada Studies, promotes the study of Canada's Atlantic Provinces ... the Portal hosts, a comprehensive bibliography of works published on the Atlantic Region, a virtual archives of primary source material, a repository of electronic publications teaching resources on Atlantic Canada topics, a listserv highlighting portal news and events, a research forum for scholarly collaboration, and a searchable web directory of links to websites on the region."--Home page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Early Canadiana Online (ECO)
    Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour. The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Kings and Queens of Britain, The
    "This dictionary presents English, Scottish, Welsh, and Irish monarchs, from mythical and Romano-British rulers to the House of Windsor, in all their glory - and sometimes their disgrace. Extended entries give information on themes such as Coronations and Regalia, and on significant royal residences or traditions like Sandringham House and touching for the King's Evil."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • North American Indian Thought and Culture
    This database is comprised of full-text materials that span the entire history of North America; from first encounters involving Native Americans and European colonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. Included are biographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
    This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas [HIL-REF, HWK-REF CB9 .N49 2005]

    The earlier work was published at a time when interdisciplinarity was a new trend; and the new work continues this emphasis, as stated in the preface, by "its focus on the most influential multidisciplinary practices, such as 'Mysticism,' 'Mathematics,' and 'Reading,' which have ancient origins, and 'Representation: Mental Representation' and 'Bioethics,' which are creations of our own times." The approximately 600 articles are signed, include references and cross-references, and are arranged chronologically. Access is facilitated by a theme-oriented Reader's Guide (in each volume) and a substantial index, which occupies about half of volume six.

     

  • Ulrichsweb (formerly Bowker's Ulrichsweb)
    Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
    3 simultaneous users.

Find Books

Citing Your Sources

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Style Citation Examples (16th ed.)

Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. HWK-REF Z253 .U7 2010

 

 

 

Ask Us

Last modified on September 18, 2017 13:43