Overview / News
Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) guide to computer science The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning. If you are taking a computer science course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.
How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.
For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.
Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!
In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.
In addition to this subject guide, you might also wish to explore:
News and Views
Computing Now, IEEE
Computer Science News, Science Daily
Computer Science and Technology, MIT News
Technology News, CNET News
Computers, Discover Magazine
Reference / Statistics
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies, public access
dblp: computer science bibliography, University of Trier and Schloss Dagstuhl, public access
HCI Bibliography: Human-Computer Interaction Resources, ACM SIGCHI, public access
Books / Book-Length Works
UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.
Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.
Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.
Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat, to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:
Decentralized applications: harnessing Bitcoin's Blockchain technology, Sira Raval, licensed resource
Optimization of computer networks: modeling and algorithms: a hands-on approach, Pablo Pavon Marino, licensed resource
Advances in mobile cloud computing systems, F Richard Yu and Victor Chung Ming Leung, licensed resource
Biometric security and privacy: opportunities & challenges in the big data era, Richard Jiang, et al., licensed resource
As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books including:
Ebsco eBooks, limit search to EC COM* for works relating to computer science
Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Examples of such sites of interest to computer science include:
Computers and Information Technology, National Academies Press, public access
Computer Science and Intelligent Systems, MIT Press Open, public access
The Analytical Engine, works by and about Charles Babbage and the analytical engine, public access
Article / Research Databases
For those interested in computer science, there are both licensed bibliographic databases, listed in Key and Additional Resources below. These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.
For other licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.
- Computer Source Index (formerly Computer Science Index) Computer Source (formerly Computer Science Index) provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database features: abstracts and indexing for over 320 titles - valuable market information on topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics, and the Internet. - information users need to remain informed on the technological advances that are changing our world.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
- Inspec (Engineering Village) "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Current & Archive) The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to both current and archival scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. This resource provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
IEEE conference proceedings
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Note: limited to 10 simultaneous users.
10 simultaneous users.
- MathSciNet MathSciNet "is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Other databases and search engines include:
arXiv.org, e-Print archive, public access
CiteSeerX, public access
NRC Publications Archive, National Research Council Canada, public access
National Technical Reports Library, NTIS, public access
NASA Technical Reports Server, public access
Computer Science Technical Reports Database, UCLA, public access
Computer Science Technical Reports, University of Waikato, public access
There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:
Computer Science Review, licensed resource
Information and Software Technology, licensed resource
Information Week, public access
MIT Technology Review, public access
Programming and Computer Software, licensed resource
Software and Systems Modeling (SoSyM), licensed resource
Wired, public access
Internet / Multimedia
Associations, Societies ...
Government Departments, Agencies ...
Directorate for Computer & Information Science & Engineering, National Science Foundation
IT Dashboard, Office of Management and Budget, Executive Office of the President
Faster Than Thought (A Symposium on Digital Computing Machines), B.V. Bowden,( ed.), Pitman & Sons Ltd., 1953
Charles Babbage Institute, University of Minnesota
Sketch of The Analytical Engine Invented by Charles Babbage, L. F. Menabrea, from the Bibliothèque Universelle de Genève, October, 1842, No. 82, With notes upon the Memoir by the Translator Ada Augusta, Countess of Lovelace
Computer History Collection, National Museum of American History, Smithsonian
Computer Science and Computing: A Guide to Archival Holdings, University of Illinois Archives
Mouse Site, Stanford University
Our Collections, Bletchley Park
Computer Science, MIT Opencourseware
Citing / Writing
Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.
To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.
Chicago Manual of Style, HWK-Ref Z253 .U7 2010
Quick Guide, Chicago Manual of Style Online
Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition, Purdue Online Writing Lab
Abbreviations and Acronymns
Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science
Citation Management Software
Data Management / Curation
Framework for Creating a Data Management Plan, ICPSR, University of Michigan
Create and Manage Data, UK Data Archive
Data Management Plans, Digital Curation Centre, UK
Data Management Checklist, Digital Curation Centre, UK
Technology News: Phys.org
- Windows, Gates and a firewall: Microsoft's delicate castle in China
- Huawei: Smartphone chips running out under US sanctions
- Q&A: What's up with Trump's orders on TikTok and WeChat?
Computer Science: Nature
- Development and validation of a 1-year survival prognosis estimation model for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis using manifold learning algorithm UMAP
- Characterization of complex fluvio–deltaic deposits in Northeast China using multi-modal machine learning fusion
- SpiFoG: an efficient supervised learning algorithm for the network of spiking neurons