Overview / News
Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) Guide to Geology. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning. If you are taking a geology course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.
How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.
For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.
Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!
In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.
News and Views
News, US Geological Survey
News and Events, Geoscience Australia
Reference / Statistics
NB Bibliography, Energy and Resource Development, New Brunswick, public access
Bibliography of Manitoba Geology, Growth, Enterprise and Trade, Manitoba, public access
Late Quaternary studies in Beringia and beyond, 1950-1993 : an annotated bibliography, Alwynne B. Beaudoin and Frances D. Reintjes, Archaeological Survey, Occasional paper no. 35, 1994, Provincial Museum of Alberta, public access
Geological Report 9: Annotated Bibliography of Saskatchewan Geology (1823-1970 inclusive), W.O. Kupsch and Michael D. Wright, Publications Saskatchewan, public access
Bibliography of North American Geology, various years, USGS, public access
Bibliography of Maine Geology, Maine Geological Survey, public access
Chronologies and Keys
Geologic Time Scale, Geological Society of America, public access
Rock Identification Key, Mineralogical Society of America, public access
Mineral Identification Key II, Mineralogical Society of America, public access
Encyclopedias, Yearbooks, Compendia, ...
Minerals Yearbook, USGS, public access
Encylopedia of Earth, public access
Glossaries, Dictionaries, Lexicons, ...
Dictionary of Earth Sciences, licensed resource
Glossary of Mining Terminology, includes Inuktitut terms, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, public access
New Brunswick Bedrock Lexicon, Energy and Resource Development, New Brunswick, public access
Geolex, U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon, public access
Glossary of Rock and Mineral Terminology, Department of Conservation, California, public access
Handbooks, Manuals, Guides, ...
Geologic Guidebooks of North America, American Geosciences Institute, searchable public access
Geology of New Brunswick: field guide to excursions, New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference (NEIGC), 1973, public access
Guidebook to the geology of Northeastern Maine and neighboring New Brunswick, The 72nd annual meeting of the New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference, Presque Isle, Maine, October 10-13, 1980, public access
Nova Scotia Field Guide, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Columbia University, public access
A Virtual Field Trip of the Landscapes of Nova Scotia, Natural Resources, Nova Scotia, public access
A Field Guide to the Geology of Sudbury, Ontario, OFR6243, Ontario Geological Survey, 2009, public access
Surficial geology handbook for southern Maine, Woodrow B. Thompson, Maine Geological Survey, public access
Guidebook for field trips along the Maine coast from Maquoit Bay to Muscongus Bay, Henry N. Berry IV, and David P. West Jr., Maine Geological Survey, public access
Montana-Yellowstone Geologic Field Guide Database, public access
Geologic Field Trip Guides, Department of Geology and Mineral Industries, Oregon, public access
Maps, Atlases and Images
Atlas of Canada, Natural Resources Canada, public access
Bedrock Geology Maps, Energy and Resource Development, New Brunswick, public access
MapPlace, Energy, Mines, and Petroleum Resources, British Columbia, public access
MINFILE Mineral Inventory, Energy, Mines, and Petroleum Resources, British Columbia, public access
National Geologic Map Database, USGS, public access
Maine Geological Survey Maps, public access
Maps, Geoscience Australia, public access
GeoScenic, National Archive of Geological Photographs, British Geological Survey, public access
Statistics, Data, Data Sets ...
Geoscience Data Repository for Geophysical Data, Natural Resources Canada, public access
GeoGratis, public access
Mineral Resources Online Spatial Data, USGS, public access
GIS Data, Data and Tools, USGS, public access
Open Data, data.gov, public access
Marine Geology Data Sets / Reports, National Centers for Environmental Information, NOAA, public access
National Mineral Information Center, USGS, public access
Mineral Commodity Summaries, USGS, public access
National Geothermal Data System, public access
[Data Sets], British Geological Survey, public access
Geoscientific Datasets and Reports, Geoscience Australia
Australian Geological Provinces, Geoscience Australia
Books / Studies / Reports
UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.
Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.
Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.
Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat, to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:
Ground-penetrating radar for geoarchaeology, Lawrence B Conyers
Vertebrate palaeontology, M J Benton and John Sibbick
Crystals and crystal growth, Wilfred Carter
As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books including:
ASCE Library eBooks (American Society of Civil Engineers), licensed resource
ProQuest Ebook Central Collections (formerly ebrary), licensed resource
Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Examples of such sites of interest include:
Earth Sciences, National Academies Press, full-text, public access
Geoscan: Publications and Reports, Natural Resources Canada, many full-text, public access
BCGS Publications, Energy, Mines, and Petroleum Resources, British Columbia, public access
[Guidebooks] New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference, 1920 forward, public access
Maine Geological Survey Publications, many full-text, public access
Article / Research Databases
For those interested in geology and related fields, there are both licensed bibliographic databases, listed in Key and Additional Resources below, as well as major public access databases.
These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for available literature on a topic.
For other licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.
- GeoRef GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Lyell Collection - Geological Society of London "The Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single electronic platform, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researcher and student alike."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Science Direct Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- OnePetro (formerly SPE eLibrary) "OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and [view] documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently."--From the OnePetro website, Nov. 2009.
Participants include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. Further details can be found at http://www.onepetro.org/coverage.htm
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- CAB Direct Combines CAB abstracts and CAB abstracts archive into a single database indexing literature in the fields of plant science; animal science; pathogen, pest, parasite, and weed management; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products, and agroforestry; soil science; rural development, tourism, and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. The database is grouped into the following categories: animal sciences, plant sciences, ecology & environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, human sciences, and leisure, recreation, and tourism.
4 simultaneous users.
Public access databases include:
Geosciences: SciTech Connect, OSTI, U.S. Department of Energy, public access
Fossil Fuels: SciTech Connect, OSTI, U.S. Department of Energy, public access
AAPG Search and Discovery, public access
Databases, GNS Science, New Zealand, public access
There is also a variety of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:
Episodes Journal of International Geoscience, 1978 forward, public access
Geology, licensed resource
Geoscientist Online, 2007 forward, public access
International Geology Review, licensed resource
Journal of Structural Geology, licensed resource
Internet / Multimedia
Earth Science, GNS Science, New Zealand
Associations and Societies
Government Departments and Agencies
Minerals and Petroleum, Energy and Mines, New Brunswick
Geological Survey, Natural Resources, Newfoundland and Labrador
Geoscience and Mines, Natural Resources, Nova Scotia
USGS, US Geological Survey
Minerals / Mineralogy
Mineral Deposit Models, USGS
GEOROC (Geochemistry of Rocks of the Oceans and Continents), Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz
Burgess Shale Geoscience Foundation, British Columbia
Invertebrate Paleontology: Search the Collections, University of Florida
Invertebrate Paleontology, Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History
Palaeontology of New York ..., James Hall, vols. 1-8, 1847-1891
Podcasts, Geological Society
Multimedia, Utah Geological Survey
Multimedia, Geoscience Australia
Citing / Writing
Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.
To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.
GSA Reference Guidelines and Examples, Geological Society of America, public access
Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition, Purdue Online Writing Lab
Abbreviations and Acronymns
Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science, public access
Citation Management Software
UNB Libraries' Guide to RefWorks, licensed resource
Zotero, public access
I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email using the convenient link, above.
NSF: Geosciences News
- NSF-supported scientists present research results on Earth's critical zone at 2017 AGU fall meeting
- Predicting Seasonal Weather
- Division Director Openings in the Directorate of Geosciences
- Correspondence: Reply to ‘Challenges with dating weathering products to unravel ancient landscapes’
- Effects of discrete dynamic-conductivity fractures on the transient pressure of a vertical well in a closed rectangular reservoir
- Geometry and Evolution of the Cangdong Sag in the Bohai Bay Basin, China: Implications for Subduction of the Pacific Plate