Catholic Studies Guide Ask Us

Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

The Brill Dictionary of Religion describes and analyses the multi-faceted roles of religions, both historically and in contemporary societies. This well-illustrated, comprehensive reference work engages religion as an important element of daily life and public communication.

Widely acclaimed as the most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary available in English (and now with translations into Chinese, Korean, Russian, Italian, and Spanish underway) this second edition offers an even richer, more comprehensive, and more up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, 400 new entries including over 50 on preeminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and increased coverage of Continental philosophy. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The second edition updates and expands the coverage to include developments in the field over the past decade, especially in the areas of international politics and global justice.


New contributors include some of today’s most distinguished scholars, among them Thomas Pogge, Charles Beitz, and Michael Doyle

Provides in-depth coverage of contemporary philosophical debate in all major related disciplines, such as economics, history, law, political science, international relations and sociology

Presents analysis of key political ideologies, including new chapters on Cosmopolitanism and Fundamentalism

Includes detailed discussions of major concepts in political philosophy, including virtue, power, human rights, and just war

"With entries ranging from earthquakes and mice to feminism and the Dead Sea Scrolls, this dictionary is a lively and absorbing reference work for all readers of the Bible. Authoritative, accessible, and up-to-date it provides helpful information about the books of the Bible, customs, religions and worship, history, and theology, important places, and personalities. Providing clear explanations of technical terms, methods of interpretation, and critical analysis, as well as notes on leading biblical scholars and their contributions, it is also concerned with denominational interpretations of the themes and doctrine of the Bible."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Providing explanations of the terminology, issues, organizations, and laws, this reference work develops the key aspects of human rights in over 200 clear and concise A-Z entries. * Explains terms connected such as Asylum, Equal Opportunities, Freedom of Speech, Representation, and Civil Liberties* Covers organizations concerned with human rights such as Amnesty International, The European Court of Human Rights, and The American Civil Liberties Union* Outlines the significance of eminent thinkers such as Locke, Cardozo, and Nozick* Places key terms in their legal and constitutional context, with examples and explanations of their implications* Legal terms such as Injunction, Probable Cause, Clear and Present Danger, and Stop and Search are explained clearly and succinctly* Includes an appendix containing texts and extracts of leading documents, such as "The Declaration of the Rights of Man and the Citizen" and "The Universal Declaration of Human Rights," Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work presents 270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. The articles, written by leading scholars, present not only succinct historical accounts, but they inform readers about issues of interpretation and debate in the contemporary scholarly study of the Classical period. Scholars, students, and lay persons in any area of study that is influenced by the Classical era--from archaeology to oratory--will find this handy volume useful in gaining a comprehensive view of the philosophy of an era that has come to occupy a place of preeminence in humanistic studies.

Unlike the first edition, the entries in the second edition are listed alphabetically, which makes an initial perusal of the 581 entries listed at the beginning of volume one a valuable task. Among the entries: Peter Abelard, Africa, Buddha, Common Good, Death, Evil, Guilt and shame, Aldo Leopold, Metaethics, Motives, Ought implies can, and Work. About 300 academic contributors, mostly American, write entries that feature suggestions for related entries and a bibliography. Entry-writers do not always seek objectivity; instead, they often use their entry to make an argument. For example, Tom Regan in his entry, Treatment of Animals, refutes his more famous Princeton rival, Peter Singer, while Bernard Gert in his entry, Genetic Engineering, states when genetic engineering is acceptable or noncontroversial. Two extensive indexes, one of subjects and one of cited authors, end the volume. c. Book News Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

From biographical discussion of Muhammad `Abduh (1849-1905), the Egyptian reformer and pioneer of Islamic modernism and nationalism, to the historical development of Zionism, the 281 alphabetical articles in this two-volume encyclopedia are presented by editor Wuthnow (sociology of religion and cultural sociology, Princeton U.) with the intent of showing interconnections between politics and religion and how they "have combined to shape public discourse, affect social attitudes, spark and sustain collective action, and influence policy, especially during the past two centuries." The entries, which range in length from a few hundred to eight thousand words, examine broad themes such as millennialism and pluralism, as well as specific religions, individuals, geographical regions, institutions, and events. Approximately half of the entries have been revised in this second edition, and 25 are either brand new or completely revised. In addition to the alphabetical entries a number of documentary sources are presented, including Martin Luther's Theses, Thomas Jefferson's thought on religious freedom, Federalist Paper no. 10 (on guarding against "factions"), the Balfour Declaration, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and the 1998 Irish Peace Accord. Also, reference materials are presented on religious affiliation in countries and regions of the world, constitutions of the world, and politics and religion on the Internet. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

How do the latest medical developments affect belief in faith's healing powers? Can artificial intelligence compare with human consciousness? Are genetic engineers interfering with nature's work? This reference deals with these questions and others, examining the issues and the history associated with the complex relationship between science and religion in more than 400 scholarly articles. Distributed by Syndetic

Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

"This acclaimed papal Who's Who presents biographical accounts in chronological order of all the officially recognized popes from St Peter to John Paul II, whose entry has now been expanded and brought up to date. Providing a continuous history of the papacy, it also includes their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes, and discusses the tradition that there had been a female pope."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"From the famous to the obscure, this book provides concise accounts of the lives, cults, relationships through patronage, and artistic associations of more than a thousand saints, including entries on the Martyrs of Korea, Mexico, and Vietnam, as well as the recently canonized such as Edith Stein, Padro Pio, and Josémaria Escriva."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"This essential guide offers 325 articles that describe the people and places that appear in the New Testament and Old Testament of the Bible. From prophets, apostles, and groups (such as Hebrews and Angels) to kingdoms and countries, cities and mountains where Biblical events took place."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

The philosophy of religion as a distinct discipline is an innovation of the last two hundred years, but its central topics--the existence and nature of the divine, humankind's relation to it, the nature of religion and its place in human life--have been with us since the inception of philosophy. Philosophers have long critically examined the truth of (and rational justification for) religious claims, and have explored such philosophically interesting phenomena as faith, religious experience and the distinctive features of religious discourse. The second half of the twentieth-century has been an especially fruitful period, with philosophers using new developments in logic and epistemology to mount both sophisticated defenses of, and attacks on, religious claims.The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Religion contains newly commissioned chapters by 21 prominent experts who cover the field in a comprehensive but accessible manner. Each chapter is expository, critical, and representative of a distinctive viewpoint. The Handbook is divided into two sections. The first, "Problems," covers the most frequently discussed topics, among them arguments for God's existence, the problem of evil, and religious epistemology. The second is called "Approaches" and contains four essays assessing the advantages and disadvantages of different methods of practicing philosophy of religion.The Handbook offers contributors of high stature who present substantive and in-depth treatment of the most central topics. It is a must-have reference for anyone with an interest in philosophy and religion. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

"America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current

Anthropology Plus is an index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, from the UK. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Late 19th Century-Current

Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

"Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current

A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current

"Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.

Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."

Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1972-Current

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."