Overview / News
Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) guide to Physics and Astronomy. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to these disciplines and enhance your learning. If you are taking a physics or physics related course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.
How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.
For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.
Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!
In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.
In addition to this subject guide to physics and astronomy, you might also wish to explore the:
News and Views
PhysicsWorld, Institute of Physics
FYI: Science Policy News, American Institute of Physics
Reference / Statistics
Astronomical Almanac Online, joint publication of the US Nautical Almanac Office, United States Naval Observatory, and Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office, United Kingdom Hydrographic Office, public access
Encyclopedia of Physics Research, licensed resource
Encyclopedia of the Solar System, licensed resource
Center for the History of Physics, AIP, public access
Einstein Archives Online, public access
Werner Heisenberg and the Uncertainty Principle, AIP, public access
Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomers, licensed resource
Dictionary of Physics, Oxford Reference, licensed resource
Dictionary of Astronomy, Oxford Reference, licensed resource
World of Physics, Wolfram Research, public access
SLACspeak: Glossary of SLAC-related abbreviations, acronyms, initialisms, terms and lingo, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, public access
Dictionary of Minor Planet names, licensed resource
Dictionary of geophysics, astrophysics, and astronomy, CRCnetBase, licensed resource
Unified Astronomy Thesaurus, public access
Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
Handbook of satellite orbits: from Kepler to GPS, licensed resource
Physical Reference Data, NIST, public access
NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty, public access
Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data, NIST, public access
Review of Particle Physics, "includes a compilation and evaluation of measurements of the properties of known elementary particles and summarizes searches for hypothetical new particles", public access
Maps, Atlases and Images
Astronomy Image Explorer, American Astronomical Society, public access
CFHT Image Gallery, Canadian - France - Hawaii Telescope, public access
Astronomy Pictures, Canadian Galactic Plane Survey, public access
Astropedia, Astrogeology Science Center, USGS, public access
Lunar Map Catalog, Lunar and Planetary Institute, Universities Space Research Association, public access
Aladin Sky Atlas, Strasbourg Observatory, public access
Image Gallery, National Radio Astronomy Observatory, public access
Statistics, Data Sets
[Physics Datasets], data.gov, public access
National Nuclear Data Center, Brookhaven National Laboratory, public access
High Energy Physics Data Repository, public access
CERN Open Data Portal, public access
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System, Harvard, public access
Canadian Astronomy Data Centre, National Research Council Canada, public access
Data Services, USNO, public access
US Virtual Astronomical Observatory, public access
Strasbourg Astronomical Data Centre, public access
Data available from the Minor Planet Center, International Astronomical Union, public access
Books / Book-Length Works
UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.
Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.
Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.
Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat, to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:
Fractional calculus: an introduction for physicists, Richard Herrmann, licensed resource
Particles and the universe: from the Ionian school to the Higgs boson and beyond, S Narison, licensed resource
Optics essentials: an interdisciplinary guide, Araz Yacoubian, licensed resource
Quantum spacetime: mimicry of paths and black holes, Marco Spaans, licensed resource
Low-frequency waves in space plasmas, Andreas Keiling, Dong-Hun Lee, and V M Nakariakov, licensed resource
As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books including:
Institute of Physics Publishing, licensed resource
ProQuest Ebook Central, choose Browse by Subject, licensed resource
Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Examples of such items related to physics and astronomy include:
Space and Aeronautics, National Academies Press, public access
Physics, National Academies Press, public access
Physics: SciTechConnect, US Department of Energy, public access
Comic Books, Physics Central, public access
Physics, Aristotle, Internet Classics Archive, public access
Opticks : or, A treatise of the reflections, refractions, inflections and colours of light, Isaac Newton, archive.org, public access
Sidereus nuncius [Starry Messenger], Galileo, Cambridge University, public access
De Mundi Aetherei Recentioribus Phaenomenis Liber Secundus, Tycho Brahe, Library of Congress Digital Collections, public access
Experimental Researches in Chemistry and Physics, Michael Faraday, archive.org, public access
Scientific Papers: Physics, Chemistry, Astronomy, Geology, volume 30, Harvard Classics, archive.org, public access
Article / Research Databases
For those interested in physics and astronomy, there are both licensed bibliographic databases, some of them listed in Key and Additional Resources below, as well as major public access databases.
These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.
For more licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Institute of Physics Publishing (IOP) The Institute of Physics Publishing promotes research and the advancement of knowledge in Physics and Physics-related fields. This resource provides access to eBooks, as well as current and archival journal content.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- American Physical Society The American Physical Society "publishes the world's most prestigious and widely-read physics research journals"
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Scitation Journals - AIP Publishing (formerly American Institute of Physics) Scitation Journals - AIP Publishing provides the global physical science community with a comprehensive collection of highly cited peer reviewed scientific information, accessed by researchers at nearly 4,000 institutions worldwide. Scitation Journals provides access to titles from the following publishers: American Association of Physics Teachers, American Institute of Physics, and Acoustical Society of America.
- MathSciNet MathSciNet "is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- INIS (International Nuclear Information Systems) International Nuclear Information System (INIS), provides indexing for scientific literature published worldwide on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. It accesses technical data, references, and bibliographies from the world's biggest digital nuclear reference centers in fields of nuclear science and technology.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Scopus Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Other databases and search engines include:
WorldWideScience, US Department of Energy
arXiv.org, e-Print archive, public access
Front Physics, Front for the arXiv, UC Davis, public access
Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive, University of Texas, public access
CERN Document Server, public access
INSPIRE: High-Energy Physics Literature Database, public access
Nuclear Science References, National Nuclear Data Center, Brookhaven National Laboratory, public access
Atomic Transition Probability Bibliographic Database, NIST, public access
Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service, SAO/NASA, public access
SIMBAD Astronomical Database, public access
There is also a number of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:
Chemical Physics, licensed resource
Contemporary Physics, licensed resource
International Journal of Theoretical Physics, licensed resource
Journal of atmospheric and solar-terrestrial physics, licensed resource
Journal of Biomedical Physics & Engineering, public access
Journal of Medical Physics, public access
Journal of Physics: Conference Series, public access
Reports on Mathematical Physics, licensed resource
Reviews of Modern Physics, licensed resource
Solar Physics, licensed resource
Internet / Multimedia
Collective Resources: Physics (Mostly)
TRIUMF, "Canada's national laboratory for particle and nuclear physics and accelerator-based science"
Physics Central, American Physical Society
physics.org, Institute of Physics
Online Particle Physics Information, SLAC Research Library
HyperPhysics Concepts, Georgia State University
Collective Resources: Astronomy (Mostly)
Minor Planet Center, International Astronomical Union
Associations, Societies ...
Government Departments, Agencies ...
NRC Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics, National Research Council Canada
Canadian Astronomy Data Centre, National Research Council Canada
Division of Physics, National Science Foundation, US
Physics, NIST, US
Physics, Los Alamos National Laboratory, US
Physics Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, US
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation, US
Podcasts and Vodcasts, Physics Central
Oral History Interviews, American Institute of Physics
Astronomy and Space, Science360
Video, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Citing / Writing
Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.
To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor.
Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.
Instruction for Authors, Canadian Journal of Physica
Information for Authors, Physical Review Journals
Abbreviations and Acronyms
Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science
Citation Management Software
Data Management / Curation
Framework for Creating a Data Management Plan, ICPSR, University of Michigan
Create and Manage Data, UK Data Archive
Data Management Plans, Digital Curation Centre, UK
Checklist, Digital Curation Centre, UK
I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email using the convenient link, above.
- "Don't try to Shoot the Hurricane"—Okay...But What if We Did?
- Proton-H2 Experiment Reveals Atomic Scattering Mystery
- Magnetic Cotton? Researchers Grow Smart Materials with "Bio-fabrication" Technique