Overview / News
Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) Guide to Mathematics and Statistics. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning. If you are taking a chemistry course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.
How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.
For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.
Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!
In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.
If you need some help with your first year courses in math, stats and physics, contact the Flora Beckett Math and Science Help Centre in the HWK Commons.
News and Views
News: Mathematics, National Science Foundation
Statistics News, National Science Foundation
Mathematics, EurekaAlert, AAAS
In the News, American Mathematical Society
Math News, Mathematical Association of America
Amstat News, American Statistical Association
Mathematics News, Science Daily
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Research, licensed resource
The On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences, public access
Encyclopedia of Mathematics, European Mathematical Society and Springer, public access
Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics, licensed resource
Glossaries and Dictionaries
Concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics, licensed resource
Chinese-English Math Glossary, University of Michigan, public access
Dictionary of statistics, licensed resource
Glossary of Statistical Terms, Philip B. Stark Department of Statistics, University of California, Berkeley, public access
Glossary of Statistical Terms, Roger Stern, Ian Dale and Sandro Leidi, Statistical Services Centre, University of Reading, public access
OECD Glossary of Statistical Terms, public access
Handbooks, Tables and Tools
NIST Digitial Library of Mathematical Functions, public access
Handbook of Probability, licensed resource
Handbook of Regression Analysis, licensed resource
Handbook of nonlinear partial differential equations, licensed resources
Handbook on the classification and application of fractals, licensed resource
Modeling Handbook, Moody's Mega Math Challenge, SIAM, public access
Textbook Examples, Institute for Digital Research and Education, UCLA, public access
Data Analysis Examples, Institute for Digital Research and Education, UCLA, public access
Choosing the Correct Statistical Test in SAS, Strat, SPSS, and R, Institute for Digital Research and Education, UCLA, public access
Books / Book-Length Works
UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.
Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.
Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.
Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat, to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:
A wealth of numbers: an anthology of 500 years of popular mathematics writing, Benjamin Wardhaugh, licensed resource
Philosophy of statistics, Prasanta S. Bandyopadhyay, licensed resource
Causal inference in statistics: a primer, Judea Pearl, Madelyn Glymour, and Nicholas P Jewell
Slicing pizzas, racing turtles, and further adventures in applied mathematics, Robert Banks, licensed resource
Bayesian methods for management and business: pragmatic solutions for real problems, Eugene D Hahn, licensed resource
As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books including:
EBSCO eBooks, licensed resource. To find math related titles, search: EC MAT*
Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Examples of such sites include:
Math and Stat, National Academy Press, public access
Historical Math Monographs, Cornell University Library, public access
University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection, public access
Mathematics History: AMS Books and Resources, significant full-text, public access
Collection; Mathematical Literature, Göttingen Digitisation Centre, Universität Göttingen, public access
Articles / Research Databases
For those interested in mathematics and statistics, there are both licensed bibliographic databases, listed in Key and Additional Resources below, as well as major public access databases.
These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.
For other licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.
- MathSciNet MathSciNet "is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Current Index to Statistics CIS extended database is a bibliographic database covering the entire contents of core statistics literature from 1975 to present, with some coverage of older core journals. Selected non-core journals indexed for articles with statistical content.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- Inspec (Engineering Village) "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- SIAM Journals Online "SIAM has a comprehensive publishing program in applied and computational mathematics. SIAM fosters the development of the methodologies needed in these areas."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Other databases and search engines include:
Statistics, arXiv.org, public access
Front for the arXiv: Mathematics, arXiv.org, public access
European Digital Mathematics Library, public access
Electronic Library of Mathematics, European Mathematical Information Service, public access
Jahrbuch Project, based on "Jahrbuch uber die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (1868-1942), European Mathematical Information Service, public access
There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:
Annals of the Institute of Statistical Mathematics, licensed resourcs
Applied mathematics and computation, licensed resource
Computational and Mathematical Methods in Medicine, public access
Discrete Mathematics, licensed resource
Experimental Mathematics, licensed resource
Journal of Applied Statistical Science, licensed resource
Journal of Engineering Mathematics, licensed resource
Journal of Mathematical Neuroscience, public access
Journal of Mathematics Research, licensed
Journal of the American Statistical Association, licensed resource
Mathematics of Operations Research, licensed resource
Plus Magazine, public access
SIAM Undergraduate Research Online, public access
Internet / Multimedia
This is Statistics, American Statistical Association
STATTRAK, American Statistical Association
University Library Digital Collections, Iowa State University
OnLine Math Tests, University of Missouri-Columbia
Statistical Services Centre, Applied Statistics at the University of Reading
Associations and Societies
Government Departments and Agencies
Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing, Communications Security Establishment, Canada
Mathematical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Mathematics Group, Berkeley Lab, US DOE
History and Biography
Mathematics Genealogy Project, North Dakota State University
Eugene B. Dynkin Collection of Mathematics Interviews, Cornell University
Euler Archive, "hosted by the Mathematical Association of America"
Biographies of Women Mathematicians, Agnes Scott
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive, University of St. Andrews
Birthplace Maps Index, University of St. Andrews
Math Sciences Research Videos from BIRS, Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery
Royal Statistical Society, Youtube.com
StatsLife, Royal Statistical Society
mathtube.org, Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences
PBS Infinite Series, Youtube.com
Citing / Writing
Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.
To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.
Mathematics into Type, updated edition, AMS
Abbreviations and Acronymns
Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science
Citation Management Software
Data Management / Curation
Framework for Creating a Data Management Plan, ICPSR, University of Michigan
Create and Manage Data, UK Data Archive
Data Management Plans, Digital Curation Centre, UK
Data Management Checklist, Digital Curation Centre, UK
I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email using the convenient link, above.
On This Day: Mathematical Association of America
Statistics News: Science Daily
- A new method provides better insights into real-world network evolution
- Equation reveals the characteristics of quantum chaos
- New analysis casts doubt on predicted decrease in Oklahoma earthquakes