Engineering Guide

Overview / News

 

Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) Guide to Engineering. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning. If you are taking a engineering course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.

How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.

For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.

Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!

In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.

In addition to this subject guide in engineering, you might also wish to explore:

UNB Libraries' (Saint John) Guide to Chemistry

 

News and Views

ASCE News

Ingenia Online

Engineering News, Engineering Council

News, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine

@IEEEorg, Twitter

News, Institution of Civil Engineers

Engineering, BBC News

 

Reference / Statistics

More reference and statistical resources can also be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.

 

Dictionaries

The engineering language: a consolidation of the words and their definitions, Ronald E Hanifan, licensed resource

Concise encyclopedia of construction terms and phrases, Karl F Schmid, licensed resource

 

Handbooks

CRCnetBASE (Includes ENGnetBASE), licensed resource

Handbook of measurements: benchmarks for systems accuracy and precision, Adedeji Bodunde Badiru and LeeAnn Racz, licensed resource

Encyclopedia and handbook of materials, parts, and finishes, Mel M Schwartz, licensed resource

Standard handbook for electrical engineers, Donald G. Fink and H. Wayne Beaty, licensed resource

Handbook of power management circuits, Haruo Kobayashi and Takashi Nabeshima, licensed resource

Handbook of Package Engineering, licensed resource

Maintenance Engineering Handbook, licensed resource

 

Maps, Atlases and Images

Architecture, Design & Engineering Drawings, Library of Congress, public access

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey, Library of Congress, public access

Maps, US Army Corps of Engineers Digital Library, public access

Engineering, Atlas Obscura, public access

Flood Hazard Mapping, National Flood Insurance Program, FEMA, US, public access

 

Standards

ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library, licensed resource

CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association), licensed resource

IEEE published standards, licensed resource, 10 simultaneous users

Design and Construction Standards, City of Edmonton, Alberta, public access

Engineeering Standards and Guidelines, British Columbia, public access

Terrain and Soils Standards, Manuals and Guidelines, Ministry of Environment, British Columbia, public access

2015 Standard Specifications for Highway Construction, Transportation and Infrastructure, New Brunswick, public access

Ontario Provincial Standards for Roads and Public Works, Ministry of Transportation, Ontario, public access

 

Statistics, Data, Data Sets

Physical Reference Data, Physical Measurement Laboratory, NIST, public access

Table of Physical and Chemical Constants, Kaye & Laby, public access

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, National Science Foundation, public access

NIST/SEMATECH e-Handbook of Statistical Methods, public access

Statistical Reference Datasets, NIST, public access

DOE Data Explorer for Energy and Science Data, US Department of Energy, public access

NIOSH Data and Statistics Gateway, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), CDC, US, public access

Data and Products, Earthquake Hazards Program, USGS, public access

Earthquake Data and Information, NOAA, public access

Books / Book-Length Works

UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.

Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.

 

Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat, to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:

Nonlinear control of robots and unmanned aerial vehicles: an integrated approach, Ranjan Vepa

Biomechatronics in medical rehabilitation: biomodelling, interface, and control, Shane Xie and Wei Meng

Biometric security and privacy: opportunities & challenges in the big data era, Richard Jiang, et al.

Grounding and shielding: circuits and interference, Ralph Morrison

 

As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books including:

Access Engineering, licensed resource

CRCnetBASE (Includes ENGnetBASE), licensed resource

 

Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Examples of such sites which may be of interest include:

Engineering and Technology, National Academies Press, public access

Publications, National Institute of Standards and Technology, public access

Technical Reports and Standards, Library of Congress, public access

Public Technical Reports, Defense Technical Information Center, public access

NCSES Publication Index, National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, National Science Foundation, public access

WBDG Federal Facility Criteria, construction guide specifications, manuals, standards, etc., public access

Article / Research Databases

For those interested in engineering, there are both licensed bibliographic databases, listed in Key and Additional Resources below, as well as major public access databases.

These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.

For other licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.

Key Resources

  • Inspec (Engineering Village)
    "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library
    The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. This resource provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including:
    IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
    IEEE conference proceedings
    IET journals
    IET conference proceedings
    IEEE published standards
    IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
    Note: limited to 10 simultaneous users.

    10 simultaneous users.
  • ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library
    ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • OnePetro (formerly SPE eLibrary)
    "OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and [view] documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently."--From the OnePetro website, Nov. 2009.
    Participants include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. Further details can be found at http://www.onepetro.org/coverage.htm
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services)
    The Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database is the largest online bibliographic database of transportation research. TRIS now contains more than 650,000 records of published research covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. TRIS is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies with sponsorship by state Departments of Transportation and the administrations of the U.S. Department of Transportation, and other sponsors of TRB's core technical activities.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ASCE Library eJournals (American Society of Civil Engineers)
    The ASCE Library provides a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The American Society of Civil Engineers publishes just over 30 journals available through the ASCE Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
    A collection of engineering and mechanical engineering journals from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
    The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library provides access to journals, publications, newsletters and conference proceedings.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Other databases and search engines include:

CSA Standards and Codes Online, Canadian Standards Association, licensed resource

Science.gov, public access

NASA Technical Reports Server, public access

TRAIL, Center for Research Libraries, University of Washington Libraries, public access

SciTech Connect, US Department of Energy, public access

Publications, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), CDC, US, public access

NIOSHTIC-2 Publications Search, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), CDC, US, public access

TRID, Transport Research International Documentation, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, public access

 

There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:

Biomedical Engineering and Computational Biology, full-text, public access

Canadian Electrical Engineering Journal, licensed resource

Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering, licensed resource

Canadian Journal of Civil Engineering, licensed resource

Electrical Engineering, licensed resource

Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology, full-text, public access

IEEE Journal of Translational Engineering in Health and Medicine, full-text, public access

Journal of Civil Engineering and Management, licensed resource

Journal of Environmental Engineering, licensed resource

Journal of Environmental Health Science and Engineering, full-text, public access

 

Internet / Multimedia

 

Collective Resources

SAE International

American National Standards Institute

nanoHUB

Institute of Transportation Studies, Berkeley

Structurae

Buildings & Construction, NIST

Electronics, NIST

 

Associations, Societies ...

American Institute of Chemical Engineers

American Society of Civil Engineers

Engineers Geoscientists New Brunswick, APEGNB

Engineering Council, UK

Engineering Institute of Canada, federation of twelve Canadian engineering societies

European Federation of National Engineering Associations

IEEE

Institution of Engineering and Technology

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine

Royal Academy of Engineering, UK

World Federation of Engineering Organizations

 

Government Departments, Agencies ...

Directorate for Engineering, National Science Foundation, US

National Institute of Standards and Technology, US

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), CDC, US

Engineering Directorate, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, US

US Army Corps of Engineers

 

Professional Practice

Engineering and Geoscience Profession Act, New Brunswick

Code of Ethics, Engineers Geoscientists New Brunswick, APEGNB

Engineering Profession Act, Nova Scotia

Architecture and Engineering Occupations, Occupational Outlook Handbook, US Bureau of Labor

SESTAT: Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System, National Science Foundation

Women in Engineering, IEEE

 

Multimedia

RAEng.tv, Royal Academy of Engineering

IEEE.tv

Podcasts, IEEE Spectrum

Webinars, IEEE Spectrum

IEEE Women in Engineering, Youtube Channel

 

Citing / Writing

Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.

To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.

 

Style Guides

IEEE Citation Reference, IEEE Editorial Style Manual

Guide to Conference Publications: References, ASME

Writing in Engineering, Purdue Online Writing Lab

 

Abbreviations and Acronyms

Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science, public access

Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations, Woodward Library, UBC

 

Citation Management Software

Zotero

UNB Libraries' Guide to Zotero

Mendeley

 

Data Management / Curation

Framework for Creating a Data Management Plan, ICPSR, University of Michigan

Create and Manage Data, UK Data Archive

Data Management Plans, Digital Curation Centre, UK

Data Management Checklist, Digital Curation Centre, UK

Mendeley Datasets

Creative Commons

OData

Ask Us

I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email using the convenient link, above.

Last modified on September 4, 2017 14:01